

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SERVICES CHILD WELFARE POLICY

Chapter 4: Assessment Effective Date: July 1, 2018

Section 38: Assessment Initiation Version: 6

STATEMENTS OF PURPOSE

The Indiana Department of Child Services (DCS) will initiate every Child Abuse at I/or Neglect (CA/N) assessment within the appropriate timeframe as determined by Indiana Law. In order to ensure the safety of a child and meet appropriate timeframes, assessments will be initiated regardless of the time of day or night, weekends, or holidays. A CA/N assessment will be considered initiated upon face-to-face contact with all alleged tild victims. The parent, guardian, or custodian will be notified in person or via phone, of the face-to-face contact with the alleged victim. See separate policies, 4.6 Exigent Circumstances and 4.5 Consent to Interview Child for additional information.

Note: There may be times when extenuating circumstance (see Practice Guidance), affect timely initiation. In these situations, contact with a person (other than the alleged perpetrator) who is able to provide information about the condition and safety of the alleged victim(s) should be attempted. Fact to-fale contact with the alleged child victim(s) is still required to successfully initiate the assessment. Contact with any other individual will not be valid for timely initiation.

Assessments will be initiated within the following timeframes: (see Practice Guidance)

1. Within one (1) hour if the allestions would cause a reasonable person to believe that the child is in imminent anger of serious bodily harm;

Note: Law Enforcement Agency (LEA) assistance should be requested on all reports that require a one (1) nour response time (see Practice Guidance).

- 2. Within 24 fours if the degations involve abuse but the conditions in item one (1) above do not appear or
- 3. Within the (5) less if the allegations involve neglect and none of the conditions in items one (1) or two (2) above apply.

For rearts involving alleged domestic violence:

- 1. Describinitiate the assessment within 24 hours if the parent, guardian, custodian, or hild calls to report alleged domestic violence and the allegations would not cause a reasonable person to believe that the child is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm; or
- DCS will initiate the assessment within 24 hours if the alleged domestic violence occurred in the past 48 hours (regardless of the report source) and the allegations would not cause a reasonable person to believe that the child is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm.

DCS will respond within one (1) hour of receiving a report from a hospital when the alleged child victim is currently in the hospital and same-day release is anticipated. A one (1) hour report

requesting Authorization for Hospital Release may not require LEA assistance. DCS will provide the requesting hospital with the <u>Hospital Release Authorization SF 54337</u>.

When there are extenuating circumstances preventing DCS from initiating an assessment timely (e.g., dangerous weather conditions), LEA assistance will be requested to initiate one (1) hour assessments on behalf of DCS.

Note: In situations where LEA is on the scene and remains on the scene with all alleged child victims until DCS arrives, as part of a one (1) hour assessment, the assessment will be considered initiated timely.

DCS must conduct an assessment within 48 hours of receiving a report concerning a child/who voluntarily enters an emergency shelter or a shelter care facility without the presence or consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian, unless the allegations would cause a pasonable person to believe that the child is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm, requiring a one hour response. DCS must notify the parent, guardian, or custodian of the hild within 72 hours of the child entering the shelter or a shelter care facility. However, if DCS has reason to believe that the child is a victim of CA/N, the child's parent, guardian, or custodian may not be informed of the specific shelter or facility the child has entered.

DCS will ensure that new allegations of CA/N observed by or reported directly to a DCS employee who is on the scene and immediately initial san assessment (through face-to-face contact with all alleged child victims), are reported to the DCS Child Abuse Hotline (Hotline) within (1) hour of leaving the scene (see Practice Suidance).

Code References

- 1. IC 31-33-8-1: Investigations by local shild protection service; time of initiation
- 2. IC 31-33-8-6: Investigatory duties of local child protection service; purpose
- 3. IC 31-36-3-3: Homeless Children
- 4. IC 34-6-2-34.5: Domestic or family violence

PROCEDURE

The assigned FCM will:

- 1. Consider all known information about the CA/N allegations;
- 2. Request LEA assistance on all reports that require a one (1) hour response time and document LEA response in the Management Gateway for Indiana's Kids (MaGIK); and

Note: LEA agrees to respond within one (1) hour with DCS, the FCM will make contact to the responding officer to advise of the allegations and obtain any information LEA may have regarding the child or family before attempting to make initial contact with the child or family. See separate policy, <u>4.28 Involuntary Removals</u> if a decision is made to remove the child.

3. Ensure the assessment has been initiated by making face-to-face contact with all alleged child victim(s);

Note: If an extenuating circumstance exists, make contact with a person (other than the alleged perpetrator) who is able to provide information about the condition and

- safety of the alleged victim(s). Document the extenuating circumstance and make face-to-face contact with the alleged child victim(s) as soon as possible.
- Notify the parent, guardian, or custodian of the face-to-face contact with the alleged victim(s). (See separate policies, <u>4.6 Exigent Circumstances</u> and <u>4.5 Consent to</u> <u>Interview Child</u> for additional information.);
- 5. Document the face-to-face contact with each alleged child victim and notification of the parent, guardian, or custodian in MaGIK.

