- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Homeland Security

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • National Terror Alert System
  • map_widget
  • state-that-works_widget

Indiana Department of Homeland Security

IDHS > About IDHS > Boards & Commissions > Indiana Emergency Response Commission Indiana Emergency Response Commission

Indiana Emergency Response Commission (IERC)

The Indiana Emergency Response Commission consists of 13 members appointed by the Governor who represent local and state government, industry and the public. The commission is chaired by the Executive Director of the Indiana Department of Homeland Security and vice-chaired by the Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Environmental Management.

The creation of the IERC was mandated by the Superfund Amendment and Reauthorization Act (SARA) Title III, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) of 1986. It is charged with maintaining Title III records in Indiana as well as with supervising and coordinating the activities of Indiana's 88 local emergency planning committees (LEPC).

The LEPCs are composed of elected state and local officials; representatives from law enforcement, emergency management, firefighting, emergency medical services, health, local environmental management, hospital management, transportation, broadcast and print media; community groups; and owners and operators of facilities storing and using Title III chemicals.

Each LEPC is charged with developing an emergency response plan to deal with accidental chemical releases from Title III facilities in its county and with making available to the general public chemical information submitted by those facilities. The LEPCs are funded through EPCRA under Indiana Code (IC) 6-10.

The IERC operates under authority of IC 13-25-1 and IC 13-25-2. The commission meets bi-monthly and acts upon the recommendations of its six committees: policy, legislative, training, fiscal, communications and technical, each of which is chaired by a commission member.

Conference Presentations





SARA Title III Reporting Information for Facilities

SARA Title III Reporting Information

Information for LEPCs