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• What’s the difference between a deduction, exemption, and 
a credit?

• A deduction reduces the assessed value being taxed, an 
exemption excludes property from assessment and/or 
taxation, and a credit reduces the tax bill.
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Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits, Oh My!



• This presentation and other Department of Local 
Government Finance materials are not a substitute for the 
law! This is not legal advice, just an informative presentation. 
The Indiana Code always governs. 

• Most importantly, if you’re not sure about something, ask 
first! The Department will do its best to answer your 
questions. If the Department can’t help, it will either refer 
you to the right agency or to your county attorney. Don’t rely 
on rumors or third party information.
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Deductions, Exemptions, and Credits, Oh My!



• Assessed value of real estate $ 90,000
• – Less Homestead Deduction: - $ 45,000
• – Less Supplemental: - $ 15,750
• – Less Mortgage Deduction: - $   3,000
• – Less Partially Disabled Vet Deduction - $ 24,960*
• Net Assessed Value of Property = $    1,290

• It is suggested that the veteran deduction be applied last so that if there 
is an unused portion remaining, the vet can seek an excise tax credit.

• It is possible for deductions to zero out a tax bill (personal property 
mobile homes may be an exception).

• Deduction applications must be filled out and signed by December 31 
and filed or postmarked by January 5.
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Applying the Deduction to Real Estate



Homestead Standard Deduction:
• Lesser of $45,000 or 60% of the gross AV of the property;
• Applies to the dwelling (and those structures, such as decks 

and patios attached to the dwelling) and the surrounding acre 
(even if the acre straddles multiple parcels);

• Applies to property that is the applicant’s principal place of 
residence, meaning the individual’s true, fixed, permanent 
home TO WHICH THE INDIVIDUAL HAS THE INTENTION OF 
RETURNING AFTER AN ABSENCE.

• Applicant must own or be buying under recorded contract that 
provides that the buyer is responsible for the taxes (the latter is 
a pretty universal principle when a contract is involved). For 
homestead deduction, contract must obligate seller to transfer 
ownership at close of contract.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Supplemental Homestead Deduction:
• Applied to the net AV resulting after application of the 

standard homestead deduction;
• Deduction equals 35% of the net AV (if the net is less than 

$600,000) or 25% of the net AV (if the net is greater than 
$600,000).
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Overview of Common Deductions



Energy Deductions:
• Solar Energy Heating or Cooling System (deduction equals the 

out-of-pocket expenditures for the components and labor);
• Solar Power Device, Wind Power Device, Hydroelectric Power 

Device, Geothermal Device (deduction equals the AV of the 
property with the device less the AV of the property without 
the device [for a solar power device assessed as distributable or 
personal property, the deduction equals the AV of the device]).

• Please note: hydroelectric and geothermal devices must be 
certified by the Indiana Department of Environmental 
Management (if certified, subsequent owner does NOT need to 
seek certification again).
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Overview of Common Deductions



Mortgage:
• Lesser of: $3,000, balance of mortgage or contract 

indebtedness on assessment date, or one-half of the total AV 
of property;

• A person may not have more than one mortgage deduction 
in his name. However, if a married couple owns two pieces 
of property and each property is mortgaged in the spouses’ 
names, one spouse could have a mortgage deduction in his 
name on one property while the other spouse has a 
mortgage deduction in her name on the other property. 
Likewise, if a person owns a business (e.g., LLC), the person 
could have a mortgage deduction in his name and the 
business could have a mortgage deduction in its name.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Mortgage: (continued)
• Although there must be a mortgage balance in place, there is 

no statutory minimum balance.
• The mortgage deduction is available for property on which a 

person has a home equity line of credit that is recorded in 
the county recorder’s office. The Department believes that 
both a home equity line of credit and a reverse mortgage can 
qualify for the mortgage deduction.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Over 65 Deduction:
• Lesser of one-half of the gross AV of the property or $12,480 

(can zero out bill!);
• Applicant must have owned (or been buying) the property 

for at least one year before “claiming” the deduction;
• Applicant and any joint tenants or tenants in common must 

reside on the property;
• Combined, adjusted gross income of applicant and 

applicant’s spouse or applicant and any joint tenants or 
tenants in common for preceding year did not exceed 
$25,000;

• AV of property cannot exceed $182,430;
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Overview of Common Deductions



Over 65 Deduction: (continued)
• Applicant must be at least 65 by December 31 of the year 

preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed (in 
other words, must be at least 65 by December 31, 2016 to 
receive the deduction for ‘16 Pay ‘17);

• The same person cannot have the over 65 deduction in 
conjunction with deductions other than the homestead, 
mortgage, and fertilizer storage deductions;

• The deduction cannot be denied on the basis that the 
recipient is away from the property while in a hospital or 
nursing home;

• If any joint tenants or tenants in common are not at least 65, 
the deduction is reduced by a fraction.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Over 65 Circuit Breaker: (continued)
• Credit prevents recipient’s homestead tax liability from 

increasing by more than 2% over previous year;
• Applicant must have been eligible for homestead deduction in 

preceding year as well as current year;
• If applicant filed an individual income tax return for the 

preceding year, income cannot have exceeded $30,000 (or 
$40,000 if filed jointly with spouse);

• Gross AV of homestead cannot exceed $160,000;
• No restrictions on combining credit with other deductions;
• Applicant is or will be at least 65 on or before December 31 of 

the calendar year immediately preceding the current calendar 
year (in other words, must be at least 65 by December 31, 2016 
to receive the credit for ‘16 Pay ‘17).
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Overview of Common Deductions



Blind/Disabled Person Deduction:
• Deduction is $12,480;
• Applicant must use property as principal place of residence;
• Applicant must own or be buying the property under 

recorded contract;
• Applicant must provide proof of blindness or disability; 
• Applicant’s individual income for preceding year did not 

exceed $17,000.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Blind/Disabled Person Deduction: (continued)
• I have a couple that both applied for the disabled 

deduction. This will take the value to zero on their primary 
residence. They have two other parcels. Can you put the rest 
of the disabled deduction on other property they own?

