Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Renew your registrations online and/or order your plates and you will receive them in 14 days.
Have you recently renewed a license plate? Track your renewed registration as it is processed and mailed to you.
If you have lost your registration, you can print a duplicate registration online.
Individuals or companies involved in commercial interstate transportation, that meet certain criteria, may be eligible for the International Registration Plan (IRP). The IRP allows registered carriers to obtain one plate and registration cab card to travel in multiple states at specific weights. The program is managed by the Indiana Department of Revenue (DOR).
If you have purchased a vehicle within the last 60 days and the title application has been submitted to the BMV, you may register your new vehicle online. If your vehicle was purchased more than 60 days ago, you need to visit a license branch.
You may choose from a variety of license plate designs, including Indiana's standard and historic plates, plates supporting military personnel and their families, plates benefiting local schools or organizations, personalized plates, and plates for specific types of vehicles.
Vehicles registered in Lake and Porter Counties are required to undergo emissions tests and tampering inspections every two years from 1976 and newer passenger vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 9,000 pounds or less.
If you have sold a vehicle, you may apply to receive a refund of any remaining Indiana vehicle excise tax and surtax.
If you have a vehicle that has been destroyed (e.g. total loss) or have registered in a different state, you may apply to receive a refund of any remaining Indiana vehicle excise tax only. Credits and refunds are not available for paid surtax.
Only vehicles charged Motor Vehicle Excise Tax (MVET), Recreational Vehicle Excise Tax (RVET), and Trailer Excise Tax (TET) are eligible to receive a vehicle tax refund.
Applications for an excise tax and surtax refund may be processed by visiting any BMV license branch or by mailing the application to the following address:
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Central Office Title Processing
100 N. Senate Avenue, Room N417
Indianapolis, IN 46204
An Affidavit of Nonuse – State Form 56164 may be completed in lieu of a timely new registration or a timely renewal registration for a vehicle that will not be used on an Indiana road for a period of at least 90 consecutive days. Upon the timely completion of the affidavit by the registrant and validation at a license branch, the vehicle is not required to be registered until the vehicle’s owner intends to use the vehicle upon an Indiana road.
If the owner is in compliance with the requirements stated in the affidavit, the Affidavit of Nonuse allows a person to avoid a registration administrative penalty when the person is ready to apply for a certificate of registration. The Affidavit of Nonuse does not exempt a person from owing registration fees or taxes upon registration.
To be eligible to complete the Affidavit of Nonuse, the vehicle’s owner must meet at least one of the following conditions:
A person who wishes to complete an Affidavit of Nonuse must visit a license branch to request the affidavit. Affidavit of Nonuse is considered to be valid and completed on the date that is signed by both the vehicle’s owner and validated at a license branch.
The vehicle becomes subject to registration on the date the vehicle will be used upon an Indiana road.
Companies who have 25 or more vehicles that are charged Commercial Motor Vehicle Excise Tax (CVET) must register those vehicles with the Department of Revenue Motor Carrier Services (DOR-MCS).
The following vehicle types are charged CVET and must be registered with DOR-MCS if a company owns 25 or more of the qualifying vehicles:
Trucks with a declared gross weight that exceeds 11,000 pounds
Trailers with a declared gross weight that exceeds 3,000 pounds
The BMV company files are reviewed annually to identify new qualifying DOR Carrier companies. If your company becomes a new DOR Carrier, the registrations for all qualifying vehicles defined above must be renewed with DOR-MCS.
Once a company has been marked a DOR Carrier, they will remain in the DOR-MCS program even if they fall below the 25 qualifying vehicle registrations.