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 INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES 
CHILD WELFARE POLICY 

Chapter 12: Foster Family Home Licensing Effective Date: November 1, 2017 

Section 21: Revocations Version: 6 

 
STATEMENTS OF PURPOSE          

 
The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) and its licensing workers1 will recommend 
revocation of a foster family home license if:  

1. The licensee or the licensee’s household members, employees, or volunteers who are 
required to have background checks do not pass the background checks. See separate 
policies, 13.9 Conducting Background Checks for Foster Home Licensing and 13.10 
Evaluating Background Checks for Foster Family Licensing for more information on the 
background check requirements;   

2. The licensee made false statements on the application or the records required for 
licensure; 

3. The licensee failed to meet any other foster care licensing requirements as set out in 
Indiana Statute or Indiana Administrative Code;  

4. The licensee failed to meet the terms of progressive discipline2 developed with the 
licensing worker; or 

5. There has been a substantiation of abuse or neglect against the licensee or against a 
member of the licensee’s household. 
 
Note: If a revocation is based on a report of abuse or neglect that was substantiated 
prior to October 15, 2006, the Regional Manager (RM) or designee must review the 
appropriateness of the substantiation determination prior to the licensing worker 
requesting the revocation. The licensee may also request this review at any time in the 
process. See separate policy, 2.03 Child Care Worker Assessment Review Process. 

 
DCS will not allow a licensee to voluntarily relinquish their foster home license or transfer to 
another Licensed Child Placing Agency (LCPA) once the revocation process has begun unless 
approved by the Central Office Foster Care Licensing Unit. 
 
DCS will not place children in a foster family home whose license is on probationary status, 
placement hold, pending revocation, or has been revoked. 

 
Code References 

1. 465 IAC 2-1.5: Licensing of Foster Family Homes for Children 
2. 470 IAC 1-4: Administrative Appeals 

                                                 
1The licensing worker refers to the DCS Regional Foster Care Specialist (RFCS) or the Licensed Child Placing 
Agency worker 
  
2 Progressive discipline is a process of improving the performance of a foster home. It may include, but is not 
limited to guiding discussion, education, team meetings, developing a working agreement, safety planning, a 
corrective action plan, a placement hold, and probation with or without a placement hold.  See Separate Policy  
12.17 Probationary Status. 
 

http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13_9_Conducting_Background_Checks_for_Foster_Home_Licensing.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13_10%20Evaluating_Background_Checks_for_Foster_Family_Licensing.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13_10%20Evaluating_Background_Checks_for_Foster_Family_Licensing.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/2.03%20Child%20Care%20Worker%20Assessment%20Review%20Process.pdf
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/T04650/A00020.PDF?
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/T04700/A00010.PDF?
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/12.17%20Probationary%20Status.pdf
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3. 465 IAC 3-2-2: Administrative review procedure for child care workers and licensed 
foster parents 

4. 465 IAC 3-3: Administrative Hearings 
5. IC 31-27-4-22: Notice of enforcement actions; informal meetings 
6. IC 31-27-4-23: Administrative hearings 
7. IC 31-27-4-24: Procedure for administrative hearings 
8. IC 31-27-4-30: Notice 
9. IC 31-27-4-32: Grounds for revocation of license; waiver 
10. IC 31-27-4-33: Compliance with rules; disciplinary sanctions; revocations of license 

 
PROCEDURE  

 
To arrive at a written recommendation regarding revocation of a license the licensing worker 
should consult with other DCS staff or LCPA staff, as applicable, based on: 

1. Information found in all background checks. See separate policy, 13.10 Evaluating 
Background Checks for Foster Family Licensing; 

2. Any information obtained through the state-approved foster family home licensing study; 
and/or 

3. Any other information related to the current home environment, and the ability of the 
foster parent to provide for the child’s safety, well-being, and permanency. 
 

For all revocations, the licensing worker will: 
1. Develop a revocation recommendation letter, within 90 days of identification of non-

compliance, containing the following: 
a. Any specific statute or rule with which the foster family home is not in compliance, 
b. A general description of the circumstances which constitute the non-compliance or 

other grounds for revocation, and  
c. Documentation supporting the decision. 

 
      2.   Ensure each revocation recommendation letter is signed by the applicable group: 

a. DCS Licensed Foster Family Homes: RM, RFCS Supervisor, and DCS licensing 
worker, or  

b. LCPA Licensed Foster Family Homes: LCPA licensing worker, LCPA Director or 
      Designee.  
 