• The property for which the deduction is sought must be the 
applicant’s principal residence. Thus, only property that is 
principally used and occupied by the individual as the 
individual’s residence qualifies.
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Overview of Common Deductions



• “Individual with a disability“ means a person unable to engage in any substantial 
gainful activity by reason of a medically determinable physical or mental impairment 
which:
(1) can be expected to result in death; or
(2) has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 

twelve (12) months.
• The individual must submit proof of the disability. Proof that a claimant is eligible to 

receive disability benefits under the federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 301 et seq.) 
shall constitute proof of disability.

• An individual with a disability not covered under the federal Social Security Act shall 
be examined by a physician and the individual's status as an individual with a disability 
determined by using the same standards as used by the Social Security 
Administration. The costs of this examination shall be borne by the claimant.

• Proof of blindness may be supported by:
(1) the records of the division of family resources or the division of disability and 

rehabilitative services; or
(2) the written statement of a physician who is licensed by this state and skilled in the 

diseases of the eye or of a licensed optometrist.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)
• The heritage barn deduction is now only available for a mortise 

and tenon barn that on the assessment date was constructed 
before 1950 and retains sufficient integrity of design, materials, 
and construction to clearly identify the building as a barn. There is 
no longer any prohibition against using the barn for agricultural 
purposes in the operation of an agricultural enterprise or for 
business purposes. Statute defines “mortise and tenon barn” to 
mean a barn that was built using heavy wooden timbers, joined 
together with wood-pegged mortise and tenon joinery, that form 
an exposed structural frame.

• Cannot be a dwelling.
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Overview of Common Deductions



Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)
• Statute now requires the applicable township or county assessor to verify that 

the barn was constructed before 1950. Moreover, the auditor must apply the 
deduction to a heritage barn that received the deduction in the preceding year 
unless the auditor determines that the property is no longer eligible for the 
deduction because the barn was not constructed before 1950. Statute did not 
previously include this phrase. The Department understands this to mean that if 
Barn A qualified for and received the heritage barn deduction under the previous 
version of the law on January 1, 2016, but Barn A is not a mortise and tenon
barn, Barn A will NOT lose the deduction for January 1, 2017 since Barn A was 
built before 1950. It is still the case that this deduction terminates following a 
change in ownership of the heritage barn (if John sells Barn A to Bob, John’s 
heritage barn deduction is removed for the following assessment date and Bob 
must apply in his own name). Generally, however, the only basis an auditor has 
now for removing a heritage barn deduction from a heritage barn already 
receiving it is if the auditor determines that the barn was not constructed before 
1950. Thus, auditors and assessors should give special attention to ensuring that 
barns for which the deduction is initially granted are in fact eligible. 17
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Heritage Barn (see IC 6-1.1-12-26.2)

How many heritage barn deductions can a person receive?
• A person could receive more than one heritage barn 

deduction.
What about a barn that’s been refurbished?
• If the core of the heritage barn is still there, then it probably 

could still qualify.
What about a barn that was originally built before 1950, but has 
been disassembled and reassembled since then?
• If the barn has been rebuilt after 1950, then it probably can 

no longer be considered “constructed before 1950.”
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Overview of Common Deductions



Disabled Veteran Deductions (discussed later in this 
presentation)
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Overview of Common Deductions



• If a deduction is validly in place on the assessment date, it will 
stay in place for the assessment year, even if the property 
changes hands and the new owner is ineligible for it. This is no 
different now that January 1 is the assessment date; same 
filing deadlines apply (fill out form and sign it by December 31, 
2016 and file or postmark it by January 5, 2017).

• What if a person has a homestead on his principal place of 
residence on January 1 but moves to new principal place of 
residence later in the year? The deduction will stay on the old 
property for that tax cycle and taxpayer can be granted a 
homestead deduction for the new property for the same tax 
cycle. See IC 6-1.1-12-37(h).
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Remember . . .



• A person must actually use the property as his or her principal place of residence in the 
year in which the deduction application/SDF is signed.

What happens if the county offices are closed December 31 or January 1 so that the taxpayer 
can’t file the sales disclosure form or record a deed by December 31 and January 1, respectively?
• If the county offices are closed December 31, the taxpayer could file the sales disclosure 

form on the next business day the offices are open and it would still be considered timely. 
As for recording the deed, so long as the deed is executed by December 31, that’s what 
counts; the deed does not need to be recorded in order for the taxpayer to obtain the 
deduction. 

With the assessment date moving to January 1, how should mortgage deductions be handled 
now?
• There has to be an indebtedness as of January 1, 2016. The mortgage must be recorded by 

the time the person applies. The last day for completing and signing a mortgage deduction 
application for ‘16 Pay ‘17 is December 31, 2016. The application must be filed or 
postmarked to the auditor by January 5, 2017. In sum, a person could take out a mortgage 
December 31, 2015, record the mortgage and complete and sign the mortgage deduction 
application December 31, 2016, and file or postmark the application by January 5, 2017 and 
receive the deduction for ‘16 Pay ‘17. 
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Remember . . .



Can one spouse or owner receive an over 65 deduction while the 
other spouse or owner receives a veteran deduction?

• YES! State law prohibits the same PERSON from receiving an 
over 65 deduction AND certain other deductions, but it does 
not prohibit one spouse or owner from receiving an over 65 
deduction and the other spouse or owner receiving a 
disability or veteran deduction. Please note that the 
fractional reduction in the over 65 deduction only occurs if 
the other owner is not 65 and NOT the applicant’s spouse. If 
the applicant’s spouse is under 65, there is no reduction!
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“Taxing” Questions



• Remember that a homestead deduction applies to a dwelling 
and up to one acre surrounding that dwelling. Even if that 
acre straddles or overlaps two or more parcels, the 
deduction must be applied to that full acre. The fact that the 
acre straddles or overlaps multiple parcels doesn’t preclude 
the taxpayer from receiving a complete deduction on that 
acre! State law does not require the taxpayer to combine the 
parcels in order to receive the deduction on the acre.

