- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Guard Reserve

Indiana Guard Reserve

IGR > Who is the IGR > 4th Brigade 4th Brigade

The “CAN-DO” Brigade

MAJ Charles Vowell
MAJ Charles Vowell

The Fourth Brigade, of the Indiana Guard Reserve is headquartered at the Indiana National Guard Armory in Franklin, Indiana. Currently, of the Four Brigades in the Indiana Guard Reserve, the Fourth Brigade has the largest contingent of troops.

The Area of Responsibility for the Fourth Brigade is the southeast quadrant of the state consisting of providing Armory Support for sixteen armories. They are: Anderson, Columbus, Connersville, Greenfield, Madison, Muncie, Muscatatuck, New Albany, Noblesville, North Vernon, Richmond, Salem, Scottsburg, Seymour, Shelbyville, and Winchester.

Fourth Brigade Command and Staff Personnel

Commander MAJ Charles Vowell  
Executive Officer LTC Gerald Smith  
Command Sergeant Major CSM John S. Kirchenbauer  
Chaplain LTC E. Wayne Edwards  
S-1 Personnel Officer (vacant)  
S-2 Intelligence LTC Danny Isaacs  
S-3 Operations CPT David Rhode  
S-4 Logistics MAJ Donald Worthington  
S-6 Information Resources (vacant)  
Medical Officer 1LT Stanna Kirchenbauer  

Other Area Commanders and Sergeants Major:

First Battalion - Anderson

Commander 1LT Mark Hobbs
Sergeant Major

Second Battalion - Columbus

Commander WO2 Willard East (Acting)
Sergeant Major

Third Battalion - New Albany

Commander CPT Charles Tankisley
Sergeant Major