## **Certification Reciprocity Policy**

In accordance with the applicable administrative regulations,<sup>1</sup> on January 12, 2009, the Governor's Commission on Supplier Diversity ("Commission") officially adopted a certification reciprocity policy, which states that the Indiana Department of Administration Division of Supplier Diversity ("DSD") office only considers certification applications from Minority Business Enterprises ("MBEs"), Women's Business Enterprises ("WBEs") and Indiana Veteran Owned Businesses ("IVOSBs") from out-of-state companies based in states that recognize Indiana certifications.<sup>2</sup> Based on this policy, the DSD office may deny applications for certification from states that do not maintain a reciprocal certification program for Indiana certified minority, women, and veteran-owned businesses.

## Out-of-State Firm Minimum Requirements:3

- 1. Out-of-state businesses must be headquartered in a state that recognizes Indiana Certifications.
- 2. Applications from out-of-state enterprises must, at a minimum, meet State of Indiana requirements set forth in 25 IAC 5-3-2 & 25 IAC 5-3-7.
- 3. Out-of-state firms must have equivalent certification from their state government agency. Proof of state certification must be provided with the certification application packet. City, county, commission, and council certifications do not fulfill this requirement.
- 4. For new out-of-state applications, a copy of the official onsite that was conducted by its state certifying agency must be provided to the DSD. The onsite had to be conducted within three years of the date the application was submitted to the DSD.

The Division of Supplier Diversity does not require an on-site for out-of-state firms seeking recertification; however, DSD reserves the right to request a current on-site report at its discretion.

## **Exhibit A**

As of March 30, 2023, the following states meet the requirements of the reciprocity policy enforced by the Indiana Department of Administration Division of Supplier Diversity:

Alabama	Delaware	Illinois	Kansas	Kentucky
Massachusetts	Missouri	New Jersey	New York	Oregon
Rhode Island	South Carolina	Tennessee	Virginia	Washington
Wisconsin				

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 25 IAC 5-3-2(I); 25 IAC 5-3-7(a)(1)(A)(ii); 25 IAC 5-3-7(b)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> A current list of qualifying reciprocity states is attached as exhibit A.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Nothing in this memorandum shall be construed as limiting DSD ability to consider additional factors when determining a state or firm eligibility status pursuant to the Commission's reciprocity policy.