• Also remember that for ‘14 Pay ‘15 and beyond, property 
must actually be receiving a homestead deduction to receive 
the 1% cap!
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“Taxing” Questions



• If a taxpayer who failed to file the verification form provides proof of his 
or her eligibility for the deduction for the ‘12 Pay ’13 cycle (or a 
subsequent cycle for which the deduction was terminated for failure to 
file the form), the deduction MUST be reinstated (no statutory deadline 
for taxpayer; no interest due; no statutory obligation to file Form 133).

What happens if part of a parcel is split off late in the year and the buyer of 
the split-off portion applies for a deduction? Can he receive a deduction even 
though the split won’t have its own bill for that assessment date?
• Yes, he can have a deduction. The deduction would be calculated/based 

on the split-off portion, but it would be applied to the tax bill of the 
parent parcel. By way of example: $100,000 parent parcel; split-off 
portion is a dwelling and acre assessed at $50,000; homestead deduction 
would be $30,000 (60% of $50,000); $30,000 deduction would be applied 
on tax bill of parent parcel (so the bill would reflect $100,000-$30,000 
[and minus the supplemental homestead]).
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“Taxing” Questions



• An auditor should not tell taxpayers that he or she will 
accept a homestead deduction application only if the 
applicant attaches or provides a Social Security card or tax 
return. If the auditor reviews the application and determines 
that there is a legitimate need for supporting 
documentation, that’s one thing, but an auditor cannot 
impose additional criteria or steps for applying for a 
homestead deduction (there are some deductions, such as 
the vet deductions, that do require that supporting 
documentation be attached).

• NOTE: YOU CANNOT REQUIRE SUBMISSION OF AN ENTIRE 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER UNLESS THERE IS EXPLICIT LEGAL 
AUTHORITY TO DO SO!
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“Taxing” Questions



• Please note that if you have two unmarried individuals who 
own a property and one of them uses it has his homestead, 
he is not precluded from applying for the homestead 
deduction even if his co-owner receives a homestead 
deduction on the property where she lives.

• By way of example, if Bob and Sue are siblings and own 
House A, which Bob uses as his homestead, Bob can claim a 
homestead deduction on House A even if Sue claims a 
homestead deduction on House B, which she uses as her 
homestead.
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“Taxing” Questions



What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?
• The homestead deduction application must contain “either:

(A) the last five (5) digits of the applicant's Social Security number and the last 
five (5) digits of the Social Security number of the applicant's spouse (if any); 
or

(B) if the applicant or the applicant's spouse (if any) does not have a Social 
Security number, any of the following for that individual:
(i) The last five (5) digits of the individual's driver's license number.
(ii) The last five (5) digits of the individual's state identification card 

number.
(iii) If the individual does not have a driver's license or a state 

identification card, the last five (5) digits of a control number that is on 
a document issued to the individual by the federal government.”

• “The county auditor may limit the evidence that an individual is required to 
submit to a state income tax return, a valid driver's license, or a valid voter 
registration card showing that the residence for which the deduction is claimed is 
the individual's principal place of residence.” 27

What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?



• Although a person has 60 days to obtain an Indiana driver’s 
license after becoming a resident of the state, the person’s 
failure to do so would not necessarily prohibit him from 
obtaining the homestead deduction.

• Notice that under statute, technically an applicant is 
required to submit only the last five digits of his (and his 
spouse’s) SSN. If he doesn’t have an SSN, then he can 
provide the last five digits of his DLN or state ID. The 
homestead deduction application form (HC10) has been 
updated to reflect this fact. When the SDF is updated, it too 
will reflect this. Regardless, statute controls.
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What’s the deal with driver’s licenses?



• Remember that unless a couple is legally divorced, the 
couple is still married and entitled to only one homestead 
deduction. This is true even if the couple is living apart.

• The only exception to this idea is the following:
IC 6-1.1-12-37
• (n) A county auditor shall grant an individual a deduction 

under this section regardless of whether the individual and 
the individual‘s spouse claim a deduction on two (2) different 
applications and each application claims a deduction for 
different property if the property owned by the individual's 
spouse is located outside Indiana and the individual files an 
affidavit with the county auditor containing the following 
information:
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“Taxing” Questions



IC 6-1.1-12-37 (continued)
• The names of the county and state in which the individual‘s spouse 

claims a deduction substantially similar to the deduction allowed by this 
section.

• A statement made under penalty of perjury that the following are true:
• That the individual and the individual's spouse maintain separate 

principal places of residence.
• That neither the individual nor the individual's spouse has an 

ownership interest in the other's principal place of residence.
• That neither the individual nor the individual's spouse has, for that 

same year, claimed a standard or substantially similar deduction for 
any property other than the property maintained as a principal place 
of residence by the respective individuals.
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“Taxing” Questions



• Continued . . .
• A county auditor may require an individual or an individual's 

spouse to provide evidence of the accuracy of the 
information contained in an affidavit submitted under this 
subsection. The evidence required of the individual or the 
individual's spouse may include state income tax returns, 
excise tax payment information, property tax payment 
information, driver license information, and voter 
registration information.
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“Taxing” Questions



• There seems to be some inconsistency in the way deductions are handled following divorce 
or the death of a joint owner. This statute stands for the idea that the remaining owner is 
not obligated to reapply for the deduction. Although it would be ideal if that remaining 
owner did refile (and an auditor could ask if that person would be willing to do so), that 
remaining owner cannot be forced to do so.
• IC 6-1.1-12-17.8 Version b (EXCERPT)
• Automatic carryover of deductions; termination of standard deduction by county 

auditor; jointly held property, trusts, and cooperative housing corporations
(d) An individual who receives a deduction provided under section 1, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17.4 

(before its expiration), or 37 of this chapter for property that is jointly held with 
another owner in a particular year and remains eligible for the deduction in the 
following year is not required to file a statement to reapply for the deduction following 
the removal of the joint owner if:

(1) the individual is the sole owner of the property following the death of the 
individual's spouse;

(2) the individual is the sole owner of the property following the death of a joint 
owner who was not the individual's spouse; or

(3) the individual is awarded sole ownership of the property in a divorce decree.
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“Taxing” Questions



• In December, I received a letter from a taxpayer stating that they have 
moved and would like their mail forwarded to a new address. Should I 
pull that person’s homestead deduction for the preceding assessment 
date based on that letter?

