Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Following are some frequently asked questions about the Do Not Call:
You may register online 24 hours a day, seven days a week, or register by calling toll-free: 1.888.834.9969. You will be asked to for basic information regarding your home phone number, name, address, etc.
Less than five minutes .
No. Only the person under whose name the phone number(s) is listed.
No. This program is provided free of charge to Indiana residents. Telemarketers pay to purchase the list.
Is there a deadline to register for the list?
You can register any time. The list is published four times per year, on January 1st, April 1st, July 1st and October 1st. Approximately 40 days before each quarter, we temporarily freeze registrations in order to make the new list available to telemarketers. Numbers registered after the freeze date are held until the next quarter's list.
If you move, you should update your registration with your new address. Registrations with outdated information may be removed from the list.
No. Once you've registered, your phone number will be included on future lists unless you move or request that your number be removed from the list.
You may register any residential (home), wireless or VOIP telephone number associated with your residential address or a prepaid wireless number that is primarily used in Indiana.
The Do Not Call law does not permit business numbers to be included on the Do Not call list.
Your name and address are kept confidential and used only to compile and manage the list. Each quarter, the list is updated with new phone numbers. Telemarketers purchase the list of phone numbers that they may not call. The list contains numbers only, not names or addresses.
There are four types of telephone solicitors who are exempt from this law and may continue to contact you. These include charitable organizations (whose calls are made by volunteers or employees), newspapers (whose employees make their telephone calls), licensed insurance agents and licensed real estate agents.
What about unwanted text messages?
The Do Not Call law provides that a "telephone sales call" includes a text message sent to your wireless telephone number. If your wireless telephone number is registered on the Do Not Call list, then a telemarketer may not send you solicitation by text.
You may file a Do Not Call complaint in three ways:
Contact us at TelephonePrivacy@atg.in.gov to request a complaint form.
What happens after I file a complaint?
The Attorney General's staff will review your complaint and determine whether a violation occurred. If we are able to locate the violator, we may file a lawsuit to enforce the law. A court can assess a fine of up to $10,000 for the first violation, and up to $25,000 for each subsequent violation. Any amounts collected by the State are used to offset the operational costs of providing the Do Not Call list. One phone call can constitute a violation. The State may also recover any profits made violating the law, attorney fees and other costs associated with enforcing the law.
The email you received is an internet hoax. Cell phone numbers are not being released to the public. When you receive an email like this, just delete it.
The Federal Trade Commission has resources for consumers wishing to decrease the amount of SPAM emails they receive. This information can be found here.
The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) maintains a National Do Not Call registry where people can register their residential phone number to reduce unwanted telemarketing calls. The national list does NOT provide the same amount of protection that Indiana 's law provides. However, you can register your telephone numbers on both lists. For more information on the National Do Not Call Registry, visit http://www.donotcall.gov/ or call 1.888.382.1222.
Is Caller ID a reliable indication of who is calling me?
Telemarketers often hide behind fake or misleading Caller ID numbers, a practice known as "spoofing." Even your telephone company cannot determine who originated the call if the Caller ID number is spoofed.
Is spoofing Caller ID against the law?
Both Indiana and federal law prohibit knowingly transmitting misleading or inaccurate Caller ID information with the intent to defraud, cause harm or wrongfully obtain anything of value.
What are the penalties for spoofing Caller ID?
The Attorney General may file a lawsuit seeking penalties up to $10,000 per violation, in addition to an injunction and costs of prosecution. In addition, a person who knowingly violates the anti-spoofing law commits a Class B misdemeanor, which is enforced through the county prosecutor's office.
Ask the Attorney General's Office at TelephonePrivacy@atg.in.gov.