Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
A home health aide is a person working for a home health agency or hospice that performs home health services ordered by a licensed physician, licensed chiropractor, licensed podiatrist, or licensed optometrist. The home health aide must successfully complete a home health agency's competency evaluation.
Home Health Agencies and Hospices are responsible for establishing their own policies on qualifications and needed training. State government does not certify training sites or the syllabus of each individual agency or organization under contract to provide training services.
The ISDH Home Health Aide Registration Program ensures that home health aides meet the qualifications for a home health aide and are appropriately registered on the Aide Registry. The program administers the Aide Registry.
Statutory Changes for Criminal Background History
Effective: July 01, 2016
Pursuant to Senate Enrolled Act No. 350, Indiana will no longer recognize the use of a “limited criminal history.” Therefore, effective July 01, 2016 home health agencies and personal services agencies must obtain one of the following life time searches:
not more than three (3) business days after the date the employee begins to provide services in a patient’s temporary or permanent residence.
The Division of Acute Care, Home Health Program and Personal Services Agencies (Division) will not accept any limited criminal histories with any required submission to the Division effective July 01, 2016.
Indiana State Department of Health
Division of Healthcare Education and Quality
2 North Meridian Street, 4B
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 233-7442 (Acute Care Receptionist)
(317) 233-1325 (ISDH Main Switchboard)
Aide Registry Program Manager
(317) 233-7750 [Fax]
Home Health Agency Licensing and Certification Program Manager
(317) 233-7472 [Administrative Assistance]
Report a complaint regarding a health care facility
Individuals can call or email to make complaints about care provided at any licensed or certified Indiana health care providers or suppliers.
Report an incident regarding a health care facility
The Incident Report Form is for health care facilities to notify the Indiana State Department of Health of a reportable incident pursuant to the ISDH Reportable Unusual Occurrence Policy. The Incident Report Form is also for health care facility staff (nursing homes, intermediate care facilities, and hospice agencies) to report a reasonable suspicion of a crime against a resident pursuant to Federal regulations. This form is not to be used to file a complaint.
Home Health Aide Registration Application
This form allows a home health aide to apply for registration by paper.
Home Health Aide Registration Renewal Application
This form allows a home health aide to renew their registration by paper.
A Home Health Aide must meet the following requirements:
Federally certified home health agencies are required to meet the provisions of CFR 484.36 when using home health aides in the agency. Training programs must consist of classroom and supervised practical training totaling at least 75 hours with at least 16 hours devoted to supervise practical training. The individual being trained must complete at least 16 hours of classroom training before beginning the supervised practical training.
Home health agencies that are only state licensed are required to meet standards identified in 410 IAC 17-14-1(g though l). The training of home health aides pursuant to a continuing education program must be performed by or under the general supervision of a registered nurse. The home health agency maintains sufficient documentation to demonstrate that the continuing education requirements are met. The home health agency is responsible for ensuring that, prior to patient contact, the individuals who furnish home health aide services on its behalf meet the requirements of the state rule.
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (PLA) Online Licensing System is used for the aide certification and registration programs. Individuals renew their aide certification and registration through the PLA Online Licensing System. Health care facilities and agencies can search the online system to verify an individual’s certification or registration.