Skip to content

Indiana Department of Homeland Security

< Back | Agency Home | Submit Events >

Search events. View events.
  Homeland Security, Indiana Department of Submit Events
Welcome to the IN.gov Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.
Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search (New Search)
  From:
  To:

 

 


Submit
Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[IDHS] Obey Laws for Fireworks Safety
Start Date: 7/2/2013Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 7/2/2013End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description
OBEY LAWS FOR FIREWORKS SAFETY

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana State Fire Marshal is reminding Hoosiers of fireworks laws while enjoying the Independence Day holiday.

Fireworks should only be discharged on the user’s property, on someone else’s property with that person’s consent or at a special discharge location. They can only be discharged between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. on most days other than holidays. On holidays (Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day and New Year’s Eve) they can be discharged until midnight. On July 1-3 and 5-9, fireworks can be discharged until two hours past sunset.

“These laws are established to protect Hoosiers during celebrations,” said Indiana State Fire Marshal Jim Greeson. “People need to follow the law to ensure a safe and fun Independence Day.”

Contact local law enforcement to report someone violating fireworks laws.

General fireworks laws
  • Fireworks can only be purchased by persons 18 years of age and older.
  • Children may only possess or use any kind of fireworks when an adult is present.
  • A person who uses fireworks at any place other than their own property, someone else’s property with that person’s permission or a special discharge location, may face up to a $500 fine.
  • Intentionally using fireworks to harm someone else may result in six months to three years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
  • Using fireworks to cause damage to someone else’s property may result in one year in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.
  • A person less than 18 years of age who possesses and uses fireworks without an adult present may receive a fine of up to $500.
For more information about fireworks safety and fireworks laws, visit getprepared.in.gov.


-30-

Media Contact Info:
IDHS public information officer on duty at 317.234.6713 or pio@dhs.in.gov
Default
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
  • Announcements
  • IN.gov Category:
  • Public Safety
  • Agency Name
    Homeland Security, Indiana Department of

    Calendar software powered by Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search








    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search