

## Kappa Alpha Theta

Learn more about Kappa Alpha Theta at: https://www.kappaalphatheta.org/.



In 2020, Kappa Alpha Theta (KAO) will be celebrating its 150<sup>th</sup> Anniversary as an international sorority. The sorority was founded on January 27, 1870, at DePauw University, formerly Indiana Asbury, three years after the university began admitting women.

One if its founders, Bettie Locke Hamilton, was among the first five women to be admitted to

college after it allowed women to attend. Their presence was controversial; "the local paper wrote editorials questioning the advisability of women in higher education, and a contingent of male students protested their admittance." After a member of Phi Gamma Delta asked Bettie to wear his badge as a sign of her support, she said she would only if she could be a fully initiated member. They declined. So, at the suggestion of her father, she created a women's fraternity with three other female students. The other women were Alice Allen Brant from Waveland, Indiana, Bettie Tipton Lindsey from Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, and Hannah Fitch Shaw from Lawrenceburg, Indiana.

Kappa Alpha Theta was the first Greek-letter Fraternity for women and now has 147 chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Its headquarters is in Indianapolis, Indiana, and is currently led by Betsy Corridan, former Board Chair of the Indiana Commission for Women (2009-2012).