An amber alert has been issued. Click here to visit the Amber Alert site. MESSAGE


Agency Links Links

Main Content

Featured Content

2013 MS-ISAC Cyber Security Winners

On Oct. 22, First Lady Karen Pence and Suzanne Whitton, Indiana's 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year, presented Ashley, a 4th grader at Eagle Elementary school in Zionsville, with an award. Ashley was one of 13 students selected as a winner in the Center for Internet Security's 2013 Kids Safe Online Poster Contest.

Center for Internet Security Announces Winners of 2013 MS-ISAC Cyber Security Poster Contest

More than 2,000 K-12 students participated in annual awareness contest

EAST GREENBUSH, NY, June 6, 2013 – The Center for Internet Security (CIS), a national nonprofit dedicated to improving cyber security in the public and private sectors, today announced the winners of its 2013 Kids Safe Online Poster Contest. The Multi-State Information Sharing and Analysis Center (MS-ISAC), a division of CIS, conducts the annual contest, which encourages young people to use the Internet safely and securely and engages them in creating messages and images to communicate to their peers the importance of staying safe online. More than 2,000 students from 16 states and more than 100 schools participated in individual contests, and those winners were submitted to the MS-ISAC Contest. Thirteen entries were then selected and will appear in a 2014 calendar distributed nationally this fall by the MS-ISAC as part of National Cyber Security Awareness Month, recognized each October.

The contest was open to public, private and home-schooled students in grades K-12. The artwork and messages focused on themes such as preventing cyber bullying, practicing good cyber ethics, staying safe on social networking sites, and protecting against worms and viruses.

The winners of the 2013 MS-ISAC Cyber Security Poster Contest:

Indiana Eagle Elementary Ashley K
Michigan Lawton Elementary School Edward S
Michigan Slauson Middle School William M
Minnesota Transfiguration Catholic School Madeline S
Minnesota Transfiguration Catholic School Amy V
Mississippi Buckatunna School Makayla G
New York Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Nadia D
Ohio Warren County Alternative School Kyla A
Ohio Elder High School Ryan M
Ohio Van Wert High School Daniel T
Vermont Tuttle Middle School Alexandra E
West Virginia Crum Middle School Dena J
West Virginia Mason County Career Center Madison B

William Pelgrin, CIS President and CEO, and MS-ISAC Chair said, “Educating children about how to stay safe online is our collective responsibility, and this contest is a wonderful way to encourage that process through a fun and creative approach. Congratulations to all of the students who participated, and thank you to the teachers, schools and MS-ISAC members for making cyber security a priority.”

Thomas Duffy, Executive Director of the MS-ISAC said, “The posters we received demonstrated tremendous imagination and thoughtfulness by the students. Their work will help educate and inspire so many more children to use good cyber practices and stay safe on the Internet. I commend all the participants and everyone involved who helped make this happen.”

The 2014 poster contest will be launched in October as part of National Cyber Security Awareness Month. Details and entries forms will be posted on the MS-ISAC website.

About the Center for Internet Security
The Center for Internet Security (CIS) is a non-profit organization focused on enhancing cybersecurity readiness and response. CIS works through four complementary divisions - Security Benchmarks, Multi-State ISAC, Trusted Purchasing Alliance, and the Integrated Intelligence Center - all offering high-quality, timely products and services to help partners achieve security goals through expert guidance and cost-effective solutions. With a commitment to excellence through collaboration, CIS acts as a trusted central resource for cybersecurity in the private and public sectors. Learn more at or follow @CISecurity on Twitter.

For Immediate Release
Contact: Krista Montie
Director of Communications
Center for Internet Security