Reinstating a Resident License That Has Been Expired for Less Than One (1) Year

Reinstating a Non-Resident Expired License

Producers Who Allow Licenses to Expire and Have Completed Required Continuing Education (CE) Before License Expired

Pursuant to Indiana Code 27-1-15.6-7(e) and Bulletin 108, an individual producer who allows his or her license to lapse and has completed all required continuing education (CE) before the license expired, may have the license reinstated upon payment of the renewal fee and a penalty of three times the renewal fee during the following 12 months. For Indiana resident producers, the renewal fee is $40 and the penalty is $120. Payment may be made by either two separate payments or one payment of $160.

Reinstatement payments must be submitted by check or money order made payable to Indiana Department of Insurance, and mailed to:

Indiana Department of Insurance
c/o Agent Licensing
311 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, Indiana  46204-2784

An individual producer who allows his or her license to expire and seeks to renew more than twelve (12) months thereafter will not have the license reinstated. The producer must apply for a new license and complete all pre-licensing requirements.

Licenses that are reinstated are effective as of the date the Department finds that the producer has complied with all applicable requirements. A producer may be subject to additional penalties for any sale, solicitation or negotiation of insurance during the time the licesnse was expired and before it was reinstated.

Producers Who Allow Licenses to Expire and Have Not Completed Required Continuing Education (CE) Before License Expired

A resident individual producer who allows his or her license to expire without completing the required CE, may reinstate the license during the following 12 months only after the producer completes all outstanding CE, passes the Laws and Regulations portion of the pre-licensing examination and pays to the Department the renewal fee ($40) and penalty ($120) as stated above.

Prior to registering and scheduling the Laws & Regulations Assessment, the individual must request a certified "Waiver of Pre-Licensing Education" from the Department, which must be taken by the individual to the assessment. The waiver may be requested by emailing agentlicensing@idoi.in.gov