#### TITLE 68 INDIANA GAMING COMMISSION

# Proposed Rule<sup>1</sup>

#### LSA DOCUMENT # 24-

#### DIGEST

Adds 68 IAC 28 regarding fines. Statutory authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4.

## 68 IAC 28

SECTION 1. 68 IAC 28 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS

#### **ARTICLE 28 FINE SCHEDULE**

Rule 1. General Provisions

#### **68 IAC 28-1-1 Investigation Costs**

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

Sec. 1. Pursuant to IC 4-33-4-18, costs incurred conducting investigations shall be billed at a rate of sixty-five \$65.00 dollars per investigation hour.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-1)

# 68 IAC 27-1-2 Civil Penalty Schedule Established

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

Sec. 2. The purpose of this article is to establish a civil penalty schedule for violations of IC 4-33, 4-35 and 4-38, 68 IAC or a licensee's internal controls as approved by the commission. (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-2)

## 68 IAC 28-1-3 Authority

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

Sec. 3. The commission is authorized to assess civil penalties in accordance with IC 4-33-4-8, IC 4-35-4-10 and IC 4-38-1-4.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-3)

## 68 IAC 28-1-4 Definitions

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

Sec. 4. The following definitions apply throughout this article:

- (1) "Base violation" means the first violation of a rule, regulation, or internal control in a rolling six-month period.
- (2) "Repeat violation" means a reoccurrence of the base violation or violations in a rolling six-month period.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> DRAFT Rule posted in compliance with IC 4-22-2-19.6(f). DRAFT Rule subject to change pursuant to promulgation process outlined under IC art. 4-22.

(3) "Rolling six-month period" means the one-hundred and eighty (180) days following the date of a violation of IC 4-33, 4-35 and 4-38, 68 IAC or a licensee's internal controls occurred.
(4) "Schedule" means the civil penalty schedule, as required by IC 4-22-2-19.6. (Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-1-4)

# Rule 2. Civil Penalty Schedule and Application

# 68 IAC 28-2-1 Civil Penalty Schedule

Sec. 1. The schedule of civil penalties for violations of IC 4-33, 4-35 and 4-38, rules adopted under these laws and a licensee's internal controls as approved by the Commission under 68 IAC 11 are as follows:

Legal Citation	General Description of	Base violation	Repeat violations in a
	Violation		rolling six-month period
Violations	of the child support arre	ars delinquency program	4
IC 4-33-8.5-5; IC 4-35-6.5-13; IC 4-38-11-1; 68 IAC 11-9-2; IC 4-	CSADR: Failure to Search.	If the failure to search error rate exceeds 1.5% of the total searches	If the failure to search error rate exceeds 2% of the total searches
33-4-27; IC 4-35-4-16		required, it will be a \$500 fine for each violation	required, it will be a \$1,000 fine for each violation
IC 4-33-8.5-5; IC 4-35-6.5-13; IC 4-38-11-1; 68 IAC 11-9-2; IC 4-35-4; IC 4-33-4-27; IC 4-35-4-16	Paying out jackpot to child support obligor without required withholding	\$5,000	\$5,000
	Violation Invo	olving a Minor	
IC 4-33-9-12 and 13; IC 4-35-7-2; IC 4-38-9- 3; IC 4-38-5-3; 68 IAC 1-11-1 IC 4-38-3-2; IC 4-38-5-	Failure to restrict minors from the gaming floor  Failure to restrict	\$1,500 \$1,500	2nd violation: \$3,000; 3rd violation: \$4,500; 4th violation (and all subsequent violations): \$6,000 2nd violation: \$3,000;
11	minors from placing a sports wager		3rd violation: \$4,500; 4th violation (and all subsequent violations): \$6,000
		l Occupational Licensing	
68 IAC 2-3-1	Failure to license power of attorney. Working outside of approved licensing level	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 2-3-1; 68 IAC 2-2-1, 68 IAC 2-2-6.1, 68 IAC 2-2-4; 68 IAC 27-2-16	Failure to timely submit level 1 license application	If the required application is 30-90 days late, \$1,500; If the required application is 90-180 days late, \$3,000.	If the required application is 30-90 days late, \$1,500; If the required application is 90-180 days late, \$3,000.

