JUDICIAL CONFERENCE OF INDIANA DISTRICT THREE DISTRICT PLAN MARCH 1, 2013

- 1. **Special Judge Plans:** Our District has reviewed the TR 79 plans in each county and has determined each plan is current and allows for the efficient operation of special judge assignments in the District. Our District will use judges within the District or, as allowed by TR 79H, drawn from counties that are contiguous to the county seeking a special judge.
- 2. **Criminal Rule 2.2:** Our District has reviewed the current Criminal Rule 2.2 plans for the counties in our District. We have determined that the counties in our District currently follow the provisions of Criminal Rules 2.2, 12, and 13.
- 3. **Leadership:** From among the alternatives suggested to comply with AR 3(B), our District reviewed the suggested choices: (1) administrative judge/committee or (2) other specified organization established by the district. We have chosen the administrative judge model. The administrative judge shall be the representative to the Board of Directors. At our next meeting, we shall review the choices again.
- 4. Selection Process for Leadership: Judge William J. Boklund has served as the administrative judge of the District since February 21, 2011. Judge Michael Anthony Shurn has served as the board representative concurrently since that time. The current board representative will solicit nominees from among the trial judges to be the initial administrative judge. Thereafter, the administrative judge will conduct future selection processes. Nominees can self-nominate or be nominated by another judge. The selection will be conducted as follows: The judges of the district will select an administrative judge by majority vote every other year at a meeting of the District which will be held during the annual meeting of the Judicial Conference of Indiana, beginning in 2013. The current administrative judge will forward the results and required documents to IJC. The District will not establish term limits for the administrative judge. We have selected Judge Michael Anthony Shurn, the current District representative to the Board as the initial administrative judge. He will be the District representative to the Board and has the authority to vote all the votes allocated to the District. That leadership will then be reviewed at the next District meeting.
- 5. **Number of Meetings:** The District will hold one meeting per year and it will be organized by the administrative judge. A majority of the judges in the District will constitute a quorum to conduct business. Proxy votes at the District meeting can be cast as long as the administrative judge receives a written notice by facsimile or email prior to the start of the meeting designating the judge's proxy or the proxy provides an executed proxy instrument prior to or at the commencement of the meeting. Meetings will be conducted in person or electronically, or via conference call as determined by the needs of the District.

6. District Activities:

- A. Our District is cooperating on TR 79 and CR 2.2 plans. In addition, LaPorte County and Pulaski County are cooperating in a GAL/CASA program.
- B. Our District will investigate sharing of judicial resources when more resources become available.
- 7. Local Rules: Currently we do not have any District rules.
- 8. **Compliance:** Our District complies with the minimum requirements for District governance contemplated by AR 3(B). A majority of the judges in the District agreed to this plan on February 28, 2012. It will remain in effect until further notice.

Approved the 28^{th} day of February, 2013, and submitted the 1^{st} day of March, 2012.

Judge Kathleen Lang, LaPorte Superior Court 1

Judge Richard Stalbrink, LaPorte Superior Court 2

Judge Jennifer Koethe, LaPorte Superior Court 3

Judge William J. Boklund, LaPorte Superior Court 4

Judge Michael Anthony Shurn, Pulaski Circuit Court

Judge Patrick B. Blankenship, Pulaski Superior Court