INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

302 West Washington Street Indianapolis, IN 46204



BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Indiana Secured School Safety Board
Indiana Government Center South
302 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Conference Center Room 2

August 16, 2018

- 1. This meeting of the Indiana Secured School Safety Board was opened by Chairman Langley at 3:33 p.m. on August 16, 2018.
 - (a) Board Members present at the meeting:

Eric Bowlen
Doug Carter (participated telephonically)
Kevin McDowell
Bryan Langley, Chairman
David Murtaugh
Dave Woodward

(b) Board Members not present at the meeting:

Scott Mellinger

(c) The following support staff were present during the meeting:

Kathleen Ash, Legal Assistant, IDHS
Rusty Goodpaster, Secured School Safety Director, IDHS
Jeff Groh, COO, IDHS
David Hosick, Communications Director, IDHS
Jonathan Whitham, General Counsel, IDHS

- 2. Rusty Goodpaster conducted roll call, and determined quorum was present.
- 3. Franklin County School Corporation Common School Fund Advance Request

Franklin County School Corporation, proponent, would like to reconfigure its middle school. The proponent has already done this to the other schools in its district. Rusty Goodpaster recommended approval. He noted that in the past, proponent used grant funding for SROs. David Murtaugh moved to approve the request and Kevin McDowell made the second. Roll call was conducted: Eric Bowlen, Doug Carter, Bryan Langley, Kevin McDowell, David Murtaugh, and Dave Woodward all voted yes. The motion was approved.

4. Comments and Closing Remarks

The Board members wished Dave Woodward good luck, as this was his last Board meeting. Mr. Woodward noted that Kelly Wittman would likely be stepping in, on behalf of his office, at subsequent meetings.

5. Next Meeting

The Board's next scheduled meeting is October 16, 2018. If another request for an advance of common school funds is received, then the Board could meet prior to this date.

6. Adjournment

Eric Bowlen moved to adjourn the meeting, and Kevin McDowell made the second. It was voted upon and carried. The meeting was adjourned at 3:39 p.m.