• Again, if the deduction was validly in place on the assessment date, it will 
stay in place for that tax cycle. Here the auditor may have to seek 
additional information from the taxpayer, such as whether the taxpayer 
had moved out prior to the assessment date or whether the taxpayer is 
seeking a homestead deduction in another state for the same tax cycle 
that would require termination of the Indiana deduction. It is true that 
the taxpayer is the one obligated to notify the auditor of ineligibility, but 
the letter cited above isn’t necessarily sufficient proof of ineligibility.

• Auditors should perform due diligence before pulling a deduction.
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“Taxing” Questions



• How do we handle the income thresholds for the over 65 deduction and 
blind/disabled deductions?

Over 65 Deduction (IC 6-1.1-12-9, 10.1):
“the combined adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal 

Revenue Code) of:
(A) the individual and the individual's spouse; or
(B) the individual and all other individuals with whom:

(i) the individual shares ownership; or
(ii) the individual is purchasing the property under a contract;

as joint tenants or tenants in common;
for the calendar year preceding the year in which the deduction is claimed did not 

exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

“In order to substantiate the deduction statement, the applicant shall submit for 
inspection by the county auditor a copy of the applicant's and a copy of the 
applicant's spouse's income tax returns for the preceding calendar year. If either 
was not required to file an income tax return, the applicant shall subscribe to 
that fact in the deduction statement.” 34

“Taxing” Questions



Over 65 Credit (IC 6-1.1-20.6-8.5):
“(A) in the case of an individual who filed a single return, 

adjusted gross income (as defined in Section 62 of the 
Internal Revenue Code) not exceeding thirty thousand 
dollars ($30,000); or

(B) in the case of an individual who filed a joint income tax 
return with the individual's spouse, combined adjusted gross 
income (as defined in Section 62 of the Internal Revenue 
Code) not exceeding forty thousand dollars ($40,000);

for the calendar year preceding by two (2) years the calendar 
year in which property taxes are first due and payable.”
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“Taxing” Questions



• How do we handle the income thresholds for the over 65 deduction and blind/disabled 
deductions?

Blind/Disabled Deduction (IC 6-1.1-12-11, 12):
• “[T]he individual's taxable gross income for the calendar year preceding the year in which 

the deduction is claimed did not exceed seventeen thousand dollars ($17,000).”

• “For purposes of this section, taxable gross income does not include income which is not 
taxed under the federal income tax laws.”

• Notice that only the over 65 deduction/credit requires submission of an income tax 
return! Even then, statute does not require that the applicant permanently turn over a 
copy to the auditor – the applicant need only submit the return for inspection by the 
auditor.

• Adjusted gross income stated here:
• Form 1040 – Line 37
• Form 1040A – Line 21
• Form 1040EZ – Line 4
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“Taxing” Questions



IC 6-1.1-12-17.9
• SEA 371-2016 amends IC 6-1.1-12-17.9 concerning the eligibility 

of property owned by a trust for certain deductions. The law 
continues to allow a person to claim certain deductions on 
property owned by a trust if the person has a beneficial interest 
in the trust (or “the right to occupy the real property rent free 
under the terms of a qualified personal residence trust created 
by the individual under United States Treasury Regulation 
25.2702-5(c)(2)”) and the person otherwise qualifies for the 
deduction. However, the law no longer requires the person to 
be “considered the owner of the real property under IC 6-1.1-1-
9(f) or IC 6-1.1-1-9(g),” meaning a life tenant or grantor of a 
qualified personal residence trust.
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What about trusts?



IC 6-1.1-12-17.9 (continued)
• Property owned by a trust can still potentially have the following deductions: 

over 65; blind/disabled person; partially disabled veteran; totally disabled 
veteran; surviving spouse of World War I veteran; standard homestead 
deduction; and supplemental homestead deduction. As a reminder, the same 
person cannot claim an over 65 deduction along with deductions other than the 
mortgage, standard homestead, supplemental homestead, and fertilizer storage 
deductions.

• Also, be aware of IC 6-1.1-12-17.8(e): A trust entitled to a deduction owned by 
the trust and occupied by an individual is not required to file a statement to 
apply for the deduction, if: the individual who occupies the real property receives 
the in a particular year; and the trust remains eligible for the deduction in the 
following year.

• PLEASE SEE THIS DOCUMENT FOR HELPFUL INFORMATION ABOUT TRUSTS AND 
THEIR ELIGIBILITY FOR DEDUCTIONS! 

http://in.gov/dlgf/files/160921%20-
%20Trust%20Issues%20and%20Guidelines%20For%20Indiana%20County%20Auditors
%20Assessor.pdf 38

What about trusts?

http://in.gov/dlgf/files/160921%20-%20Trust%20Issues%20and%20Guidelines%20For%20Indiana%20County%20Auditors%20Assessor.pdf


• Can our county collect on ineligible deductions other than 
the homestead?

• While it is possible that a taxpayer who received a deduction 
for which he was not eligible may be liable for the taxes 
associated with that ineligible deduction, for all but the 
homestead deduction, statute does not provide a 
mechanism for counties to pursue action against these 
taxpayers. There is no statutory process outlined for 
identifying these taxpayers, notifying them of the issue, or 
collecting these taxes. We do believe, however, that a 
county could take legal action through a court.
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“Taxing” Questions



• Do we have to notify taxpayers that their deductions are being denied or terminated?

