## INDIANA PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS COUNCIL



302 W. Washington Street, Room E-205 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2767 www.in.gov/ipac

Phone: (317) 232-1836 Fax: (317) 233-3599

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Association of Prosecutors Elects Richard J. "Ric" Hertel President

(INDIANAPOLIS - December 11, 2017) Ripley County Prosecutor Richard J. "Ric" Hertel was recently elected president of the Association of Indiana Prosecutors, Inc. for a one-year term, succeeding Hendricks County Prosecutor Patricia A. Baldwin.

"Our State is facing many extremely difficult challenges from a criminal justice perspective," said Hertel. "Prosecutors must continue to play a significant role in finding solutions and collaborating with other allies to protect our communities. The 'Association' provides guidance and direction to prosecutors throughout Indiana, and it is an honor and a privilege to represent and further these interests."

Prosecutor Hertel has served as the elected Prosecuting Attorney in Ripley County for nearly twenty years. He presents regularly to state, county and local police agencies on a variety of different topics, and has acted as faculty at the National Advocacy Center and for the National District Attorney's Association throughout the country.



Newly elected President Richard J. Hertel of the Association of Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys, Inc., recognizes immediate Past President Patricia A. Baldwin, Hendricks County Prosecuting Attorney. Hertel is Ripley County Prosecuting Attorney.

Other officers of the Association are Greene County

Prosecutor Jarrod Holtsclaw as president-elect, Tippecanoe County Prosecutor Patrick Harrington as vice president and Huntington County Prosecutor Amy C. Richison as secretary/treasurer. Elected to two-year terms on the Association board of directors are White County Prosecutor Robert Guy, Madison County Prosecutor Rodney Cummings, Decatur County Prosecutor Nathan Harter, Hamilton County Prosecutor Lee Buckingham and Boone County Prosecutor Todd Meyer. Elected to one-year terms are Lake County Prosecutor Bernard Carter, Vanderburgh County Prosecutor Nicholas Hermann, Lawrence County Prosecutor Michelle Woodward, Floyd County Prosecutor Keith Henderson and Franklin County Prosecutor Melvin F. Wilhelm.

The Association of Indiana Prosecutors, Inc., is a not-for-profit organization that serves to further law enforcement and to assist prosecutors in fulfilling their duties in the most efficient and professional manner.

END

Media contact: Connie Smith, Public Affairs Officer, 317-233-3923, cosmith1@ipac.in.gov