Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
The cost of the Historic license plate includes vehicle registration fees and taxes.
The Historic license plate may only be displayed on motor vehicles that are 25 years old or older. This plate can be ordered at any license branch or partner location. You will receive the plate in the mail within 14 days.
A Year of Manufacture (YOM) license plate may be used on an antique motor vehicle that is 25 years old or older. The Indiana YOM license plate is not required to be the original license plate registered to the vehicle; however, it is required to have been issued by the Indiana BMV in the same year as the model year of the vehicle to which it will be used.
A Historic license plate is registered to the vehicle and a Certificate of Registration and Year of Manufacture Affidavit are issued. The YOM license plate is placed on the rear of the vehicle, and the Historic license plate, Certificate of Registration, and Year of Manufacture Affidavit must be carried in the vehicle at all times, including any renewal year stickers. The Historic license plate must be renewed annually.
To use a YOM license plate on your vehicle, you must present the YOM plate to any BMV license branch for inspection. The YOM license plate may be refurbished or restored; however, the BMV may reject the use of the license plate if there is any indication that the plate does not meet the original specifications. Additionally, the YOM license plate must meet the following conditions:
Your plate should have stickers showing the day, month, and year of your next registration renewal, and the county in which your vehicle is registered. Indiana law prohibits license plate frames or covers that obscure stickers, text, or numbers on your plate.