If: (1) a property owner files a homestead deduction application (HC10); and (2) the county 
auditor receiving the application determines that the property owner’s property is not eligible 
for the deduction; the auditor shall inform the property owner of the auditor’s determination in 
writing. If a property owner’s property is not eligible for the deduction because the auditor has 
determined that the property is not the property owner’s principal place of residence, the 
property owner may appeal the auditor’s determination to the PTABOA. The auditor shall inform 
the property owner of the owner’s right to appeal to the PTABOA when the auditor informs the 
property owner of the auditor’s determination. IC 6-1.1-12-37(o)

If a deduction for rehabilitated property under IC 6-1.1-12-20 or 24 (note these deductions are 
being sunsetted) is not granted in full, the county auditor shall notify the applicant by mail. A 
taxpayer may appeal a ruling that wholly or partially denies the deduction in the same manner 
that appeals may be taken under IC 6-1.1-15.

• Note: The PTABOA can and should hear appeals concerning an auditor’s denial or 
termination of a deduction if the taxpayer timely files a 133 and the auditor does not agree 
with the taxpayer.
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FYI



Veteran Deductions
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• IDVA has discontinued the “Codes.” The 1, 2, 3 system was 
actually never a part of the property tax deduction statutes. 
Those numbers were used by IDVA to classify vets based on 
disability.
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Codes



IC 6-1.1-12-13
• An individual may have $24,960 deducted from the assessed 

value of the taxable tangible property that the individual 
owns, or real property, a mobile home not assessed as real 
property, or a manufactured home not assessed as real 
property that the individual is buying under a contract (the 
contract or a memorandum of the contract must be 
recorded in the county recorder’s office) if ...

43

Deduction for Veterans with Partial Disability



1) the individual served in the military or naval forces of the United States during 
any of its wars;

2) the individual received an honorable discharge;
3) the individual has a disability with a service connected disability of 10% or more;
4) the individual’s disability is evidenced by:

(A) a pension certificate, an award of compensation, or a disability 
compensation check issued by the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; or

(B) a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the Indiana Department 
of Veterans’ Affairs (“IDVA”) after IDVA has determined that the individual’s 
disability qualifies the individual to receive a deduction; and

5) the individual:
(A) owns the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home; or
(B) is buying the real property, mobile home, or manufactured home under 

contract; 
on the date the deduction application is filed.
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Deduction for Veterans with Partial Disability



IC 6-1.1-12-14
• An individual may have the sum of $12,480 deducted from 

the assessed value of the tangible property that the 
individual owns (or the real property, mobile home not 
assessed as real property, or manufactured home not 
assessed as real property that the individual is buying under 
a contract that provides that the individual is to pay property 
taxes on the real property, mobile home, or manufactured 
home if the contract or a memorandum of the contract is 
recorded in the county recorder's office) if ...
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Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or 
Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over



(1) the individual served in the military or naval forces 
of the United States for at least 90 days;

(2) the individual received an honorable discharge;
(3) the individual either:

(A)has a total disability; or
(B) is at least 62 years old and has a disability of at 

least 10% (need not be service-connected);
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Deduction for Totally Disabled Veteran or 
Partially Disabled Veteran Age 62 and Over



(4) the individual’s disability is evidenced by:
(A) a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued 

by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; or
(B) a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the 

IDVA after it has determined that the individual’s 
disability qualifies him or her to receive this deduction; 
and

(5) the individual:
(A) owns the real property, mobile home, or manufactured 

home; or
(B) is buying the real property, mobile home, or 

manufactured home under contract;
on the date the deduction application is filed. 
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• Starting for 2017 Pay 2018, no one is entitled to this 
deduction if the assessed value of the individual’s Indiana 
real property, Indiana mobile home not assessed as real 
property, and Indiana manufactured home not assessed as 
real property, as shown by the tax duplicate, exceeds 
$175,000.

• Through 2016 Pay 2017, no one is entitled to this deduction 
if the assessed value of the individual’s tangible property, as 
shown by the tax duplicate, exceeds $143,160. 
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In addition to the statement, the individual shall submit to the county 
auditor for the auditor’s inspection:

(1) a pension certificate, an award of compensation, or a disability 
compensation check issued by the United States Department of 
Veterans Affairs if the individual claims the partially disabled veteran 
deduction;

(2) a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs if the individual claims 
the totally disabled veteran; or

(3) the appropriate certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by 
IDVA if the individual claims either deduction.

• If the individual claiming the deduction is under guardianship, the 
guardian shall file the statement.

• The statement must contain the record number and page where the 
contract or memorandum of the contract is recorded, if applicable.
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• The surviving spouse of a veteran may receive these deductions 
if the veteran satisfied the eligibility requirements of these 
deductions at the time of his or her death and the surviving 
spouse owns or is buying the property under contract at the 
time the deduction application is filed. The surviving spouse is 
entitled to the deduction regardless of whether the property 
for which the deduction is claimed was owned by the deceased 
veteran or the surviving spouse before the deceased veteran’s 
death.

• If a deceased veteran’s surviving spouse is claiming a veteran 
deduction, the surviving spouse shall provide the 
documentation necessary to establish that at the time of death 
the deceased veteran satisfied the requirements of IC 6-1.1-12-
13 or IC 6-1.1-12-14, whichever applies.
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• The property tax deduction for World War I vets has been 
discontinued starting in 2016. However, the deduction for 
surviving spouses of World War I vets is still in effect.
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• If there is an unused portion of a veteran’s deduction remaining after the 
application of the deduction to a veteran’s real property, the unused portion may 
be applied first toward any personal property taxes and then to any excise taxes 
the veteran owes.

• Indiana Code 6-6-5-5.2 enables veterans (or their surviving spouses) who do not 
own or are not buying property under contract that qualifies for a veteran 
deduction to receive a credit toward vehicle excise taxes. This statute applies to a 
registration year beginning after December 31, 2013 and was effective July 1, 
2013.

• Thus, if a vet literally owns no property (or is not buying property under recorded 
contract) or if the only property he owns exceeds the assessed value threshold, 
then he does not own land that qualifies for a vet deduction and thus may qualify 
for the “excise-only” option. However, if the vet does qualify for the partially 
disabled vet deduction but does not qualify for the totally disabled vet deduction 
because of the assessed value of the property, then the vet may only apply any 
unused portion of the partially disabled vet deduction to excise taxes. He cannot 
also have the “excise-only” option.
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• The Department has prescribed an affidavit template, which 
is available at: 
http://www.in.gov/dlgf/files/Auditor_Affidavit.doc.

