Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Welcome to the homepage for the Indiana State Department of Health Home Health Agency Licensing and Certification Program. The Indiana State Department of Health licenses agencies that provide:
- nursing services;
- physical therapy;
- occupational therapy;
- speech therapy;
- medical social worker;
- home health aide;
- other therapeutic services
to the patient at the patient's temporary or permanent residence. The Indiana State Department of Health inspects state licensed home health agencies for quality of care to citizens of Indiana and to ensure compliance with state law and rules. The Indiana State Department of Health also monitors agencies, on behalf of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, for quality of care for all citizens in need of those services and to ensure compliance with federal regulations.
Statutory Changes for Criminal Background History
Effective: July 01, 2016
Pursuant to Senate Enrolled Act No. 350, Indiana will no longer recognize the use of a “limited criminal history.” Therefore, effective July 01, 2016 home health agencies and personal services agencies must obtain one of the following life time searches:
not more than three (3) business days after the date the employee begins to provide services in a patient’s temporary or permanent residence.
The Division of Acute Care, Home Health Program and Personal Services Agencies (Division) will not accept any limited criminal histories with any required submission to the Division effective July 01, 2016.
Indiana State Department of Health
Division of Acute Care
2 North Meridian Street, 4A
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 233-7474 (Acute Care Receptionist)
(317) 233-1325 (ISDH Main Switchboard)
(317) 233-7472 [Administrative Assistant]
Report a complaint regarding a health care facility
Individuals can call or email to make complaints about care provided at any licensed or certified Indiana health care providers or suppliers.
Report an incident regarding a health care facility
The Incident Report Form is for health care facilities to notify the Indiana State Department of Health of a reportable incident pursuant to the ISDH Reportable Unusual Occurrence Policy. The Incident Report Form is also for health care facility staff (nursing homes, intermediate care facilities, and hospice agencies) to report a reasonable suspicion of a crime against a resident pursuant to Federal regulations. This form is not to be used to file a complaint.
Select a topic below for instructions on how to submit the change to the department. Please notify the department of changes as they occur at the agency.
Select a topic below for information related to Branch questions.
Review all applicable information PRIOR to submission of application to the Department.
To apply for an initial license to operate a home health agency complete the “APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO OPERATE A HOME HEALTH AGENCY” (SF 4008) and submit with $250.00 licensure fee and other required information to the Indiana State Department of Health.
Forms to be completed and returned with the application:
FOR STATE LICENSE AND STATE LICENSE SEEKING MEDICAID:
Change of Ownership Application
To apply for a Change of Ownership for an existing agency complete the “Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency” (State Form 4008) and submit with the $250.00 licensure fee, applicable purchase agreement, and other required information to the Indiana State Department of Health.
For CHOW involving a Medicare CCN please complete the following forms:
Laws / Rules
To renew the agency’s license to operate a home health agency complete the renewal application and submit with the $250.00 licensure fee to the Indiana State Department of Health. In accordance with 410 IAC 17-11-3 an application for renewal of license shall be filed with the department at least sixty (60) days prior, but not sooner than ninety (90) days before, the expiration date of the current license.
If there are changes that occurred at your agency make sure all changes are made on the renewal application. Include all applicable information with the application. The application must be approved and licensure fee received PRIOR to issuance of license.
Submit the $250.00 licensure renewal fee with your renewal application (SF 48851). Make sure check or money order payable to the Indiana State Department of Health. Submit application and $250.00 renewal fee to:
Indiana State Department of Health
Attention: Cashier, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 7236
Indianapolis, IN 46207
Application for License to Operate a Home Health Agency (State Form 4008) Submit all documentation requested on application.
A Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) is a group of health quality experts, clinicians, and consumers organized to improve the care delivered to people with Medicare. QIOs work under the direction of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to assist Medicare providers with quality improvement and to review quality concerns for the protection of beneficiaries of the Medicare Trust Fund.
Registry changes effective January 14, 2008
Information on the registry for home health aides, certified nurse aides, and qualified medication aides.