
 
                         INDIANA RENTAL PURCHASE AGREEMENT ACT 
                       REGISTRATION RETURN - RPAA FORM 1  
                       State Form 26865 (R7/7-06) Approved State Board of Accounts 2001 
 
Mail completed form to: 
 
Department of Financial Institutions     
30 South Meridian Street, Suite 300 
Indianapolis, IN 46204 
800-382-4880, 317-232-3955 
 
The undersigned files this registration to engage in soliciting or entering into Rental Purchase 
Agreements in the State of Indiana.   
 
Attach registration fee of $600  
 
Name of Lessor  

 
Assumed Name (d/b/a) 
 
Principal Address 
 
City, State, and Zip Code 
 
County 
 
Business Telephone  Number                                                       Fax Number 
                                                                                                                     E-Mail Address: 
List Merchandise to be Leased. 
 
Address of all Indiana locations where rental purchases are made: Attach separate sheet/s if necessary 
 
 
 
 
 
 
List name, complete address and telephone number of designated agent upon whom service of process may be made.
 
Agent’s Name 
 
Agent’s Address 
 
Agent’s Telephone 
If Rental Purchase Agreements are made in a place other than an office or retail store in Indiana, 
give a brief description of the manner in which they are made. 
 
 

Name of President, Partner, or Owner (Typed or Printed) 
 
Signature of President, Partner, or Owner                                           Date Signed 
 
 

 

Department of Financial Institutions Use Only 
 DFI ID #___________________ 
 LIC ID  #___________________ 
 Processed By___________________ 



INDIANA RENTAL PURCHASE AGREEMENT ACT (IC 24-7) 
 

REGISTRATION 
 
 
WHAT IS A RENTAL PURCHASE AGREEMENT? 
 
It is a written agreement which provides for the lease or use of personal property by a 
lessee; has an initial period of four (4) months or less, whether or not there is any additional 
obligation; is automatically renewable with each rental payment; and permits the lessee to 
become the owner of the property. Property is not real property or intangible personal property 
under the Indiana law. At any time after the first rental payment is made, the lessee may acquire 
ownership of the property under the terms specified in the rental purchase agreement. A rental 
purchase agreement may not contain a provision that conflicts with the rights and duties 
imposed under the Rental Purchase Agreement Act.  The Rental Purchase Agreement Act 
does not apply to rental purchase agreements involving motor vehicles (as defined in IC 
9-1-1-2). 
 
WHO SHOULD REGISTER? 
 
Persons soliciting, engaging, or taking assignments of Rental Purchase Agreements for 
a personal, family, or household purpose under the Indiana Rental Purchase Agreement 
Act.  Each operating location (branch) in Indiana where rental purchase agreements are made 
must be listed on the registration form. Attach a separate sheet if necessary. Each legal entity 
involved in rental purchase activities must complete a separate registration. 
 
WHEN TO REGISTER? 
 
Registration must be made within thirty (30) days after soliciting or engaging in rental 
purchase agreements. 
 
ARE THERE ANY FEES? 
 
There is an initial registration fee of $600 to be included with the registration form. The 
check or money order is to be made payable to the Department of Financial Institutions. 
A registrant will annually receive a Notification Return Form 2 to be filed with an annual 
renewal fee determined by the department. The present annual renewal fee is $500 plus $250 
per location in Indiana up to a maximum fee of ten thousand dollars ($10,000). The renewal 
registration and annual fee is due on or before January 31 of each year. The Department may 
impose a fee of twenty dollars ($20) for each day a lessor is late in paying a renewal fee. 
 
If the Department examines the books and records of the lessor the lessor shall pay to the 
department all reasonably incurred costs of the examination in accordance with the fee 
schedule adopted by the department under IC 28-11-3-5. The present examination fee is $80 
per hour. 