• The maximum number of motor vehicles for which an 
individual may claim a credit is two. This credit must be 
claimed on a form prescribed by the bureau of motor 
vehicles. An individual claiming the credit must attach to the 
form the affidavit.
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Can a veteran receive more than one veteran’s deduction?
• The total amount of the deductions combined cannot exceed 

the maximum established by statute. In other words, if the 
veteran owns two properties in a county, he can receive a 
deduction on both properties, but these deductions 
combined cannot exceed $24,960 or $12,480 (or possibly 
$37,440). You can view this as either two deductions or one 
deduction split between properties. The application should 
list the properties to which the vet wants the deduction 
applied.
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What if two veterans own a property?
• If two individuals, both eligible veterans, own a property, 

then each is entitled to a full deduction.

What if a veteran owns only personal property – can he still 
receive the deduction or must he own real property first?
• The veteran’s deductions statutes say that the deduction is 

made to the assessed value of the taxable tangible property 
that the individual owns. Thus, if the veteran owns only 
personal property, the deduction can be applied to this 
property.

55

Frequently Asked Questions



Deductions on Mobile Homes
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Can a deduction eliminate a taxpayer’s liability on a mobile or manufactured 
home?
• No. IC 6-1.1-12-40.5 provides that the total deductions applicable to a 

mobile/manufactured home, not assessed as real estate, may not exceed 
one-half of the assessed valuation of the mobile/manufactured home 
(this does not apply to the supplemental homestead deduction!)

• IC 6-1.1-12-40.5
Limits on deductions for mobile or manufactured homes
Sec. 40.5. Notwithstanding any other provision, the sum of the 
deductions provided under this chapter to a mobile home that is not 
assessed as real property or to a manufactured home that is not 
assessed as real property may not exceed one-half (1/2) of the assessed 
value of the mobile home or manufactured home.
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• The homestead deduction statute and IC 6-1.1-12-40.5 seem 
to provide conflicting information regarding the maximum 
allowable deduction and the allocation of the deduction 
between the mobile home and real estate. 

• IC 6-1.1-12-37: Except as provided in section 40.5 of this 
chapter, the total amount of the deduction that a person 
may receive under this section for a particular year is the 
lesser of: (1) sixty percent (60%) of the assessed value of the 
real property, mobile home not assessed as real property, or 
manufactured home not assessed as real property; or (2) 
forty-five thousand dollars ($45,000).
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• IC 6-1.1-12-40.5: Notwithstanding any other provision, the 
sum of the deductions provided under this chapter to a 
mobile home that is not assessed as real property or to a 
manufactured home that is not assessed as real property 
may not exceed one-half (1/2) of the assessed value of the 
mobile home or manufactured home. 

• *(Please note that the supplemental homestead deduction is 
not subject to the 50% limit!)*
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50 IAC 24-3-5 Limitation on homestead standard deduction
• (c) With respect to a personal property mobile home and up to one (1) 

acre of the land surrounding the mobile home owned by an individual, 
the overall sum of the deduction is limited to sixty percent (60%) of the 
combined assessed value of the homestead, that is, mobile home and 
qualified land. The county auditor shall allocate the deduction as follows:
1) A maximum of fifty percent (50%) of the assessed value of the 

personal property mobile home.
2) The remainder of the deduction shall be applied to the assessed 

value of the qualified land.
3) The deduction shall be applied to the personal property mobile 

home and qualified land before all other deductions.
• To follow the statutory limitations set in both of these sections of the 

Indiana Code, the Department recommends that the homestead 
deduction be applied to the personal property mobile home and the land 
surrounding it up to one acre as follows:
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• Personal Property Mobile Home Assessed Value $15,000 
• Land Assessed Value (Same Owner) + $5,000 
• Homestead (Personal Property Mobile Home and Land up to 1 acre) 
• Assessed Value = $20,000 

• Per IC 6-1.1-12-37, 60% deduction of homestead = $12,000 

• Allocation of Deduction: 
• Per IC 6-1.1-12-40.5, maximum deductions of 50% of 

Personal Property Mobile Home Assessed Value = $7,500 
• Remainder of deduction applied to Assessed Value of Land 
• ($12,000 - $7,500) = $4,500
• This leaves us with a net homestead AV of $8,000 

($7,500 attributable to the mobile home and $500 to the land).
• Supplemental homestead deduction of 35% would be 

applied to this $8,000 ($2,800).

• Here a deduction could potentially eliminate the taxpayer’s liability on the real estate.
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• Our county’s vendor’s software is set-up so that if all of a 
veteran’s deduction cannot be applied to a mobile home, we 
apply it all toward excise taxes. Is this acceptable?

• If even a portion of a veteran’s deduction (or any other 
deduction) can be applied to a mobile home before it 
reaches the 50% limit or to the real estate on which the 
mobile home sits (if owned by the same party), then either 
the software must be modified or the county will have to 
make manual adjustments to the data so that the mobile 
home receives as much of the deductions for which it is 
eligible as possible.
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2016 Legislative Changes
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Deduction for Homestead Donated to Veteran
• SEA 304 introduces a new deduction at IC 6-1.1-12-14.5, effective January 1, 

2017 (the 2017 Pay 2018 cycle), which allows a veteran to claim a deduction 
from the assessed value of the individual’s homestead if:

(1) the individual served in the military or naval forces of the United States for at 
least 90 days;

(2) the individual received an honorable discharge;
(3) the individual has a disability of at least 50%;
(4) the individual’s disability is evidenced by:

(A) a pension certificate or an award of compensation issued by the United 
States Department of Veterans Affairs; or

(B) a certificate of eligibility issued to the individual by the Indiana Department 
of Veterans’ Affairs (“IDVA”) after IDVA has determined that the individual’s 
disability qualifies the individual to receive a deduction under this new 
statute; and

