- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Department of Transportation

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • 2015 State Map
  • trafficwise_widget
  • report_concern_widget

INDOT > Multimodal  > Railroad > Passenger Rail Service in Indiana Passenger Rail Service in Indiana

Hoosier State Passenger Rail

The Hoosier State Train and Amtrak's long-distance Cardinal services combine to provide daily roundtrip passenger rail service between Indianapolis and Chicago, which includes intermediate stops in Crawfordsville, Lafayette, Rensselaer and Dyer. For schedule information and to purchase tickets, please visit the Amtrak website.   

Existing passenger rail services and operations are controlled by Amtrak and the Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District (NCTD/South Shore).  Indiana also has several tourist trains that operate in the state.  For more information about individual train schedules, please contact the operator directly.


In addition to the Hoosier State and the Cardinal, Amtrak has two other services that travel through Indiana.  The Capital Limited runs daily between Chicago and Washington, DC with stops in Waterloo, Elkhart and South Bend, IN.  The Capitol Limited also has limited walk-on bike service.

The Lake Share Limited operates daily between Chicago and New York, with stops in South Bend, Elkhart and Waterloo, IN.  For more information about these services visit the Amtrak website at

INDOT has provided more than $1 million in financial assistance for capital improvements to the historic Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility. This infusion helped Amtrak renovate buildings used to expand repair services and secure jobs of Beech Grove and Indianapolis area residents.

NICTD/South Shore

The 1977 state General Assembly created NICTD to preserve service on the South Shore Railroad which serves St. Joseph, LaPorte, Porter and Lake counties. Service originates in South Bend, and has 20 stops before reaching Chicago, the final destination.  For more information, visit the NICTD website at

Midwest Regional Rail Initiative

The Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission is an interstate compact of Midwestern state legislators, governors and their designees who believe that preservation and expansion of the existing passenger rail system is essential.  For more information, please visit the website at

Midwestern states, through the Midwest Regional Rail Initiative have developed plans over the years to improve passenger rail service in this region. Indiana is one of eight member states which include Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska and Wisconsin.

Chicago – Detroit/Pontiac Rail Corridor

Indiana is working with the Michigan Department of Transportation, the Illinois Department of Transportation and the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) to improve passenger rail along the Chicago to Detroit/Pontiac corridor.  For more information about this effort, please visit the website at  

Chicago – Fort Wayne – Columbus

The City of Fort Wayne is spearheading the effort for passenger rail through this corridor.  Although their 2014 application for a Tier 1 Environmental study was not selected for an FRA grant, the group is working to identify future funding opportunities and to advance the environmental study.  The route would have Indiana stops in Gary, Valparaiso, Plymouth and Elkhart.  For more information on passenger rail efforts in the northern part of the state, please visit the website

Tourist Trains

For those interested in a bit of nostalgia, several tourist trains operate in Indiana.  For more information on scheduling and pricing, please contact the operator directly. INDOT does not have jurisdiction over tourist trains.

Contact Information

Venetta Keefe
Passenger Rail Contract Manager  
Indiana Department of Transportation
100 N. Senate Ave. IGCN 955
Indianapolis, IN 46204