
ABANDONED MANUFACTURED HOME
Title Application Checklist

A private landow ner who finds a manufactured home (or mobile home) that the person believes to be abandoned on real estate
the person ow ns or controls, including rental property, may sell or salvage the manufactured home if it was built at least 15
years ago, and has been left w ithout permission on the landowner’s real estate for at least 60 days. The landowner must fulf ill the
statutory obligations contained in Indiana Code 9-22-1.5 prior to selling or salvaging the manufacturedhome.

If a manufactured home has been abandoned in a mobile home community, as defined in Indiana Code 16-41-27-5, the 
mobile home community must fulf ill the statutory obligations contained in Indiana Code 9-22-1.7 prior to selling or salvaging 
the manufactured home.

Upon fulf illing the statutory obligations, the landow ner/mobile home community may complete the Affidavit of Sale or 
Disposal – Abandoned Manufactured Home – State Form 50635 to assign ow nership to a purchaser w ithout a certif icate of 
title.

Applications for sale or disposal of an abandoned manufactured home are processed by the BMV Central Off ice. Prior 
to submitting each application, verify all required information is included. Contact (888) 692-6841 w ith any questions.

When submitting paperw ork, include the follow ing:

□ Completed and signed Application for Certif icate of Title for a Vehicle – State Form 205

□ Affidavit of Sale or Disposal – Abandoned Manufactured Home - State Form 50635

□ Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft – State Form 39530. Must be completed by a law enforcement off icer. If the
vehicle does not have a vehicle identif ication number (VIN), you must include the Request for Special Identif ication Number
– MVIN Application Packet.

□ Lien release, if necessary. A certif ied letter to the lien holder may serve as proof of lien release, if applicable.

□ One proof of address. A driver’s license or identif ication card may be accepted as proof if the address on the credential is
correct. If the address is not correct, any document from the approved BMV Documentation List that is dated within the last
60 days may be used as proof. To view the approved documentation list, click on the link provided or visit myBMV.com.

□ Collection of Payment Information - State Form 56163. Submit payment for the following vehicle or watercraft (as applicable)
title application fees and taxes. Payable by MasterCard or Visa, check, electronic check, or money order.

□ $15 vehicle title application fee.
□ $25 speed title fee. This optional fee is in addition to the $15 title application fee. Paying the optional speed title

fee ensures that the title is processed in a period of time that is substantially shorter than the normal processing
period.

□ Manufactured Home color: (List color on line)

For your convenience, the required forms are hyperlinked in this checklist. The forms are also available 
at https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/. Mail this checklist and all completed forms to:

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
Central Office Title Processing
100 North Senate Avenue, Room N411 
Indianapolis, IN 46204

If the BMV determines that suff icient credible evidence exists to substantiate the applicant’s claim of ow nership, a title w ill be 
issued. If all required documents are not submitted or information is incomplete, the entire application will be 
returned.

Please include this checklist with your application.

https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/title-forms/
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=13378
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=12817
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=9812
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=14984
https://www.in.gov/bmv/files/BMV_Documentation_List.pdf
https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/files/Special_ID_Number_MVIN_Vehicle_App_Packet.pdf
https://www.in.gov/bmv/titles/files/Special_ID_Number_MVIN_Vehicle_App_Packet.pdf



