Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
The Indiana State Department of Health licenses agencies that provide (1) attendant care services; (2) homemaker services that assist with or perform household tasks, including housekeeping, shopping, laundry, meal planning and preparation, and cleaning; and; (3) companion services that provide fellowship, care, and protection for a client, including transportation, letter writing, mail reading, and escort services;that are provided to a client at the client's residence.
Statutory Changes for Criminal Background History
Effective: July 01, 2016
Pursuant to Senate Enrolled Act No. 350, Indiana will no longer recognize the use of a “limited criminal history.” Therefore, effective July 01, 2016 home health agencies and personal services agencies must obtain one of the following life time searches:
not more than three (3) business days after the date the employee begins to provide services in a patient’s temporary or permanent residence.
The Division of Acute Care, Home Health Program and Personal Services Agencies (Division) will not accept any limited criminal histories with any required submission to the Division effective July 01, 2016.
Indiana State Department of Health
Division of Acute Care
2 North Meridian Street, 4A
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 233-7474 (Acute Care Receptionist)
(317) 233-1325 (ISDH Main Switchboard)
(317) 233-7742 [Secretary]
Report a complaint regarding a health care facility
Individuals can call or email to make complaints about care provided at any licensed or certified Indiana health care providers or suppliers.
Report an incident regarding a health care facility
The Incident Report Form is for health care facilities to notify the Indiana State Department of Health of a reportable incident pursuant to the ISDH Reportable Unusual Occurrence Policy. The Incident Report Form is also for health care facility staff (nursing homes, intermediate care facilities, and hospice agencies) to report a reasonable suspicion of a crime against a resident pursuant to Federal regulations. This form is not to be used to file a complaint.
Select a topic below for instructions on how to submit the change to the department. Please notify the department of changes as they occur at the agency.
To apply for an initial license to operate a personal services agency complete the “Application For License To Operate A Personal Services Agency” (SF 53391) and submit with policies and procedures, $250.00 licensure fee and other required information to the Indiana State Department of Health.
Change of Ownership Application
To apply for a change of ownership for an existing agency complete the “Application For License To Operate A Personal Services Agency” (SF 53391) and submit with the policies and procedures, $250.00 licensure fee, applicable purchase agreement, and other required information to the Indiana State Department of Health.
Click on the applicable topic below for the instruction letter, forms, information, laws and rules for initial licensure or change of ownership application process. Review all applicable information prior to submission of application to the Department.
Select the “Initial Licensure Application Instruction Letter” for an initial licensure application and the “Change of Ownership Application Instruction Letter” for a change of ownership application.
Initial or Change of Ownership Application Form
To renew the agency’s license to operate a personal services agency complete the renewal application and submit with the $250.00 licensure fee to the Indiana State Department of Health. Click on the applicable topic below for the instruction letter and application form to complete the licensure renewal process.