		180-270 days late, \$4,500. Exceeds 270 days late, \$6,000	180-270 days late, \$4,500. Exceeds 270 days late, \$6,000
68 IAC 2-3, 68 IAC 2- 3-9, 68 IAC 13-1-1, 68 IAC 27-2-16	Failure to obtain required fingerprint cards for occupational licensee	\$100	\$100
68 IAC 2-3-9	Failure to provide the commission with required updates that have been submitted by an occupational licensee or failure to cooperate with commission investigation	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 2-3-9.1	Failure to update required information of occupational licensee	Letter for first ten (10) violations.	If total violations exceed ten (10) particular instances in a rolling six (6) month period, \$100 for each additional violation
68 IAC 2-3-9.2	Failure to Notify of Separation from Employment and Position Changes	Disciplinary letter	\$500
68 IAC 2-3-9.3 – 9.6.	Prohibited activities by occupational licensee	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 3.1	Violation of rules governing additional requirements for licensees	\$10,000	\$10,000
IC 4-33-8-2; IC 4-33-6- 12; 68 IAC 2-3-8; IC 4- 33-14-15; IC 4-35-5-4; IC 4-38-6-6; IC 4-38-8- 1; IC 4-35-4-15 (Power of Attorney); IC 4-33- 4-26 (Power of Attorney) IC 4-33-6-12; IC 4-35- 5-4	Late occupational licensing renewals (30 or more days late); Employee working on expired license  Failure to timely renew casino license	\$1,000 for each violation that includes a level 2 or level 3 occupational licensee.  \$2,000 if the violation involved a Level 1 occupational licensee.  \$10,000	\$1,000 for each violation that includes a level 2 or level 3 occupational licensee.  \$2,000 if the violation involved a Level 1 occupational licensee.  \$10,000
IC 4-33-7-8 IC 4-38-6-6; IC 4-38-8-1; 68 IAC 27-2-8	Failure to timely renew supplier license Failure to timely renew certificate of authority, vendor license or pay annual administrative fee	\$7,500 \$10,000	\$7,500 \$10,000

IC 4-33-6-12; IC 4-33-	Failure to submit	\$5,000	
6.5-7; IC 4-33-7-8; 68	required three (3) year	\$5,000	
IAC 27-2-8	reinvestigation		
IAC 27-2-0	application		
IC 4-38-9-5	Failure to Cooperate	\$5,000	\$5,000
10 130 7 5	with Licensing	\$2,000	ψ3,000
	Investigation		
		Dperational Standards	
68 IAC 1-12, 68 IAC 1-	Violation of	\$1,500	\$1,500
12.5, 68 IAC 2-6-43, 68	complimentary play,	ψ1,0 0 0	41,000
IAC 2-6-44, 68 IAC 2-	promotional events,		
6-45, 68 IAC 10-1-6.1	electronic gaming		
,	device and live gaming		
	device tournaments		
68 IAC 1-16-1	Failure to submit	\$5,000	\$5,000
	required filings under		
	31 U.S.C. 5311		
68 IAC 1-16-1	Failure to withhold	\$1,000	\$1,000
	taxes on a table game		
68 IAC 2-6-2; 68 IAC	Failure to obtain	\$5,000	\$5,000
2-6-3	certification or		
	commission approval		
	of electronic gaming		
	device		
68 IAC 2-6-31 – 68	Violation of	\$5,000 per progressive	\$5,000 per progressive
IAC 2-6-42	progressive electronic	award violation	award violation
	gaming device rules	instance, regardless of	instance, regardless of
		how many total	how many total
		machines are impacted	machines are impacted
		by the violation	by the violation
68 IAC 2-6	Any other violation of	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
	electronic gaming		
	device rules not		
	specified within this		
69 14 0 2 6 5	schedule Violation of some	Digginling my 1-44	\$1,000
68 IAC 2-6.5	Violation of server	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
	based gaming		
68 IAC 3	regulations Violation of standards	\$1,000	\$1,000
UO IAC 3	governing contracts:	\$1,000	φ1,000
	Minority and Women's		
	Business Enterprises		
68 IAC 3-3-8	Failure to attain	Civil penalty shall be	
00110000	Minority and Women's	equal to the expenditure	
	Business Enterprises	amount that the	
	goals	licensee failed to spend	
		on a minority business	
		or women business.	
		However, this provision	
		is subject to the good	
•			

