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General Tax Information Bulletin #102 

Subject: Collection of Tax from Transient Merchants 

Publication Date: March 2023 

Effective Date: Upon Publication 

References: IC 6-2.5-2; IC 6-2.5-6; IC 6-2.5-8; IC 6-3-2; IC 6-3-4; IC 6-3-5; IC 
6-8.1-5; IC 6-8.1-8; IC 6-8.1-9; IC 25-37-1 

Replaces Bulletin #102, dated September 2020 

Disclaimer: Information bulletins are intended to provide nontechnical assistance to the general public. Every attempt 
is made to provide information that is consistent with the appropriate statutes, rules, and court decisions. Any 
information that is not consistent with the law, regulations, or court decisions is not binding on either the department 
or the taxpayer. Therefore, the information provided herein should serve only as a foundation for further investigation 
and study of the current law and procedures related to the subject matter covered herein. 

Summary of Changes 
Only nonsubstantive, technical changes have been made to this bulletin. It has been primarily 
changed to reflect updated formatting. 

Introduction 
The purpose of this bulletin is to outline the department’s position on the collection of Indiana 
sales tax and adjusted gross income tax from transient merchants. 

Applicability 
Sales Tax  
Indiana sales tax is imposed on a retail merchant’s transactions which constitute selling at retail. 
The tax also applies to transient merchants, defined in IC 25-37-1 as one who engages in 
temporary business in Indiana. Before selling at retail in Indiana, a merchant is required to obtain 
a Registered Retail Merchant Certificate (RRMC) from the department. A merchant should register 
online through INBiz, which is Indiana’s online registration portal, by visiting inbiz.in.gov. 

It is important to note that an RRMC is not the same as a Transient Merchant License and does 
not grant the same authority. A Transient Merchant License must also be obtained from the county 
auditor of the county in which the merchant intends to do business, if the county so requires. As 

https://www.in.gov/dor/
http://www.inbiz.in.gov/
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of the issuance date of this bulletin, Parke County was the only county with such a requirement. 
Some Indiana cities and towns have merchant licensing requirements as well, so it is important to 
check with local officials before selling in a particular location. 

Upon registration and for the first full year, the merchant will be required to file sales tax returns 
(Form ST-103) based on their taxable sales volume for the preceding calendar year, as determined 
by the department. Sales tax returns are primarily due on a monthly basis, unless the retail 
merchant has annual collections of less than $1,000, in which case the merchant will only be 
required to file a return annually. Alternatively, a merchant that only does business during specific 
months of the year can be permitted by the department to file on a seasonal basis, which will only 
require the filing of monthly sales tax returns for the specific months the merchant is actually open 
for business. 

If filing on a monthly basis, sales tax returns are due on the 30th day of the month following the 
close of the reporting period, unless the average monthly tax due for the preceding year is in 
excess of $1,000.00, in which case the returns must be filed by the 20th day of the month following 
the close of the reporting period. Sales tax returns can be filed using the department’s online e-
services portal, called the Indiana Taxpayer Information Management Engine (INTIME), which can 
be accessed at intime.dor.in.gov.  Even if no tax is due for a particular period, a return must still 
be filed (called a “zero return”).  

Retail merchants making retail transactions without having a Retail Merchant Certificate (or one 
that has been revoked or suspended by the department) are subject to imprisonment and a fine 
(Class A misdemeanor). Failure to remit any taxes collected by any retail merchant to the 
department or a department representative upon demand may, also, subject the merchant to a 
longer prison term and a higher fine (Level 6 felony). These criminal penalties are in addition to 
civil sanctions prescribed by IC 6-8.1-8. In particular, if a retail merchant fails to remit the tax 
collected, a notice of tax due will be issued, based on the best information available. Failure to 
pay the tax due could result in a levy against the merchant’s property. 

NOTE: There are many other transactional taxes that a transient merchant may be required to 
collect. For instance, the sale of prepared food may be subject to a food and beverage tax if 
sold in a county or municipality with such a tax. A merchant can register for other tax types 
using INBiz as well. 

Individual Income Tax  
Tax is imposed on a nonresident’s adjusted gross income derived from sources within Indiana. 
While nonresidents from states having reciprocal agreements with Indiana are not subject to 
Indiana adjusted gross income tax, such reciprocal agreements only apply to salaries, wages, tips, 
and commissions. Therefore, reciprocity is not applicable to proceeds from a transient merchant’s 
sales. 

A taxpayer is required to make a declaration of estimated tax if the taxpayer expects to owe $1,000 
or more in income tax for that year. The department is allowed to make an immediate assessment 

http://www.intime.dor.in.gov/
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of tax, interest, and penalties if it is determined that a taxpayer intends to: depart the state, remove 
his property, conceal his person or property, or to do anything to jeopardize, prejudice, or render 
ineffective, proceedings to collect the tax. If the tax is not paid upon demand, a warrant will be 
issued. Refusal to pay the warrant can result in a levy against the taxpayer’s property. 

If you have any questions concerning this bulletin, please contact the Tax Policy Division at 
taxpolicy@dor.in.gov. 

 
Robert J. Grennes, Jr. 
Commissioner 
Indiana Department of Revenue 
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