PRACTICE GUIDANCE

Extenuating Circumstances

Extenuating circumstances are events that prevent the FCM from completing face-to-face contact with a child victim within the initiation timeframe. Extenuating circumstances which may be approved are:

- Child victim is not at the location stated on the report (e.g., school trip, out of town/state);
- 2. Unknown victim or child does not exist;
- 3. Inclement weather emergency;
- 4. Traffic accident or delay;
- 5. New child victim added to the report after initial amily contact;
- 6. Child is deceased;
- 7. Parent refused to allow access to child (mation to compel is needed);
- 8. Report is linked to an open assessment and stational face-to-face contact is not required; or
- 9. Report is assigned after the initiation to per ame.
- 10. Child is in a hospital setting and not available due to critical illness or a traumatic incident.

NOTE: Contact with child who is in the hospital should occur within the initiation timeframe unless the called is unavailable due to current medical intervention.

In situations where LEA is on the scene and remains on the scene with all alleged child victims until DCS arrives, as part of a one (1) hour assessment, the assessment will be considered initiated timely. The presence of LEA should be documented in the contact.

Response inclinitiation Timeframes

It is important a make the distinction between initiating an assessment and response times. If an FOW as responded in the appropriate timeframe, it does not necessarily mean that the assessment, as been initiated. When an FCM responds within the initiation timeframe, but is unsuccessful in making face-to-face contact with all alleged child victim(s) the assessment has not been initiated.

Response times are measured from the time of local office notification of the intake report. This means for one (1) hour assessments, the FCM must make face-to-face contact with all alleged child victim(s) within one (1) hour of notification. The parent, guardian, or custodian will be notified in person or via phone, of the face-to-face contact with the alleged victim.

A one (1) hour response time is assigned to a report when the allegations would cause a reasonable person to believe that the child is in imminent danger of serious bodily harm. These responses may include, but are not limited to, allegations regarding:

- 1. Child Fatality & Near Fatality;
- 2. Shaken infants:
- 3. A child who has suffered from serious physical injury to any part of the body due to suspected CA/N, such as fractures, broken bones, head injuries, extensive and serious bruising, or internal injuries;
- 4. A child is intentionally burned or scalded;
- 5. A child too young or disabled to ensure his or her own safety is actively unsupervised. Disabilities include but are not limited to sight or hearing impairments, limited mental capabilities, or other severe debilitating conditions;
- 6. A child who has been abandoned or deserted;
- 7. A child has failure to thrive resulting in immediate need for medical attention;
- 8. A child is sexually abused or human trafficking is suspected and the alleged perpetrator has access to the child;
- 9. A child, parent, guardian, or custodian is actively attempting suicide,
- 10. An active domestic violence situation in the home or a child has been injured as a result of domestic violence;
- 11. The presence of an active contaminating controlled substance; and/or
- 12. Specific allegations that a parent, guardian, or custodian is actively using illicit drugs or abusing prescription medications.

Note: FCMs should evaluate the case when there are allegations of drug use and staff with his/her supervisor to determine whether EA assistance should be requested or if the contact should be for the purpose of notification.

Twenty-four (24) hour responses may include, but are not limited to, allegations regarding:

- 1. Reported bruising, scratches, and or welts;
- 2. Suspected inflicted injury to a child,
- 3. Serious injury is threatened and/or
- 4. A child, parent, quardia or o stodian has previously attempted suicide.

Five (5) day responses may include, but are not limited to, allegations regarding:

- 1. Supervision concerns:
- 2. Insufficient god, shelter, or clothing;
- 3. Unsand ry live conditions; and/or
- 4. Edu ati nal Neglect.

Initial and an Assessment Prior to Reporting the Allegations of CA/N to the DCS Hotline When ar Form becomes aware of new CA/N allegations while on the scene and immediately initiates an assessment, the FCM will complete the Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (310) (SF114) and submit it to the Hotline within one (1) hour of leaving the scene to report all new allegations of CA/N. All new allegations of CA/N must be reported to the Hotline, per State reporting statutes, and may not be handled as part of the case.

The FCM must specify in the <u>310</u> that the assessment has already been initiated. The exact date and time in which the FCM became aware of the allegations and initiated the assessment must also be specified and will be used as the report date and time. The

310 may be submitted via email to: DCSHotlineReports@dcs.in.gov or via fax to: 317-234-7595 or 317-234-7596.

Note: The FCM may send an email containing equivalent information (e.g., time initiated, parent names, child victim names, description of concerns, etc.) to the hotline within one (1) hour of leaving the scene if he or she is not able to complete the 310 timely.

When Law Enforcement requests immediate assistance directly from the local office or another party provides a report directly to the local office, the local office should immediately contact the Hotline to make a report prior to initiating the assessment.

FORMS AND TOOLS

- 1. Hospital Release Authorization SF 54337
- 2. Preliminary Report of Alleged Child Abuse or Neglect (310) (SF114)

RELATED INFORMATION

IC 31-36-3-3 Notification to department; investigation of a dend; notification to parents

- Sec. 3. (a) Except as provided in subsection (d), i a chi voluntarily enters an emergency shelter or a shelter care facility, the shelter or facility shall notify the department, not later than twenty-four (24) hours after the child enters the shelter or facility, of the following:
 - (1) The name of the child.
 - (2) The location of the shelter or facility.
 - (3) Whether the child alleges that the child the subject of abuse or neglect.
- (b) The department shall conduct to in estigation concerning the child not later than forty-eight (48) hours after receiving otification from the emergency shelter or shelter care facility under subsection (a).
- (c) The department shall no ify the shild's parent, guardian, or custodian that the child is in an emergency shelter or a shelter of a
- (d) An emonancy helter or a shelter care facility is not required to notify the department of a child who can amancipated minor.

