- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Environmental Management

IDEM > Legal Counsel > Rules > Environmental Rules Board Representatives Environmental Rules Board Representatives

State statutes establish rulemaking boards, which provide authority for each board to adopt rules to regulate various air pollution, solid and hazardous waste, or water pollution matters.

When adopting rules, the environmental rulemaking boards and the department must follow procedures set out in the Indiana law in IC 4-22-2 and IC 13-14-9. These rulemaking procedures are different from the procedures that apply to other Indiana agencies.

Statutory Authority:

The Environmental Rules Board (ERB) is established under IC 13-13-8. State statutes provide authority for the ERB to adopt rules regarding various matters.


The board has sixteen members, a technical secretary, and a legal counsel. The technical secretary and the legal counsel are non-voting members of the board, and may not be state employees. There are four (4) ex officio representatives on the board, who represent other state agencies, and the Commissioner of IDEM who serves as a non-voting member. The remaining eleven (11) members are representatives of various constituencies and are appointed by the governor. The procedure the board and the department must follow in adopting rules is also set out in statute, IC 13-14-9.

Environmental Rules Board
Appointee Members Represents E-mail Address Phone
Beverly Gard, Chair General Public 3660 N. 50 E.
Greenfield IN, 46140
(317) 439-0759
Bill Etzler, Vice Chair Small Business 6331 E. 400 S.
LaOtto IN, 46763
(260) 740-6490
Vacant, Board Counsel        
Vacant, Technical Secretary        
Ken Rulon Agriculture 27684 Rulon Rd.
Arcadia IN, 46030
Gail Boydston Manufacturing One Lilly Corporate Center
Indianapolis IN, 46285
(317) 276-2000
Tom R. Anderson Environmental Interests
405 Hendricks St.
Michigan City IN, 46360
(219) 874-6171 (Home)
(219) 877-8786 (Cell)
Chris Horn Labor P.O. Box 62
Lynnville IN, 47619
(812) 480-1663
Gary Powdrill General Public 6 Forest Ct.
Greenfield IN, 46140
(317) 326-2484
Ted Niemiec Medical 3210 Watling St.
East Chicago IN, 46312
(219) 399-6057
Kelly Carmichael Public Utility 801 E. 86th Ave.
Merrillville IN, 46410
(219) 647-5312
Joanne Alexandrovich Local Government 420 Mulberry St.
Evansville IN, 47713
(812) 435-5764
Cal Davidson Solid Waste Management 4664 Brock Ct.
Plainfield IN, 46168
(317) 539-2024
David Bausman, Lt. Governor Proxy Indiana State Department of Agriculture One N. Capitol Ave. Suite 600
Indianapolis IN, 46204
(317) 232-8965
Mike Mettler, Proxy Indiana State Department of Health 100 N. Senate Ave.
Indiana Government Center North, Room 855
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 233-7183
Cameron Clark, Executive Director Indiana Department of Natural Resources 402 W. Washington St.
Indiana Government Center South, Room W256
Indianapolis IN, 46204
(317) 232-4027
Devin Hillsdon-Smith, Proxy Indiana Economic Development Corporation One N. Capital Ave. Suite 700
Indianapolis IN, 46204
(317) 232-8833
Bruno Pigott*, IDEM Commissioner Indiana Department of Environmental Management 100 N. Senate Ave.
Indiana Government Center North, Room 1301
Indianapolis IN, 46204
(317) 232-8611

*Non-voting member

The Rule Development Section can provide information about various items, including meeting schedules and agendas, current board members, board packets, and rulemaking schedules. The Rule Development Section is available via phone at (317) 233-8903, or via email at