		faith standard outlined	
		under 68 IAC 3-3-10	
		and the amount shall	
		not exceed the	
		maximum statutory fine	
		outlined under IC 4-38-	
(0.14.0.0	T 11	4-8 or IC 4-35-4-10	Φ1. <b>5</b> 00
68 IAC 8	Failure to follow	\$1,500	\$1,500
	approved emergency		
	response plan		
	procedures during an		
	incident that constitutes		
	an emergency under the		
	licensee's approved		
	emergency response		
68 IAC 8	plan  Failure to report to the	\$5,000	\$5,000
UO IAC O	Failure to report to the Commission an	\$5,000	\$5,000
	incident that constitutes		
	an emergency pursuant		
	to the licensee's		
	approved emergency		
	response plan		
68 IAC 10	Violation of rules of the	\$1,500	\$1,500
	game standards	Ψ1,300	Ψ1,500
68 IAC 11-1-2, 68 IAC	Failure to safeguard	\$1,000	\$1,000
15-1-2	assets	Ψ1,000	Ψ1,000
68 IAC 11-1-2; 68 IAC	Use of unapproved	\$1,500	\$3,000
11-1-3	internal control system;		
	deviation from		
	approved internal		
	control system		
68 IAC 11-3-3, 68 IAC	Violation of internal	\$1,500	2nd violation: \$3,000;
12-1-2, 68 IAC 13-1-1	controls outlining		3rd violation: \$4,500;
	access to the following		4th violation (and all
	sensitive areas: cage,		subsequent violations):
	table games pit area,		\$6,000
	count room, and		
	surveillance room		
68 IAC 11-3, 68 IAC 2-	Violation of currency	Disciplinary letter	\$1,500
6-16(E)	collection, soft count,		
	drop zone and		
	emergency drop		
	procedures or internal		
	controls		
68 IAC 11-4	Violations of opening	Disciplinary letter	If total violations
	and closing gaming		exceed ten (10)
	devices procedures or		particular instances in a
		1	Lucilina gire (6) month
	internal controls		rolling six (6) month period, \$500 for each of

			those particular violations
68 IAC 11-5	Violation of chip rotation standards	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 11-7	Violation of sensitive key control – keys off- property	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 11-7	Violation of sensitive key control – unsecured on property	Disciplinary letter	\$500
68 IAC 11-7	Violation of sensitive key control – chain of custody, strict control and unauthorized use of non-sensitive key for a sensitive key	\$1,500	2nd violation: \$3,000; 3rd violation: \$4,500; 4th violation (and all subsequent violations): \$6,000
68 IAC 11-8	Violation of cash handling procedures and standards at table games	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 12	Violation of surveillance operational standards or internal controls not otherwise described in this schedule	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 12-1-1.7, 68 IAC 12-1-2	Failure to properly staff surveillance room; failure to limit access to surveillance room	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 12-1-5(f)(6)(A) & (B)	Violation of required dedicated camera coverage on progressive electronic gaming devices	\$1,500	2nd violation: \$3,000; 3rd violation: \$4,500; 4th violation (and all subsequent violations): \$6,000
68 IAC 11-3-5; 68 IAC 15-9-3; 68 IAC 15-12-3, 4	Failure to notify surveillance when required by commission rule or internal control procedure	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 14	Violation of gaming equipment procedures and standards not otherwise described in this schedule	Disciplinary letter	\$1,500
68 IAC 14-3-2	Incorrect or missing playing card in play	\$1,500	\$1,500

