Probation > About > Advisory Board Advisory Board Members

Probation Officers Advisory Board

The Probation Officers Advisory Board consists of Indiana probation officers elected from 17 districts, as well as 6 probation officers appointed by the Chief Justice.  The Advisory Board meets quarterly and works on issues relevant to improving probation services.  In particular, the Advisory Board has worked to modernize Indiana’s risk and needs assessment instruments, published a Best Practices Guide, and has worked to integrate evidence-based practices into educational programs.  In addition, the Probation Officers Advisory Board annually awards “The Order of Augustus” to an outstanding Indiana probation officer.

District 1 -  Angela McFerrin
Lake County Probation- Adult

District 2 -  Steve Eyrick
LaPorte County Probation


District 3 - Jesse Carlton
St. Joseph County Probation- Adult

District 4 - Cheryl Bartnick
Allen Superior Court-Family Rel.


District 5 - Brandy Tibbs
Huntington County Probation

District 6 -  Melonie Coan
Grant County Probation


District 7 -  Tony New
Madison County Probation

District 8 -  Deanna Moell
Tippecanoe County Probation


District 9 -  Miranda Polston
Morgan County Probation

District 10 -  Jalaina King
Marion County Probation


District 11 -  Matthew Brothers
Marion County Probation

District 12 -  Kory George
Wayne County Probation


District 13 -  Mary Miller
Vigo County Probation

District 14 -  Shannon Chambers
Johnson County Probation


District 15 - Janice Wade
Vanderburgh County Probation

District 16 - Jennifer Lampert
 Dubois County Probation


District 17 -  Steve Kelly
Dearborn County Probation


At Large Board Members:

Stacy Beam
Noble County Probation

John Thorstad
Starke County Probation


Troy Hatfield, Chair
Monroe County Probation

Sarah Lochner
Wabash County Probation


Steve Meyer
Porter County Adult Probation

Dustin Delong
Howard County Probation


CJ Miller, POPAI Liaison
Hamilton County Probation



The Order of Augustus

The Order of Augustus is an honorary award presented annually by the Probation Officers Advisory Board of the Judicial Conference of Indiana to those persons in the profession of probation whose commitment and personal dedication have exemplified the ideals and philosophy of John Augustus, the undisputed “Father of Probation.”  The creed of John Augustus was “To raise the fallen, reform the criminal, and so far as my humble abilities would allow, to transform the abode of suffering and misery to the home of happiness.”

1993- Dr. Valorous "Val" B. Clear
Madison County Court Services

1994- Kenneth E. Watson
Allen County Court Services


1995- Neil T. Hannon
Porter County Probation

1996- Virgil L. Seay
Floyd County Probation


1997- Thomas N. Frederick
St. Joseph County Juvenile

1998- K. Allan Henson
Vanderburgh Circuit Court


1999- Leonard E. Simpson
Marion Superior Court Probation

2000- Denise Z. Ware
Clark Circuit Probation


2001- R. Todd McCormack
Hendricks Superior Court

2002- Amber Stirrup-Leonard
Lawrence County Probation


2004- Linda Brady
Monroe County Probation

2005- Suzanne Miller
Johnson County Juvenile Probation


2006- Eric Zimmerman
Allen County Adult Probation

2007- Susan Allen
Monroe County Probation


2008- Wayne Addison
Hancock County Probation

2009- Stephen T. Eyrick
LaPorte Superior #4 Probation


2010- Donald J. Travis
Howard County Probation

2011- Joe S. Hooker
Tippecanoe County Probation


2012- Robert Chamness
Wayne County Probation

2013- Susan Lightfoot
Henry County Probation

2014- Christina Ball
Marion County Probation