IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

State Parks > Programs > Indiana Master Naturalist Program > Indiana Master Naturalist classes Indiana Master Naturalist classes

ABOUT IMN | TAKE A CLASS | SPONSOR A CLASS
GRADUATES | VOLUNTEERS, FORMS & LINKS

All courses offer a minimum of eight three-hour sessions focusing on Indiana's natural resources. The specific topics for each course may vary, but in general each series include sessions related to Geology/Soils, Water, Botany, Zoology, People and Natural Resources, and a Miscellaneous course.

Cost

A fee is normally charged, but the dollar amount may vary with the number of sessions, the type of speakers, and the sponsors.

Registration

The number and locations of courses vary across the state. They also depend on the time of year and the interest of local natural resources agencies in the program. For information about courses, contact the State Coordinator Jody Heaston at jheaston@dnr.IN.gov.

Schedule of classes

Subscribe to be notified when this page is updated.

 

Adult IMN Courses

 

  1. Schererville Community Center, Schererville
    March 1–May 3, 2017 (Wednesdays, 1-4 p.m.)
    Contact: Maddie Grimm, mgrimm@schererville.org or (219) 712-3040

     

  2. Sullivan County 4-H Fair Grounds, Sullivan
    Jan. 4-May, 2017 (Wednesdays, 6:30–9:30 p.m. and some Saturdays)
    Contact: Larry Watson, ag1agent@aol.com or (812) 249-2952

     

  3. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis - (FULL)
    Jan. 12-Oct 12, 2017 (second Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, jcummings@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

     

  4. Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Two classes Feb. 6-April 24, 2017 (Mondays, 6–9 p.m.) or Feb. 7–April 25, 2017 (Tuesdays, 9 a.m.-noon)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or (812) 479-0771 x102

     

  5. Fox Island Alliance, Fort Wayne - (FULL)
    Feb. 21-May 30, 2017 (Tuesdays, 6-9:30 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Pam George, pamgeorgeph@comcast.net or (260) 471-5952

     

  6. Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge, Seymour
    March 1–April 22, 2017 (Wednesdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Donna Stanley, donna_stanley@fws.gov or (812) 522-4352 x12

     

  7. Kosciusko County Soil and Water, Warsaw - (FULL)
    March 9–Nov. 9, 2017 (Once a month, second Thursday, 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Darci Zolman, darci.zolman@in.nacdnet.net or (574) 267-5853

     

  8. Taltree Arboretum & Gardens, Valparaiso
    March 9-May 11, 2017 (Thursdays, 9 a.m.- noon)
    Ellen Kapitan, ekapitan@taltree.org or (219) 742-8147

     

  9. Southeastern Indiana Recycling District, Madison - (FULL)
    March 13-April 17, 2017 (Mondays, 6-9 p.m. and some Saturday mornings)
    Contact: Aaron Bell, aaron@seird.org or (812) 574-4080

     

  10. Salamonie Lake, Andrews
    March 23-April 27, 2017 (Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Laura Whiteleather, lwhiteleather@dnr.IN.gov or (260) 468-2127

     

  11. Cope Environmental Center, Centerville
    April 6–May 25, 2017 (Thursdays 5:30-8:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Aubrey Blue, a.blue@copeenvironmental.org or (765) 855-3188

     

  12. Noblesville Parks and Recreation, Noblesville
    May 2 – June 27, 2017 (Tuesdays, 6:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Karen La Mere, lamerekaren@gmail.com or (317) 770-5750

     

  13. Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    July 6-Sept. 1 2017 (Thursdays, 6-9:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Tiffany Conrad, tconrad@indianamuseum.org or (260) 854-3790

     

  14. Eagle Creek Park, Indianapolis
    Aug. 3-Oct. 5, 2017 (Thursdays, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jennifer Boyce, Jennifer.boyce@indy.gov or (317) 327-7148

     

  15. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    June 22, 2017-March 22, 2018 (fourth Thursday of month, 6-9 p.m.)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, jcummings@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

     

Teen IMN Courses (ages 13-17)

  • No classes at this time.

 

Junior IMN Courses (ages 9-12)

  1. Fort Harrison State Park, Indianapolis
    June 12-16, 2017 (Day Camp, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. daily)
    Contact: Jeff Cummings, fortinterp@dnr.IN.gov or (317) 591-0122

     

  2. Wesselman Woods Nature Preserve, Evansville
    Feb. 21- April 18, 2017 (Tuesdays, 4-6 p.m.)
    Contact: Gena Garrett, ggarrett@wesselmannaturesociety.org or (812) 479-0771 x102

     

  3. Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site, Rome City
    June 12-16, 2017 (Day Camp 9 a.m.-3 p.m. each day)
    Contact: Tiffany Conrad, tconrad@indianamuseum.org or (260) 854-3790

     

  4. Elkhart County Parks, Elkhart
    June 19–June 21, 2017 (Day Camp, 9:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.)
    Contact: Krista Daniels, Krista@elkhartcountyparks.org or (574) 875-7422