Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
An insurance producer license remains in effect unless revoked or suspended, as long as the renewal fee is paid and the educational requirements are met by the due date. Late renewals are not permitted.
However, individuals unable to comply with license renewal procedures, including completion of continuing education due to military service or other extenuating circumstance such as long-term disability may be eligible for a waiver of those procedures. You must contact the Department before the expiration date for instructions as applicable to each individual situation.
The Department may grant an extension for complying with the continuing education requirement set forth in Indiana Code IC 27-1-15.7-2. Extensions are granted on a case by case basis and may not exceed 90 days. The typical extension is 30 days. You will need to pay your renewal fee of $40.00 and request an extension before the expiration date. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for applicable instructions.
To receive an extension a licensee must:
- file a request with the Department on the form provided; and
- submit with the request an extension fee of twenty-five dollars ($25)
- Make the check payable to the Indiana Department of Insurance.
After a licensee files a request for an extension, the license remains in effect until a decision is made on the request. Decisions will be forwarded to the licensee's e-mail address. Failure to meet the terms of the extension may result in license suspension.
If the licensee's request for an extension is denied, the licensee must reinstate their license. From Bulletin 108, a licensee who allows the license to expire without completingthe required continuing education, may reinstate the producer license during the following twelve (12) months only after the producer completes all outstanding continuing education, passes the laws and regulations portion of the pre-licensing examination (requires Department issued certificate to test) and pays to the Department the renewal fee and penalty of three times the renewal fee.
Renewal fees received within 30 days of the license expiration date may be accepted without penalty at the discretion of the department.