68 IAC 14-3-2	Unsecured playing cards and dice (uncancelled)	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 14-5.5-5	Violations of ticket-in ticket-out rules	\$500	\$500
68 IAC 15	Violation of accounting records and procedures rules that are not otherwise described within this schedule	Disciplinary letter	\$1,500
68 IAC 15-1-4.1	Violation of found cash or cash equivalent rules	\$500	\$500
68 IAC 15-2	Failure to record currency transaction reports or multiple transaction log	\$2,500	\$2,500
68 IAC 15-2-5	Failure to notify surveillance and obtain photo for multiple transaction log	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 15-5-2(d)	Violation of calculation of taxes, including RG-1 requirements	\$5,000	\$5,000
68 IAC 15-6-4	Vendor log: unlicensed vendor performing work on gaming floor and/or licensed vendor working on an expired license	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 15-6-4	Vendor log: licensed vendor performing work on gaming floor on vendor badge.	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 15-6-4	Vendor log: incomplete/illegible entries.	Disciplinary letter	\$100
68 IAC 15-10-4.1	Failure to report or failure to investigate variances	\$5,000	\$5,000
68 IAC 15-10-5	Failure to verify even exchange	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 15-12-3, 68 IAC 15-12-4	Failure to void table fill/credit	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
68 IAC 15-12-3, 68 IAC 15-12-4	Incorrect table fill/credit that is fully executed	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 15-13-3	Violation of manually paid jackpot procedures	\$1,000	\$1,000
68 IAC 17-1-2, 68 IAC 14-3-9, 68 IAC 14-3-10	Shipping violations	\$1,500	\$1,500

Violation of Sports Wagering Operational Standards				
IC 4-38-3-1(8); 68 IAC 27-11-1	Violation of sports wagering geolocation requirements	\$5,000	\$5,000	
IC 4-38-5-1	Failure to provide Commission data related to the conduct of sports wagering	\$5,000	\$5,000	
IC 4-38-5-4; IC 4-38-5-5; 68 IAC 27-7-3	Allowing wagers on a sports wagering unapproved event	Disciplinary letter – if the unapproved event was identified and wagers voided prior to event; \$500 to Certificate Holder and/or Mobile Operator; \$500 to each other responsible licensee if applicable if the unapproved event was not identified and wagers voided prior to event	\$500 to Certificate Holder and/or Mobile Operator; \$500 to other responsible licensee, if applicable	
IC 4-38-5-5	Sports wagering allowed on e-sports events	\$1,000 to each responsible licensee.	\$1,000 to each responsible licensee.	
IC 4-38-5-6	Unauthorized cancellation of wager	Disciplinary letter	\$1,500	
IC 4-38-5-8	Use of unapproved sports wagering device, platform, or other means of conducting sports wagering	\$5,000	\$5,000	
IC 4-38-9-1	Failure to conduct required employee background check	Disciplinary letter	\$1,500 for each violation	
IC 4-38-9-2	Failure to utilize commercially reasonable methods to maintain security of wagering data, customer data, and other confidential information from unauthorized access and dissemination	\$5,000	\$5,000	
IC 4-38-9-3	Failure to restrict prohibited wagers	\$1,500	\$1,500	
IC 4-38-9-5	Failure to cooperate with investigations into	\$5,000	\$5,000	

