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General Tax Information Bulletin #209 

Subject: Fireworks Public Safety Fee 

Publication Date: March 2023 

Effective Date: Upon Publication 

References: IC 22-11-14-1; IC 22-11-14-8; IC 22-11-14-12; IC 22-11-14-13; 
and IC 22-11-14-14 

Replaces Bulletin #209, dated December 2019 

Disclaimer: Information bulletins are intended to provide nontechnical assistance to the general public. Every attempt 
is made to provide information that is consistent with the appropriate statutes, rules, and court decisions. Any 
information that is not consistent with the law, regulations, or court decisions is not binding on either the department 
or the taxpayer. Therefore, the information provided herein should serve only as a foundation for further investigation 
and study of the current law and procedures related to the subject matter covered herein. 

Summary of Changes 
Only nonsubstantive, technical changes have been made to this bulletin. It has been primarily 
changed to reflect updated formatting. 

Introduction 
The purpose of this bulletin is to provide guidance concerning the 5% public safety fee that is 
imposed on the gross retail income of fireworks sold in Indiana.  

Definitions 
The various types of fireworks that are subject to the fireworks public safety fee are defined in this 
section.  

“Consumer firework” means a small firework that is designed primarily to produce visible effects 
by combustion, and that is required to comply with the construction, chemical compositions, and 
labeling regulations promulgated by the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission 
under 16 CFR 1507. Examples of consumer fireworks are aerial devices, which include sky rockets, 
missile type rockets, helicopter or aerial spinners, roman candles, mines and shells, firecrackers, 
salutes, and clusters. 

https://www.in.gov/dor/
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“Special fireworks” means fireworks designed primarily to produce visible or audible effects by 
combustion, deflagration, or detonation, including firecrackers containing more than 130 
milligrams of explosive composition, aerial shells, and other display items that exceed the limits 
for classification for consumer fireworks. 

The following items are also subject to the fireworks public safety fee: dipped sticks, wire sparklers, 
cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, illuminating torches, wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers 
snakes or glow worms, smoke devices, and trick noisemakers.     

Imposition of Public Safety Fee 
The public safety fee is imposed on the retail sale of fireworks in Indiana. The person who acquires 
the fireworks in a retail transaction is liable for the public safety fee on the transaction, and shall 
pay the public safety fee to the retailer as a separate added amount to the transaction. The retailer 
shall collect the public safety fee as an agent for the state.  

The public safety fee is measured by the gross retail income received by the retailer for the sale 
of fireworks and is imposed at the following rates: 

PUBLIC       GROSS RETAIL INCOME 
SAFETY       FROM THE  
    FEE              RETAIL UNITARY  
                 TRANSACTION 
  $       0                less than  $ 0.10 
  $  0.01     at least $ 0.10          but less than  $ 0.30 
  $  0.02     at least $ 0.30          but less than $ 0.50 
  $  0.03     at least $ 0.50          but less than  $ 0.70 
  $  0.04     at least $ 0.70          but less than $ 0.90 
  $  0.05     at least $ 0.90          but less than  $ 1.10 

If the retail transaction exceeds one dollar and nine cents ($1.09), the public safety fee is 5% of 
the gross retail income.  

If the public safety fee computed results in a fraction of one-half cent ($0.005) or more, the amount 
of the public safety fee shall be rounded to the next additional cent.  

Remittance of the Public Safety Fee 
The public safety fee is collected by the retailer as an agent for the state. The public safety fees 
collected in trust for the state makes an individual retailer, an employee, officer, partner in a 
partnership or member of a limited liability company personally liable for the payment of the 
public safety fee to the state. A person who knowingly or intentionally fails to collect or remit the 
public safety fees due commits a Level 6 felony.  
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The public safety fee is due 20 days after the end of the month in which the public safety fee was 
collected. The public safety fee shall be remitted to the department on forms required by the 
department.  

Registration with the Department of Revenue 
Any person selling consumer fireworks, special fireworks, or novelties and trick noisemakers at 
retail is required to collect the public safety fee. All retailers that are selling consumer fireworks 
are required to register with the state fire marshal. The entities that register with the state fire 
marshal will automatically be registered with the department and will receive the forms necessary 
to remit the public safety fee. 

A person that is required to register with the state fire marshal and receive a certificate of 
compliance as a resident wholesaler, manufacturer, importer, or distributor is not prohibited from 
selling consumer fireworks at retail if the consumer fireworks are to be used on the property of 
the purchaser, or on the property of another person who has given permission to the purchaser 
to use the consumer fireworks. 

A retailer who is selling items listed in IC 22-11-14-8(a), which includes sparklers, snakes, ground 
spinners, smoke devices, and trick noisemakers among other things will be required to collect the 
public safety fee. All wholesalers, manufacturers, importers, and distributors are required to 
provide a list to the state fire marshal of all retailers to whom they have sold or will sell these 
items.  

A retailer selling items listed in IC 22-11-14-8(a) from a temporary stand must obtain a fireworks 
stand retail sales permit from the state fire marshal. These retailers are required to collect and 
remit the public safety fee to the department and will receive forms from the department to remit 
the fee. 

If you have any questions concerning this bulletin, please contact the Tax Policy Division at 
taxpolicy@dor.in.gov. 

 
Robert J. Grennes, Jr. 
Commissioner 
Indiana Department of Revenue 
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