IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Department of Revenue

MCS Home > Motor Carrier Services > MCS Notices MCS Notices

IRP

Texting While Driving -- Effective July 1, it will be unlawful to type, transmit, or read text messages on a communication device while driving in the State of Indiana. Violators will face a maximum fine of $500. For more information, visit www.distraction.gov

IRP Late Payment Penalty:

  • A penalty of 10 percent will apply to any IRP renewal paid after the payment due date (see schedule below).
  • The 10 percent penalty is added to the total Indiana renewal fees.
  • To avoid paying the penalty, you can:
    • Mail your payment to 7811 Milhouse Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46241 (must be postmarked on or before the due date).
    • Pay online at www.in.gov/dor/epay/index.html (must be made before midnight of the due date).
    • Hand-deliver your payment at 7811 Milhouse Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46241 (must be made before 4:30 p.m. on the due date).

Renewal Schedule:

  • The renewals will be mailed 60 days prior to the payment due date.
  • The renewals must be received 30 days prior to the payment due date to allow for the preparation of the billing.
Registration Month Processing Deadline
for IRP Renewals
IRP Payment
Due Date
Cab Card
Enforcement Date
January Nov. 15 Dec. 15 Jan. 1
February Dec. 15 Jan. 15 Feb. 1
March Jan. 15 Feb. 15 March 1
April Feb. 15 March 15 April 1
May March 15 April 15 May 1
June April 15 May 15 June 1
July May 15 June 15 July 1
August June 15 July 15 Aug. 1
September July 15 Aug. 15 Sept. 1
October Aug. 15 Sept.15 Oct. 1
November Sept. 15 Oct. 15 Nov. 1
December Oct. 15 Nov. 15 Dec. 1

Reporting Period:

The reporting period for October, November, and December month renewals is July 1 through June 30 of the current year. For more information, review the IRP Handbook.

OSW

Texting While Driving -- Effective July 1, it will be unlawful to type, transmit, or read text messages on a communication device while driving in the State of Indiana. Violators will face a maximum fine of $500. For more information, visit www.distraction.gov

Sealed Ocean Container Permit
A permit that is issued for a sealed ocean container is valid for one year. Once the driver has paid $800 for the permit, he or she must follow the below provisions:

  1. The container is sealed at the place of origin and has not been opened except by an agent of the federal government that may inspect the contents; and
  2. Being transported to and from a distribution facility.
  3. Ocean containers cannot exceed 53 feet (trailer and load length) in length with a tractor-trailer hook-up, 60 feet overall in length with a truck-trailer hook up, 8 feet 6 inches wide and 13 feet 6 inches overall height and 95,000 pounds.

The carrier must complete a form M-233 to request the sealed ocean container permit. Once completed, the carrier must fax the form to (317) 615-7241. If a carrier has more than one truck that will move these containers, a permit must be ordered for each truck.

If you have any questions, please contact the Department at (317) 615-7320.

New Web-based Permitting System
A new Web-based permitting system is in place! You can order your permits on the Internet and print them at your desktop!

This system is very different from the previous one. Some of the highlights include:

  • You have 24-hour access to the Internet system, allowing you to submit permit requests anytime, day or night.
  • You can obtain a permit immediately if you select a route from a predetermined list and your vehicle and load are within the dimensions of the route.
  • If you do not select a route from a predetermined list, our analysts will review your permit application during business hours and will respond immediately and electronically.
  • You can print the permit on your printer, save it to your hard drive to print later, or fax it to another location.
  • Every carrier will need to have a system-generated permit in their vehicle: no handwritten permits will be allowed.
  • You are no longer able to order permits from our office over the telephone.

Visit MCS's frequently asked questions for more information about permits, or you can e-mail OSW services.

IFTA/MCFT

Texting While Driving -- Effective July 1, it will be unlawful to type, transmit, or read text messages on a communication device while driving in the State of Indiana. Violators will face a maximum fine of $500. For more information, visit www.distraction.gov

Sales Tax
Are you aware that public transportation has sales tax exemptions? For more information, click here.

Annual Permits
Effective July 1, 2009, motor carriers are required to apply for their annual International Fuel Tax and Intrastate Fuel Tax permits (using the IFTA-1 or MCFT-1 form) by Sept. 1 to receive the permit by Jan. 1.

2012 License Cards (Permit) and Compliance Decals
Effective Aug. 1, 2010, all International Fuel Tax (IFTA) and Motor Carrier Fuel Tax (MCFT) renewal applications received by Sept.1 will have their License Cards (Permit) and Compliance Decals mailed by Nov. 16, if they pass validations.

BPR

Beginning January 2014, the Indiana Department of Revenue’s Motor Carrier Services Division will assume responsibility for base plate registrations from the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles for companies with 25 or more commercial vehicles weighing 26,001 lbs. or more. For more information visit www.in.gov/dor/5027.htm.

USDOT and UCR Services

Biennial Updates -- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) requires all entities under its jurisdiction to update their information every two years. You are required to provide this update every two years even if your company has not changed its information, has ceased interstate operations since the last update, or is no longer in business and you did not notify FMCSA. You now have a filing schedule when to update your MCS150 form: click here to see when you are scheduled to update your USDOT number.

Texting While Driving -- Effective July 1, it will be unlawful to type, transmit, or read text messages on a communication device while driving in the State of Indiana. Violators will face a maximum fine of $500. For more information, visit www.distraction.gov.

2013 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Fees Now Available
The 2015 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees are now available online. Payments for these UCR fees are due no later than Dec. 1, 2014.

However, if you operated during 2014 or 2013 and have not registered and paid for those years, it is important that you immediately register and pay the prior-year fees. If registration and payment are not made in a timely manner, it may lead to collections and enforcement action.

To view the 2015 fees and learn how to make payments online or by mail, click here.

Trailers No Longer Have to Pay the UCR Fees in 2010
Under the UCR program, interstate carriers will not be issued registration receipts. You may carry a copy of the receipt of payment in your vehicle, but it is not required.

Private passenger interstate only carriers, however, are not required to register and pay fees under the UCR.

Intrastate for-hire and private hazardous material carriers are required to renew annually. Registration receipts are issued to these carriers and must be carried in each vehicle.

Intrastate Passenger Authority Permit Process 
Get step-by-step instructions on how to apply for a permanent, temporary and emergency temporary permits to become a legal passenger or household goods carrier in Indiana and across state lines. More...