		T	1
	sports wagering		
	activities		
IC 4-38-9-6	Failure to report	\$5,000	\$5,000
	required information		
	related to sports		
	wagering activity		
68 IAC 11-1-3; 68 IAC	Use of unapproved	\$1,500	\$1,500
27-5	internal controls by		
	sports wagering		
	operator		
68 IAC 27-1-2 (16); 68	Violation on	\$5,000	\$5,000
IAC 27-12-1	prohibition of proxy		
	wagering		
68 IAC 27-2-11	Failure to withhold	\$1,000	\$1,000
	taxes on a wager		
68 IAC 27-2-11	Failure to submit	\$5,000	\$5,000
	required filings under		
	31 U.S.C. 5311		
68 IAC 27-5-2	Sports Wagering	Disciplinary letter for	\$500 for each violation
	change management	Level 1, \$1,500 for	for Level 1, \$1,500 for
	internal controls –	Level 2 and \$5,000 for	each violation for Level
	failure to notify	Level 3	2 and \$5,000 for each
			violation for Level 3
68 IAC 27-7; 68 IAC	Violations of patron	\$1,000	\$1,000
27-12	account and patron		
	wager rules		
68 IAC 27-8-1, 68 IAC	Violation of sports	\$1,000	\$1,000
2-6.5-1	wagering kiosk		
	approval requirements		
68 IAC 27-8-3; 68 IAC	Failure to report or	\$5,000	\$5,000
27-10-3	failure to investigate		
	variances		
68 IAC 27-9-2	Violation of calculation	\$5,000	\$5,000
	of taxes, including RG-		
	1 requirements		
68 IAC 27-10	Violation of accounting	\$1,000	\$1,000
	control rules that are	. ,	. ,
	not otherwise described		
	in this schedule		
68 IAC 27-12-1	Sports wagering	\$1,500	\$1,500
	allowing user to create	. ,	. ,
	duplicate accounts		
68 IAC 17-1-2, 68 IAC	Shipping violations of	\$1,500	\$1,500
14-3-9, 68 IAC 14-3-10	regulated sports	. ,	. ,
	wagering devices		
		Operational Standards	1
68 IAC 2-2-5.3	Failure to demonstrate	\$3,000	\$3,000
	skill, experience	+ - 1	+ - 1 + - +
	knowledge, and ability		
	necessary to supply the		
	necessary to suppry the		

	· ·	T	1
	goods or services		
	supplier seeks to		
	provide		
68 IAC 2-3-9	Supplier occupational	\$1,500	\$1,500
	licensee failure to		
	disclose		
68 IAC 2-3-9.5	Supplier occupational	\$1,500	\$1,500
	licensee gaming within		
	the state of Indiana		
68 IAC 15-6-4	Vendor log: unlicensed	\$1,500	\$1,500
	vendor performing		
	work on gaming floor		
	and/or licensed vendor		
	working on an expired		
	license		
68 IAC 15-6-4	Vendor log:	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
00 11 10 13 0-4	occupational licensee	Discipiliary letter	Ψ1,000
	performing work on		
	gaming floor on vendor		
	badge.		
68 IAC 15-6-4	Vendor log:	Disciplinary letter	\$100
08 IAC 13-0-4	•	Discipiniary letter	\$100
	incomplete/illegible entries.		
68 IAC 17-1-2, 68 IAC	Shipping violations	\$1,500	\$1,500
14-3-9, 68 IAC 14-3-10	Shipping violations	\$1,500	\$1,500
68 IAC 19	Violation of warehouse	\$10,000	\$10,000
08 IAC 19	rules	\$10,000	\$10,000
		ble Gaming Standards	
68 IAC 1-16-2; 68 IAC	Violation of	\$2,500	\$5,000
27-13-1		\$2,300	\$3,000
2/-13-1	responsible gaming toll free number		
IC 4 22 4 7. IC 4 25	Voluntary evaluaion	Digginlinger, letter fer	\$1,000 for analy
IC 4-33-4-7; IC 4-35-	Voluntary exclusion	Disciplinary letter for	\$1,000 for each
4-9; 68 IAC 6-2	program (VEP) audit	1 <sup>st</sup> Violation for VEP	violation for VEP's Not
		Not Flagged and for	Flagged and \$250 per
		Missing Identifiers and	violation for VEP's
		Incorrect Information	Missing Identifiers and
		on Account	Incorrect Information
IC 4 22 4 7 IC 4 27	G	D: 11 1 1 1	on Account
IC 4-33-4-7; IC 4-35-	Statewide exclusion	Disciplinary letter	\$250 for each omission
4-9; 68 IAC 6-1	audit	D: 11 1	0 1 1 1 1 0 0 700
IC 4-33-4-7; IC 4-35-	VEP: cash advance,	Disciplinary letter	2nd violation: \$1,500;
4-9; 68 IAC 6-1, 68	comps, check cashing		3rd violation: \$3,000;
IAC 6-2	privileges, extension of		4th violation(and all
	credit, direct mail and		subsequent violations):
	marketing, duplicate		\$4,500
	accounts, and failure to		
	notify		
68 IAC 6-3-4	VEP: jackpot payouts	\$5,000	\$5,000