3.   Upload the following information into the case management system: 
a. Revocation recommendation letter, 
b. Supporting documentation that provides evidence of the violations (e.g., case 

management system contact notes, e-mail communications, background check 
information, assessment information), and 

c. The Foster Home Revocation or Denial Due Process Verification (SF 55232) if the 
revocation is based on substantiated abuse or neglect. 

 
4. Submit the revocation request in the case management system to the Central Office 

Foster Care Licensing Unit for approval,  
5. Ensure the foster home is aware of the revocation recommendation and has a basic 

understanding of the process that will occur, and 
6. Ensure any person or agency responsible for supervision of a child placed in the home is 

notified of the concerns and resulting recommendation. 
 

http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=465&iaca=3&submit=+Go
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-22
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-23
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-24
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-30
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-32
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-33
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13_10%20Evaluating_Background_Checks_for_Foster_Family_Licensing.pdf
http://www.in.gov/dcs/files/13_10%20Evaluating_Background_Checks_for_Foster_Family_Licensing.pdf
https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=11101


 

DCS CW Manual/Chapter 12 Section 21: Revocations  3 of 4 

Upon receipt and agreement with the recommendation to revoke, the Central Office Foster 
Care Licensing Unit will: 

1. Send a certified letter, within 60 days of receipt of recommendation, to the foster family 
home advising the individuals of: 
a. The fact that the license for a foster family home is being revoked effective 30 days 

from receipt of the letter, 
b. The nature of the allegation(s) of non-compliance with Indiana Code, Indiana 

Administrative Code, or other foster parent requirements, 
c. The right to request an informal meeting with the LOD in the county where the home 

is located within 10 business days of receipt of the letter (if the home is licensed by 
an LCPA, an LCPA representative must attend the informal meeting), 

d. The right to appeal the decision within 30 days of receipt of the letter, 
e. The statutory authority of DCS to license foster family homes, and 
f. The civil and criminal penalties for operating a Foster Family Home without a license. 
 

2. Send a copy of the certified letter revoking the license to the licensing worker for his or 
her file. 

  
As a result of an approved recommendation to revoke the foster family home license, the 
Central Office Foster Care Licensing Unit will: 

1. Notify all DCS local offices and any other agency responsible for supervision of a child 
placed in the home that the license has been revoked; and 

2. Enter the revocation effective date in the case management system 30 days after the 
date the foster parent received the revocation letter or when the Administrative Appeal 
process was completed, if applicable. 

 
If the request to revoke a foster family home license is not approved, the Central Office Foster 
Care Licensing Unit will: 

1. Notify the recommending DCS office or LCPA of the decision to deny the request; and 
2. Require the recommending DCS office or LCPA to discuss and address areas of 

concern with the foster family home. 
 

If the licensee does not appeal or is not successful in his or her appeal and the home has not 
ceased operation, the Central Office Foster Care Licensing Unit will: 

1. Notify the prosecuting attorney in the county where the home is located and the Indiana 
Attorney General regarding the illegal operation; and  

2. Notify all DCS local offices and, if applicable, the supervising LCPA responsible for 
supervision of a child placed in the home that the license has been revoked. 

 
If the licensee is successful on appeal the Central Office Foster Care Licensing Unit will: 

1. Notify the licensing agency of the decision and direct them to reinstate the license; and 
2. Ensure the license is effective in the case management system. 

 
PRACTICE GUIDANCE 
 

N/A 
 

FORMS AND TOOLS  
  

Foster Home Revocation or Denial Due Process Verification (SF 55232) 

https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=11101
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RELATED INFORMATION 
 
Revocation Appeals 
If the foster family home appeals the license revocation and requests an administrative hearing 
as provided in IC 31-27-4-13 and 465 IAC 3-3, a DCS attorney will represent the DCS. The 
assigned DCS administrative law judge (ALJ) will schedule the hearing date and any prehearing 
conferences. The DCS Hearings and Appeals staff will notify the assigned DCS attorney, the 
foster family home, and any attorney representing the foster family home for purposes of the 
appeal, of the date, time, and location of the scheduled hearing and any applicable post-hearing 
final order procedures under IC 4-21.5-3. 
 

http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/031/#31-27-4-13
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/T04650/A00030.PDF
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2020/ic/titles/004/#4-21.5-3