(5) the homestead was conveyed without charge to the individual who is the owner 
of the homestead by an organization that is exempt from income taxation under 
the federal Internal Revenue Code. 64
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Deduction for Homestead Donated to Veteran, continued
• The amount of the deduction is determined as follows:
(1) If the individual is totally disabled, the deduction is equal to 100% of the assessed 

value of the homestead.
(2) If the individual has a disability of at least 90% but the individual is not totally 

disabled, the deduction is equal to 90% of the assessed value of the homestead.
(3) If the individual has a disability of at least 80% but less than 90%, the deduction is 

equal to 80% of the assessed value of the homestead.
(4) If the individual has a disability of at least 70% but less than 80%, the deduction is 

equal to 70% of the assessed value of the homestead.
(5) If the individual has a disability of at least 60% but less than 70%, the deduction is 

equal to 60% of the assessed value of the homestead.
(6) If the individual has a disability of at least 50% but less than 60%, the deduction is 

equal to 50% of the assessed value of the homestead.
• “Homestead” has the meaning set forth in IC 6-1.1-12-37, the homestead 

deduction statute (dwelling and immediately surrounding acre).
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Deduction for Homestead Donated to Veteran, continued
• A veteran who claims this deduction for an assessment date 

may not also claim a “partially disabled veteran deduction” 
or “totally disabled veteran deduction” under IC 6-1.1-12-13 
or 14, respectively, for that same assessment date. Also, an 
unused portion of this deduction, if any, CANNOT be applied 
to excise taxes.

• A veteran claiming this deduction must do so on a form 
prescribed by the Department. The Department will update 
State Form 12662 in late 2016 to include this deduction.
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Homestead Deduction
• SEA 304 makes an amendment to the homestead deduction statute (IC 

6-1.1-12-37), effective January 1, 2017 (the 2017 Pay 2018 cycle). The 
amendment concerns the provision whereby a person who is serving on 
active duty in any branch of the armed forces of the United States and is 
ordered to transfer to a location outside Indiana can, under certain 
circumstances, continue to claim the homestead deduction during the 
person’s absence. Specifically, the property continues to qualify as a 
homestead even if the property is leased while the individual is away 
from Indiana and is serving on active duty, if the individual has lived at 
the property at any time during the past 10 years. Otherwise, the 
property ceases to qualify as a homestead if it is leased while the 
individual is away from Indiana. Under current law, by contrast, there are 
no exceptions to the idea that the property ceases to qualify for the 
deduction if it is leased.
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Homestead Deduction, continued
• HEA 1273 and HEA 1081 both make a variety of technical 

changes to the homestead deduction statute (effective 
January 1, 2017 [the 2017 Pay 2018 cycle]). Because these 
changes do not substantively alter the operation of the 
homestead deduction, the Department will not elaborate on 
these changes here. Specific questions about these changes 
may be directed to the contact below.
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Ineligible Homestead Deduction Procedures
• HEA 1273 amends IC 6-1.1-36-17, which governs the procedures for 

handling an ineligible homestead deduction. The amendment is effective 
July 1, 2016.

• Most significantly, auditors now have discretion to seek the taxes and 
penalty corresponding to an ineligible homestead deduction. Moreover, 
if an auditor chooses to seek the taxes and penalty, the auditor may do 
so only within three years after the date on which taxes for the particular 
year are first due. An auditor choosing to seek the taxes and penalty 
must issue a notice of taxes, interest, and penalties due to the owner 
that improperly received the deduction and include a statement that the 
payment is to be made payable to the county auditor.
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Ineligible Homestead Deduction Procedures, continued
• The notice must require full payment of the amount owed 

within:
(1) one year with no penalties and interest, if:

(A) the taxpayer did not comply with the requirement to 
return the homestead verification form (“pink form”); 
and

(B) the county auditor allowed the taxpayer to receive the 
homestead deduction in error; or

(2) 30 days, if subdivision (1) does not apply.
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Ineligible Homestead Deduction Procedures, continued
• By way of example, if John did not return a verification form for his property and 

the county erroneously left the deduction on the property anyway, John would 
have one year to repay the taxes if the auditor chooses to seek those taxes from 
John. However, John would NOT owe the 10% civil penalty. Conversely, if Bob 
returned a verification form for his property indicating his eligibility for the 
deduction and it turns out he was not in fact eligible, and if the auditor chooses 
to seek the taxes and penalty from Bob, Bob would have 30 days to pay the 
amount due (taxes and 10% civil penalty). What is more difficult to classify under 
this new amendment is the situation where a person did return a verification 
form indicating his ineligibility for the deduction, but the county erroneously 
leaves the deduction in place nonetheless. Under those circumstances, the 
Department would encourage auditors to use their discretion and NOT seek the 
taxes and penalty from such a person.

• The Department strongly recommends that auditors and their staffs read 
through IC 6-1.1-36-17 in its entirety to fully understand the process for handling 
an ineligible homestead deduction. 71
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Abatements
• HEA 1273 amends several abatement statutes. 

• Under IC 6-1.1-12.1-5, a taxpayer who fails to timely apply for the 
rehabilitated property abatement may file between January 1 (rather 
than March 1) and May 10 of a subsequent year. Moreover, if a 
designating body fails either to set the number of years for the 
abatement or the abatement schedule, the auditor must return the 
application to the designating body so it can remediate the error. These 
changes are effective July 1, 2016.

• Under IC 6-1.1-12.1-5.3, a taxpayer who fails to timely apply for a vacant 
building abatement may file between January 1 (rather than March 1) 
and May 10 of a subsequent year. This change is effective retroactive to 
January 1, 2016.
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Abatements, continued
• Under IC 6-1.1-40-11, a taxpayer seeking to apply for a deduction for 

manufacturing equipment in a maritime opportunity district must do so 
between January 1 (rather than March 10) and May 15 of that year. This 
amendment is effective retroactive to January 2, 2016.