IC 4-33-4-3, 68 IAC 6-	VEP: disclosure of	\$10,000 per breach	\$10,000 per breach
3-3, 68 IAC 6-3-4	confidentiality	instance, regardless of	instance, regardless of
	·	the number of total	the number of total
		disclosures	disclosures
68 IAC 27-7-11, IC 4-	Sports wagering	Disciplinary letter	2nd violation: \$1,500;
38-5-6; IC 4-38-3-1	prohibited participant:		3rd violation: \$3,000;
	failure to cancel and		4th violation(and all
	refund VEP wagers		subsequent violations):
			\$4,500
68 IAC 27-1-2, 68 IAC	Sports wagering	\$5,000	\$5,000
27-13-2, 68 IAC 27-14-	prohibited participant		
2(c), 68 IAC 6-3-4	allowed to place wagers	#1 000 C	<b>#1</b> 000 0 1
68 IAC 27-13-2; 68	Sports wagering	\$1,000 for each	\$1,000 for each
IAC 27-1-2(16); IC 4-	prohibited participant	omission; \$500 for each	omission; \$500 for each
38-3-1	audit: Internet self-	data discrepancy	data discrepancy
68 IAC 27-1-2(16); 68	restriction program Sports wagering	\$1,000 for each	\$1,000 for each
IAC 6-3; IC 4-38-3-1	prohibited participant	omission; \$500 for each	omission; \$500 for each
IAC 0-3, IC 4-36-3-1	audit: VEP	data discrepancy	data discrepancy
	audit. VEI	data discrepancy	data discrepancy
68 IAC 27-1-2(16); IC	Sports wagering	\$250 for each omission;	\$250 for each omission;
4-38-3-1	prohibited participant	Disciplinary letter for	Disciplinary letter for
	audit: statewide	each data discrepancy	each data discrepancy
	exclusion list	1st Audit: 25% of total	
		penalty	
68 IAC 27-13-4	Sports wagering	Disciplinary letter	\$1,000
	prohibited participant:		
60.71.71.71.71.71	received marketing	A4 500	<b>44.5</b> 00
68 IAC 27-12-3; 68	Violation of rules	\$1,500	\$1,500
IAC 27-13-5	regarding patron wager		
	limits and operator		
68 IAC 27-7-17	exclusion Violation of	\$5,000	\$5,000
00 IAC 2/-/-1/	Violation of commission advertising	\$5,000	\$5,000
	standards		
		Required Events	
68 IAC 1-5-1; 68 IAC	Failure to report	\$1,500	\$1,500
27-4-2	required information		
68 IAC 5; 68 IAC 1-13-	Violation of transfer of	\$10,000	\$10,000
1	ownership, debt		
	acquisition, or failure to		
	report interest in a		
	license		

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-1)

