IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Dept. of Natural Resources

State Parks > Programs > Indiana Master Naturalist Program > Indiana Master Naturalist classes Indiana Master Naturalist classes

ABOUT IMN | TAKE A CLASS | SPONSOR A CLASS
GRADUATES | VOLUNTEERS, FORMS & LINKS

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.

 

Adult IMN Courses

 

  1. Schererville Community Center, Schererville
    March 1–May 3, 2017 (Wednesdays, 1-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Maddie Grimm, mgrimm@schererville.org or (219) 712-3040

     

  2. Southeastway Park, Indianapolis
    Jan. 13-Nov. 10, 2017 (Second Friday of month, 6:30-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Frank Rouse, Frank.Rouse@indy.gov or (317) 327-4834

     

  3. Sullivan County 4-H Fair Grounds, Sullivan
    Jan. 4-May, 2017 (Wednesdays, 6:30–9:30 p.m. and some Saturdays)
    Contact: Larry Watson, ag1agent@aol.com or (812) 249-2952

     

  4. Karst Farm Park, Bloomington
    Jan. 10- March 7, 2017 (Tuesdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Cathy Meyer, cmeyer@co.monroe.in.us or (812) 349-2800

     

  5. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis - (FULL)
    Jan. 12-Oct 12, 2017 (second Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, jcummings@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

     

  6. Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes Feb. 6-April 24, 2017 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.) or Feb. 7–April 25, 2017 (Tuesdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or (812) 479-0771 x102

     

  7. Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne
    Feb. 21-May 30, 2017 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or (260) 471-5952

     

  8. Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge, Seymour
    March 1–April 22, 2017 (Wednesdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Donna Stanley, donna_stanley@fws.gov or (812) 522-4352 x12

     

  9. Kosciusko County Soil and Water, Warsaw
    March 9–Nov. 9, 2017 (Once a month, second Thursday, 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or (574) 267-5853

     

  10. Taltree Arboretum & Gardens, Valparaiso
    March 9-May 11, 2017 (Thursdays, 9 a.m.- noon)
    Ellen Kapitan, ekapitan@taltree.org or (219) 742-8147

     

  11. Southeastern Indiana Recycling District, Madison
    March 13-April 17, 2017 (Mondays, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Aaron Bell, aaron@seird.org or (812) 574-4080

     

  12. Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    March 23-April 27, 2017 (Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Laura Whiteleather, lwhiteleather@dnr.IN.gov or (260) 468-2127

     

  13. Cope Environmental Center, Centerville
    April 6–May 25, 2017 (Thursdays 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Aubrey Blue, a.blue@copeenvironmental.org or (765) 855-3188

     

  14. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    June 22, 2017-March 22, 2018 (fourth Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, jcummings@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

     

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • No classes at this time.

 

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  1. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    June 12-16, 2017 (Day Camp, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, fortinterp@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

     

  2. Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Feb. 21- April 18, 2017 (Tuesdays, 4-6 p.m.)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or (812) 479-0771 x102