

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

100 North Senate Avenue Room N758 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 PHONE: (317) 233-4713

Eric Holcomb, Governor Joe McGuinness, Commissioner

March 11, 2021

Dear Non-Metropolitan Local Official, & Key Transportation Stakeholder:

The purpose of this letter is to initiate a formal public comment period in regard to INDOT's Non-Metropolitan Local Officials Consultation Guidebook, specifically the effectiveness of the consultation process and any proposed changes.

23 CFR 450.210(b) states: "The State shall provide for non-metropolitan local official participation in the development of the long-range statewide transportation plan and the STIP. The State shall have a documented process(es) for consulting with non-metropolitan local officials representing units of general purpose local government and/or local officials with responsibility for transportation that is separate and discrete from the public involvement process and provides an opportunity for their participation in the development of the long-range statewide transportation plan and the STIP. Although the FHWA and the FTA shall not review or approve this consultation process(es), copies of the process documents(s) shall be provided to the FHWA and the FTA for informational purposes."

As part of this coordination effort and upon review of our non-metropolitan local officials consultation guidebook, INDOT would like to formally solicit comment on current procedures created to ensure non-metropolitan local officials are included in an established consultation process, affording them the opportunity to comment on and participate in the development of the long-range statewide transportation plan and the STIP. A copy of the Annual Program Development Process (APDP) is available for public comment and can be found at: http://www.in.gov/indot/2511.htm under the "Planning Products & Information" heading. You can also find the Local Public Agency Project Development Process Guidance Document for Local Federal Aid-Projects: https://www.in.gov/indot/files/LPA%20GUIDANCE%20DOCUMENT%20-%20June%202019.pdf that serves as a separate Annual Program Development Process developed for local (non-state jurisdictional) facilities.

The official public comment period will begin on March 15, 2021, and continue through Friday, May 14, 2021, for a period of 60 days. All comments regarding this consultation process may be submitted the INDOT Technical Planning & Programming Division, 100 North Senate Avenue, Room N758, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2216 (addressed to Stephanie Belch); or via our online comment form at: http://www.in.gov/indot/div/public/PlanProgProcComForm.htm.

INDOT appreciates this opportunity to engage our non-metropolitan public officials and welcome the opportunity to address any concerns you may have regarding the current consultation process as described in our Public Involvement Procedures document published on our website at: https://www.in.gov/indot/4103.htm. Should you have additional questions regarding this letter, please feel free to contact Stephanie Belch at (317) 233-2070.

The INDOT District Offices are a resource available to you should you have specific questions or perhaps areas of concern in regard to the non-metropolitan local officials consultation process. In non-metropolitan areas, INDOT District Offices conduct transportation planning and develop partial lists of specific projects to be advanced in the STIP. INDOT consults with the Regional and/or Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs), rural area local elected officials, local government agency representatives, special interest groups, and other key transportation stakeholders.





INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

100 North Senate Avenue Room N758 Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 PHONE: (317) 233-4713

Eric Holcomb, Governor Joe McGuinness, Commissioner

All six INDOT District Offices are listed below for your convenience and can be reached by visiting our interactive state district map at: https://entapps.indot.in.gov/dotmaps/districtmaps/; dialing 855-INDOT4U (463-6848); or by clicking the district email links below:

Crawfordsville District Office 41 West 300 North in Crawfordsville westcentralIndiana@indot.in.gov

Fort Wayne District Office 5333 Hatfield Road in Fort Wayne NEinformation@indot.in.gov

Greenfield District Office 32 South Broadway in Greenfield eastcentralin@indot.in.gov

LaPorte District Office
315 East Boyd Blvd in LaPorte
LaPorteDistrictCommunications@indot.in.gov

Seymour District Office 185 Agrico Lane in Seymour secommunications@indot.IN.gov

Vincennes District Office 3650 South U.S. Hwy 41 in Vincennes swincommunications@indot.in.gov

Sincerely,

Roy Nunnally, Director Technical Planning & Programming