• Under IC 6-1.1-44-6, a taxpayer seeking to apply for a deduction for 
purchases of investment property by manufacturers of recycled 
components must file the application between January 1 (rather than 
March 10) and May 15 of that year. A person that obtains a filing 
extension for the year in which the investment property is installed must 
file the application between January 1 (rather than March 10) and the 
extended due date for that year. This amendment is effective retroactive 
to January 2, 2016.
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Property Tax Disclosure Form
• HEA 1273 repeals IC 6-1.1-36-18, which was introduced in 2015 and 

implemented a county-optional “property tax disclosure” that, if adopted 
by a county, would have required a party to disclose any delinquent 
taxes when applying for certain benefits, such as property tax deductions 
or exemptions.

Sunset of Certain Deductions
• SEA 309 sunsets certain deductions. No new deductions for the 

rehabilitation of residential property under IC 6-1.1-12-18 may be 
granted after the January 1, 2017 assessment date. SEA 309-2016 also 
amends IC 6-1.1-12-22 so that no new deductions for the rehabilitation 
of historic property (a building or structure erected at least 50 years 
before the date of the deduction application) may be granted after the 
January 1, 2017 assessment date. Corresponding changes are made to IC 
6-1.1-12-19, 20, 23, 24, 25, 46, IC 6-1.1-12.1-6, and IC 6-1.1-42-22.
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SDF Issues
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• One of the most common complaints the Department 
receives concerning SDFs is inconsistency among counties in 
the way the forms are processed. The statute below suggests 
that while there may be some variation from county to 
county, there should not be substantial departure from state 
law:

IC 6-1.1-5.5-3
• Sales disclosure form filing and review process; forwarding 

and use of forms; confidential information; conveyance of 
multiple parcels

• (f) County assessing officials, county auditors, and other local 
officials may not establish procedures or requirements 
concerning sales disclosure forms that substantially differ 
from the procedures and requirements of this chapter. 76
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Can we make every person recording a deed file an SDF? If not, 
for those parties that need not file an SDF, can we make them 
file a county-prescribed form?
• No, you cannot make every party recording a deed file an 

SDF. Only certain circumstances necessitate an SDF. As for 
imposing a county-prescribed form, this is probably more of 
a local decision counties make with the advice and counsel of 
their legal counsel. Counties should refrain from making the 
process of recording deeds or transferring property 
unreasonably burdensome. ONLY SDFs CAN BE USED FOR 
TRENDING/RATIO STUDIES!
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• Consistency is the major issue! Examples (as alleged by ILTA): 
• Whether or not the transaction is exempt from SDF, some 

counties always require SDF. An SDF can only be required for 
certain kinds of transfers!

• Some counties require SDF on easements. Only certain kinds 
of easement transfers require an SDF.

• Some counties require SDF and fee in divorce and some do 
not. Response: If you have a document for a compulsory 
transaction involving divorce, an SDF is required but there is 
no fee.
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• Some counties require handwritten SDF and some require 
computer/electronic submission. Response: A county may 
choose to accept longhand submissions. In the event that a 
form is submitted longhand, the county assessor’s office will 
enter the data in the database. 

• Some counties will only take black ink. Response: Black ink is 
the preferred type of ink to be used, as other colors can 
cause problems for scanning purposes, so the form should 
(not must) be either typed or printed in black ink. However, 
the signatures on page 2 do not have to be in black ink.
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• Some counties require the signature of a spouse on SDF even 
though spouse is not/never has been on the deed/title. 
Response: Only the spouse completing the SDF needs to sign 
the form. However, if one spouse wishes to use the SDF to 
complete the application for the homestead standard 
deduction, both spouses’ identification numbers must be 
provided regardless of who is the owner of the property. 
Married couples are limited to one homestead standard 
deduction and so the identification numbers of both spouses 
are important. 
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• What ID is allowed on SDF for buyer? Last 5 of driver’s 
license, ID, or other number—some counties will not accept 
out of state ID. The applicant provides the last five digits of 
his Social Security Number. If he does not have a Social 
Security Number, he would provide the last five digits of his 
driver’s license number or state ID. If he doesn’t have any of 
that documentation, he could provide the last five digits of a 
control number issued by the US federal government (e.g., 
visa or green card).
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• Inconsistency in filing any tax deductions on the SDF as some 
counties allow for deductions to be filed through the SDF 
and other counties will not allow any deductions through the 
SDF—not even the homestead. Moreover, some counties 
require the applicant to physically come in and present proof 
of eligibility despite the form being filled out correctly. 
Response: An SDF can be used to apply for certain 
deductions, including the homestead. If the SDF is validly 
completed, the auditor must allow the deduction (see IC 6-
1.1-12-44).
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• The traditional deduction application forms have to be dated and signed in the year for which the 
applicant is seeking the deduction and filed or postmarked by the following January 5 to the auditor. 
What about sales disclosure forms? The statute below provides that an SDF serving as an application for 
a deduction must be submitted to the assessor on or before December 31 and filed with the county 
auditor. Thus, the SDF must at least be submitted to the assessor by December 31. If it doesn’t make its 
way to the auditor until after December 31, this isn’t a problem. Notice the statute says that if “the 
county auditor receives in a calendar year a sales disclosure form,” “the county auditor shall apply the 
deduction to the homestead for property taxes first due and payable in the calendar year for which the 
homestead qualifies.”
• IC 6-1.1-12-44 (EXCERPT)
• Sales disclosure form serves as application for certain deductions; limitations

Sec. 44. (a) A sales disclosure form under IC 6-1.1-5.5:
(1) that is submitted:

(A)as a paper form; or
(B) electronically;
on or before December 31 of a calendar year to the county assessor by or on behalf of the 
purchaser of a homestead (as defined in section 37 of this chapter) assessed as real 
property;

(2) that is accurate and complete;
(3) that is approved by the county assessor as eligible for filing with the county auditor; and
(4) that is filed:

(A)as a paper form; or
(B) electronically;

with the county auditor by or on behalf of the purchaser;
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Mike Duffy, General Counsel
• Telephone: 317.233.9219
• E-mail: mduffy@dlgf.in.gov (preferred)
• Website: www.in.gov/dlgf
• “Contact Us”: www.in.gov/dlgf/2338.htm
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