- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Revenue

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • tax talk widget
  • tax_videolibrary_widget
  • transparency_widget

DOR > Tax Talk Blog > Black Friday and Cyber Monday: Sales Tax vs. Use Tax Black Friday and Cyber Monday: Sales Tax vs. Use Tax

Nov. 18, 2013 – TaxTalk Blog

While some Hoosiers begin the holiday shopping season waiting outside retailers on Black Friday (some Thursday), others will wait indoors until Monday, Dec. 2, (aka Cyber Monday) to snag some of the best online deals retailers offer. Whatever your shopping preference is, both bring in the holiday cheer. And whichever way you shop, both carry a tax: sales tax or use tax.

Sales tax is a common tax paid on most items at retail stores. When you buy an item from a retailer (there are a few exceptions) you’ll pay Indiana’s 7 percent sales tax on that purchase. The retailer collects the tax and sends it to the state.

On the other hand, use tax is owed when a sales tax is not paid on purchases made over the internet or while traveling outside Indiana. Hoosiers shopping on Cyber Monday should check and see if their online purchases charge a sales tax; if not, they will owe use tax to Indiana. Although less known, this tax has been collected on the state income tax return since 1969.

While sales tax is collected at the time you buy something, you usually won’t pay the use tax on your purchase until you file your Indiana income tax return. Since 2013 state tax returns will be filed in a few months time, here’s the two step process:

Step 1: Complete the worksheet in the IT-40, IT-40EZ or IT-40PNR instruction booklet (2013 forms will be available online on Dec. 2, 2013) to help you figure how much use tax is owed.

Step 2: Enter the amount owed on Schedule 4 of Form IT-40, on Schedule E of Form IT-40PNR, or on line 8 on the Form IT-40EZ, depending on which form is filed.

For example, you paid $100 for three magazine subscriptions in 2013 and no sales tax was charged. You would report $7 use tax when filing your 2013 Indiana income tax return ($100 x 7%).

To learn more about Indiana’s use tax, read the Use Tax FAQs.

If you would like to submit a question or topic suggestions, please send them to
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Facebook   Twitter


Recent Posts

  • Protect Your Child's Identity
    March 8, 2017

    Have you checked your child's credit report? Unfortunately, a child's identity is valuable to identity theft criminals. The identity can be used for a long time before identity theft is discovered. Read more...


  • Five Questions to Ask Your Tax Preparer
    March 6, 2017

    Many Hoosier taxpayers get help when preparing and filing their taxes. Regardless of who prepares your taxes, you are ultimately responsible for: the information provided on your tax return,filing your tax return (or extension) on time, and paying any taxes, interest, or penalties due. Read more...



Full Archive...