Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
The following is a summary of Indiana's animal health laws governing the transportation of equine into Indiana. The transportation laws may be found at 345 IAC 1-3. For additional information, contact the Indiana State Board of Animal Health Companion Animal and Equine Division at (317) 544-2393 or click here to submit an e-mail inquiry.
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection:
Required. Must be completed by a licensed and accredited veterinarian within the 30 days immediately prior to the animal entering Indiana.
But, a certificate of veterinary inspection is not required for animals that are consigned for immediate slaughter or that are delivered directly to a slaughter establishment.
Entry Permit: Not required.
Equine must be tested for Equine Infectious Anemia (E.I.A) (sometimes called a "Coggins test") within the 12 months immediately prior to an animal entering Indiana. Animals that test positive for E.I.A. may not enter Indiana. The ELISA and AGID tests for E.I.A. are accepted.
The following equine are exempt from the E.I.A. test requirement:
Other Requirements: Individual animal identification required.
Exhibition: If the animal is to be entered in a livestock exhibition in Indiana, see also the Indiana exhibition requirements.