Contact the Division of Reclamation

For inquiries about coal mining and land restoration in Indiana these points of contact will take you directly to a specific program area:

Active mining and reclamation, or permit applications under review. These activities are under authority of, and enforced by current State and federal laws enacted under the federal Surface Mining and Control Act of 1977 (SMCRA): (812) 665-2207 or Toll Free when calling inside the State of Indiana 1-800-772-6463.

Historical mining activity, and sites mined but abandoned without complete restoration. These sites typically were affected prior to the adoption of current laws and standards for reclamation. They might include open mine shafts, coal refuse piles, abandoned structures and equipment and additional mine related features or impacts: AbandonedMinesRestoration@dnr.in.gov.

Construction operators, private contractors or consultants interested project information may click here for posted current and upcoming projects, standard specifications, and project bid results. If you have questions or wish to provide additional information you may contact construction supervisors here: amlconstruction@dnr.IN.gov

The Division of Reclamation has always considered public participation and communication exchange as vital to our mission. Our commitment is a response to any inquiry within three working days.
 

Jasonville Office
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438
Phone: (812) 665-2207
Toll free (within Indiana): 800-772-6463
Fax: (812) 665-5041
Office Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Name Title Phone Email
Steve Weinzapfel Director, Division of Reclamation   sweinzapfel@dnr.IN.gov
Vanessa Phillips Administrative Assistant ext 4078 vphillips@dnr.IN.gov
Cyndi Husband Purchasing Administrator ext 4094 chusband@dnr.IN.gov
Technical Services
Pete Sartoris Assistant Director,
Technical Services/Inspection & Enforcement
ext 4073 psartoris@dnr.IN.gov
Colleen Baughman Permit Coordinator/AVS Coordinator ext 4069 cbaughman@dnr.IN.gov
Teri Maddox Secretary ext 4079 tmaddox@dnr.IN.gov
Ron Pearson Hydrogeologist ext 4087 rpearson@dnr.IN.gov
Todd Huff Hydrogeologist ext 4085 thuff@dnr.IN.gov
Jayne Peltier Water Quality Specialist ext 4038 jpeltier1@dnr.IN.gov
Alan Kern Mining Engineer ext 4062 akern@dnr.IN.gov
Tim Wright Archaeologist ext 4092 twright@dnr.IN.gov
Kelsey Pearman Wildlife Biologist ext 4089 kpearman1@dnr.IN.gov
Inspection and Enforcement
Kevin Geier Field Supervisor ext 4060 kgeier@dnr.IN.gov
Shasta Keller Secretary ext 4047 slkeller@dnr.IN.gov
John Voigt Mine Inspector ext 4065 jvoigt@dnr.IN.gov
Brad Loveless Mine Inspector   bloveless@dnr.IN.gov
Clay Dayson Mine Inspector   cdayson@dnr.IN.gov
Jeanne Lorenzo Mine Inspector   jlorenzo@dnr.IN.gov
Keith Swihart Mine Inspector   kswihart@dnr.IN.gov
Jamie Brown Mine Inspector ext 4058 jabrown3@dnr.IN.gov
Support Services
Brock Mayes Assistant Director, Support Services ext 4072 bmayes@dnr.IN.gov
Jerry Heltsley Program Coordinator                           ph: 317.234.8735 jheltsley@dnr.IN.gov
Shanda Messmer Secretary/Records ext 4091 smessmer@dnr.IN.gov
Patty Beard Program Assistant ext 4039 pbeard@dnr.IN.gov
Kim Loveless Bond Recorder ext 4082 kloveless@dnr.IN.gov
Todd Sellers Bond Coordinator ext 4081 tsellers@dnr.IN.gov
Chris Carver GIS Specialist ext 4090 ccarver1@dnr.IN.gov
Phyllis Hart Blasting Specialist ext 4051 phart@dnr.IN.gov
Restoration - Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
Marvin Ellis Director, Abandoned Mine Lands ext 4034 mdellis@dnr.IN.gov
Gayla Reedy Secretary ext 4011 greedy@dnr.IN.gov
Mark Stacy Technical Mgmnt Supervisor/Environmental Specialist ext 4016 mstacy@dnr.IN.gov
Peter Burch Water Quality Specialist ext 4010 pburch@dnr.IN.gov
Jill Flachskam GIS Inventory Specialist ext 4015 jflachskam@dnr.IN.gov
Andy Ripley Site Investigator ext 4013 aripley@dnr.IN.gov
Kim Tibbett Financial Officer ext 4018 ktibbett@dnr.IN.gov
Chris Hostetler Chief Engineer/Engineering Supervisor ext 4029 chostetler@dnr.IN.gov
Mark Bredehoft Hydraulic Engineer ext 4027 mbredehoft@dnr.IN.gov
Shawn Clifford Hydraulic Engineer ext 4028 sclifford@dnr.IN.gov
Willard Eley Field Data Specialist ext 4014 weley@dnr.IN.gov
Randy Tabler Survey Project Manager ext 4030 rtabler@dnr.IN.gov
Kit Turpin Project Manager Supervisor ext 4033 cturpin@dnr.IN.gov
Bob Jones Project Manager/Realty Coordinator ext 4035 bcjones@dnr.IN.gov
Nick Lorenzo Project Manager/Emergency Coordinator ext 4012 nlorenzo@dnr.IN.gov
Jay Akes Project Manager ext 4031 rakes@dnr.IN.gov
 
Indianapolis Administrative Office
402 W. Washington Street, RM W291
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Fax: (317) 232-1550
Office Hours: 8:15 a.m. - 4:45 p.m
Name Title Phone Email
Jack McGriffin Assistant Director, Operations (317) 232-1551 jmcgriffin@dnr.IN.gov
Michelle Baker Grants Coordinator (317) 232-1556 mbaker@dnr.IN.gov