68 IAC 28-2-2 Assessment of Civil Penalty Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

- Sec. 2. For purposes of assessing civil penalties, the commission shall comply with the following when determining the violation number and the count of violations:
- (1) Only subsequent violations committed within six months from the date of the base violation shall be considered for determining whether subsequent violations have occurred.
- (2) The ordinal number of a violation shall accumulate as first, second, third, etc., for each independent violation assessed during a rolling six-month period.
- (3) When substantially similar violations are committed by a single, distinguishable act or failure to act, only one (1) of those violations may be subject to a civil penalty for that act. This subdivision is intended to avoid duplicating civil penalty assessment for violation of multiple provisions of the statute or rule that may be substantially similar or closely related. This subdivision is not intended to limit in any way civil penalty assessment for violations that are the result of more than one (1) distinguishable unrelated act or failure to act or a reoccurring violation.
- (4) When civil penalty assessment procedures outlined in subdivision (3) are being followed, the commission shall utilize the appropriate violation with the highest penalty listed on the schedule.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-2)

## 68 IAC 28-2-3 Penalty Mitigation.

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

- Sec. 3. The amount of a civil penalty may be adjusted downward to reflect particular mitigating factors. Factors that may be considered are the following:
- (1) The licensee's good faith efforts to comply or prevent the violation.
- (2) Existence of written policies governing occupational licensee conduct.
- (3) Cooperation by the licensee with the commission during the investigation process.
- (4) The licensee's history of compliance.
- (5) Remedial or corrective action taken by the licensee.
- (6) The licensee self-reporting the violation; however, reports of a violation identified and reported by a surveillance pursuant to 68 IAC 12-1-8(5)(H) shall not be considered self-reported for purposes of this Section.
- (7) Any other factor raised by the licensee for commission consideration as a mitigating to the violation.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-3)

## 68 IAC 28-2-4 Penalty Elevation

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

Sec. 4. (a) The amount of a civil penalty may be adjusted upward to reflect the following aggravating factors.

- (1) Willful or intentional misconduct.
- (2) The violation involved the failure of more than one occupational licensee to comply with the law or rule or identify and prevent the violation of the law or rule from occurring.
- (3) Repeat offense of a violation assessed at any of the commission's preceding two (2) quarterly business meetings. Violation of schedule items that already assign a corresponding increase to each subsequent violation shall not be subject to this subsection.
- (4) Obstruction or failure to comply with the commission's investigation.
- (5) Fraudulent conduct.
- (6) Whether the violation resulted in financial harm.
- (7) Failure to pay the full amount of any previously mitigated, agreed upon civil penalty.

- (8) Whether the violation negatively impacts the integrity or public trust of gaming in the state of Indiana.
- (b) Should an aggravating factor be identified, the corresponding civil penalty may be increased by any amount, up to and including five (5) times the schedule amount for each violation. However, the amount assessed shall not exceed the amounts outlined under IC 4-33-4-8 and IC 4-35-4-10.
- (c) The commission shall outline applicable aggravating factors in the notice described in Section 6 of this rule.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-4)

## 68 IAC 28-2-5 Assessment of Civil Penalty Not Required

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

Sec. 5. (a) Nothing in this article shall require the commission to assess a civil penalty for a violation.

- (b) The commission may initiate any of the following enforcement actions for a violation instead of or in addition to a civil penalty:
- (1) A disciplinary letter.
- (2) A license:
  - (A) denial;
  - (B) restriction;
  - (C) suspension;
  - (D) refusal to renew; or
  - (E) revocation.
- (4) Referral for criminal prosecution.
- (5) Referral to another appropriate agency.
- (6) Corrective action plan.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-5)

#### 68 IAC 28-2-6 Notification of Legal Recourse

Authority: IC 4-33-4-8; IC 4-35-4-10; IC 4-38-1-4

Affected: IC 4-33; IC 4-35; IC 4-38

- Sec. 6. (a) The commission shall notify in writing each licensee on whom a civil penalty is being assessed. This notification shall include the date and nature of the violation, including legal citation.
- (b) In response, the licensee may provide any mitigating factors for commission consideration. Pursuant to IC 4-22-2-19.6(b) and 68 IAC 13-1-18, the parties may enter into a settlement determine the civil penalty to be paid for a violation.

(Indiana Gaming Commission; 68 IAC 28-2-6)