#### SENIOR ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING

Indiana Government Center-South Conference Room D 302 W. Washington Street Indianapolis, IN 46219

Bryan J. Langley - Chair

### **Meeting Minutes**

August 17, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.

### **Members Present:**

Bryan Langley, Executive Director of IDHS

Jane Crady, President of Indiana VOAD

Daniel Cicchini proxy for Ryan Mears, Marion County Prosecutor's Office

John Brown, Director of Planning, Training, and Exercise for IDHS

Deward Neeley, Chief Information Officer for the State of Indiana

Mike Watkins proxy for Sally Fay, IPSC

Steve Cox, Chief of South Bend Fire Department

Dennis Quakenbush, Hamilton County Sheriff's Department

Danny Sink, Chief of Goshen Fire Department

Bernie Beier, Director of Allen County Homeland Security (via telephone)

John Elcesser, Executive Director of INPEA

Phil Johnson, University of Notre Dame (via telephone)

Joseph Wainscott, Division Disaster State Relations Director for the American Red Cross (via telephone)

### **Members Absent:**

Dr. Michael Kaufmann, EMS Director, IDHS

Steven Cain, Manager, Purdue University

Michelle Wenglikowski, Director of Student Services for East Allen County Schools

### Also in Attendance:

Andi Baughn (IPSC)

Jordan Bolden (IDHS)

Kimberly Snyder (IDHS)

Hannah Cowles (IDSH)

Chelsea Smith (IDHS)

Beth Clark (IDHS)

#### **Representatives Present for Member:**

Bryan Langley, Executive Director called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and it was determined that there was a quorum.

#### **Introductions:**

Attendees introduced themselves and their affiliation.

### **Homeland Security Grant Program Brief**

A PowerPoint presentation was given to the attendees of the Senior Advisory Committee (SAC) by Hannah Cowles, which outlined the purpose of the Homeland Security Grant Program (HSGP) funds. She explained that the purpose is to assist local preparedness activities that address high-priority preparedness gaps across core capabilities that support terrorism preparedness. The presentation provided the required pass through of 80% of the grant to local entities with 20% being retained at the State. An additional

federal requirement is the 25% of the total grant award must support law enforcement terrorism prevention activities.

# **Role of Senior Advisory Committee**

The purpose of the SAC is to ensure that State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) funds are allocated in a manner that effectively supports a whole community approach to emergency preparedness and management in Indiana while also enhancing core capabilities aimed at achieving the National Preparedness Goal. The SAC will accomplish its purpose by maintaining a focus on our core capabilities while providing oversight and direction throughout the grant review, scoring, and award process for SHSP grant funding administered by IDHS.

### Goals for Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2019

- 1. Assist with the development and review of the Indiana State Preparedness Report (SPR) and the Indiana Treat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (THIRA). The SPR and THIRA will assist in determining effective funding priorities for SHSP grants.
- 2. Review and provide enhancements to the grant scoring criteria.
- 3. Review and provide recommendation for the Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO).

## **Adoption of Charter**

Chelsea Smith presented the SAC Charter document. She determined that a quorum existed and verified all attendees have had an opportunity to review the Senior Advisory Committee.

Motion: A motion was made to adopt the Charter for the Senior Advisory Committee by Phil Johnson

Second: Jane Crady Vote: Motion passed

# **Application Process**

The grant application process was described in the 2018 Senior Advisory Committee PowerPoint presentation by Kim Snyder. Discussion centered round the THIRA/SPR being provided to subrecipients six months in advance of the grant application process. It should be the THIRA/SPR that drives the grant process.

## **Review and Scoring Criteria and Recommendations**

The review and scoring criteria process was explained in the 2018 Senior Advisory Committee PowerPoint presentation.

### Review and approve/deny Recommendations

Four individual funding recommendation spreadsheets were provided to SAC members. One spreadsheet each for high priority funding recommendations, medium funding priorities, low funding priorities and one spreadsheet for denials.

# **High Priority Funding**

- a. Motion: Motion to approve the high priority recommendations made by Jane Crady
- b. Second: John Brown
- c. Vote: Approved

Joseph Wainscott-No Phil Johnson-Abstain Dan Sink-Abstain

### Medium Priority Funding

- a. Motion: Motion to approve the high priority recommendations made by Bernie Beier
- b. Second: John Brown
- c. Vote: Approved

Joseph Wainscott-No Phil Johnson-Abstain Dan Sink-Abstain

### **Low Priority Funding**

- a. Motion: Motion to approve the high priority recommendations made by Jane Crady
- b. Second: Stephen Cox
- c. Vote: Approved

Joseph Wainscott-No Phil Johnson-Abstain Dan Sink-Abstain

### **Deny Funding**

- a. Motion: Motion to approve the high priority recommendations made by John Brown
- b. Second: (unable to identify)
- c. Vote: Approved

Joseph Wainscott-No Phil Johnson-Abstain Dan Sink-Abstain

## **Next meeting time and location:**

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.

### **Adjournment:**

Prior to adjournment, the following points were offered for discussion:

- 1. Director Langley discussed additional education opportunities for our local emergency management agencies to assist them with the grant application process. These opportunities will support the local EMAs to become successful in future grant applications.
- 2. Discussion about providing a shared site where SAC members can have access to all information and documents. This will be accomplished prior to the next scheduled meeting.

Following no further discussion or business, Executive Director Bryan Langley thanked everyone for attending the meeting. The SAC meeting was adjourned at 11:18 a.m.