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Chairman Steuerwald called the meéting to order at 10:10 a.m.

Regulation of C.riminal History Providers

Andrew Hedges, Staff Attorney for the Committee, described the features of LSA’s prepared
draft concerning criminal history providers. (See Document 20131232[chproviders].wpd in
Exhibit A.)

Luke Rollins, Senior Manager, State Government Affairs-Midwest, Reed Elsevier Inc.,
answered questions about the proposed language.
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House in Indianapolis, Indiana. Requests for hard copies may be mailed to the Legislative Information Center, Legislative
Services Agency, West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2789. A fee of $0.15 per page and mailing costs will be
charged for hard copies.
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Danielle Coulter, Deputy Director of Governmental Affairs of the Association of Indiana
Counties (AIC), addressed the committee on behalf of the AIC and the Clerks Association on
a list of concerns regarding HEA 1033. (Exhibit B)

Sex Offender Registry

Andrew Hedges presented language (Document # 20130106[ver2].wpd) concerning the
management and monitoring of sex offenders. (Exhibit C)

Matt Light, Chief Counsel and David Miller, Legislative Director, Attorney General’s Office,
described recent court opinions (Exhibits D and E) and discussed issues concerning the sex
offender registry.

Steve Luce, Executive Director, Indiana Sheriff’'s Association, and Detective Jeff Shimkus,
Detective, Alien County Sheriff's Department, spoke about the proposed changes shown in
Document # 20130106[ver2].wpd in Exhibit C. Director Luce stated the cost of the sex
registry software is $300,000 per year.

Larry Landis proposed adding language (See Exhibit F.) to Document # 20130106[ver2].wpd.

- Mr. Landis recommended petitioning the court to have all information removed from the sex
offender registry once the person completes the court-ordered term on the registry. Detective
Shimkus expressed his concern that law enforcement needed to be able to keep the
information if the offender was to be removed from the registry or website.

The committee agreed to include the language that Mr. Landis proposed and to vote on final
language at the next meeting on October 25",

The meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.
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Specifies that the clerk of a court is not a "criminal history provider”. Permits a criminal history
provider to provide information relating to an infraction, an arrest, or a charge that did not result
in a conviction. (Under current law, only information that relates to a conviction may be
provided.) Provides that a criminal history provider may provide certain information concerning
expunged, restricted, or reduced convictions to a person required by law to obtain this
information. Specifies that a criminal history provider does not violate the requirement to provide
current information if the public records used to obtain the information are not current. Provides
that a violation of these requirements is a deceptive act that is actionable by the attorney general,
and provides a defense for an action that is permissible under the fair credit reporting act.
Specifies that the five year period for infractions begins on the later of: (1) July 1,2012; or (2)
the date the judgment was satisfied.

SECTION 1.1C 24-4-18-1, AS ADDED BY P.L.69-2012, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED
TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2013]: Sec. 1. (a) As used in this chapter,
"criminal history information” means information:
(1) concerning a criminal conviction in Indiana; and
(2) available in records kept by a clerk of a circuit, superior, city, or town court
with jurisdiction in Indiana.
(b) The term consists of the following;:
(1) ldentifiable descriptions and notations of arrests, indictments, informations,
or other formal criminal charges. ,
(2) Information, including a photograph, regarding a sex or violent offender (as
defined in 1C 11-8-8-5) obtained through sex or violent offender registration
under 1C 11-8-8. »
(3) Any disposition, including sentencing, and correctional system intake,
transfer, and release.
(4) A photograph of the person who is the subject of the information described in
subdivisions (1) through (3).
(c) The term includes fingerprint information described in 1C 10-13-3-24(f).
SECTION 2.1C 24-4-18-2, AS ADDED BY P.L.69-2012, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED
TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 2. (a) As used in this section,
"criminal history provider” means a person or an organization that assembtes compiles a
criminal history reports report and either uses the report or provides the report to a person or an
organization other than a criminal justice agency, or a law enforcement agency, or another
criminal history provider. The term does not include the clerk of a circuit, superior, city, or
town court.
{b) The term does not include the following:
(1) A criminal justice agency.
(2) A law enforcement agency.

(OBDAR)/106 (1y October 16, 2012 (12:31pm)
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(3) Any:
(A) person connected with or employed by:
(i) a newspaper or other periodical issued at regular intervals and
having a general circulation; or
(ii) a‘recognized press association or wire service;
as a bona fide owner, editorial or reportorial employee, who receives
income from legitimate gathering, writing, editing, and interpretation of
news;
(B) person connected with a licensed radio or television station as an
owner or official, or as an editorial or reportorial employee who receives
income from legitimate gathering, writing, editing, interpreting,
announcing, or broadcasting of news; or ,
(C) other person who gathers, records, compiles, or disseminates:
(i) criminal history information; or
(ii) criminal history reports;
solely for journalistic, academic, governmental, or legal research
purposes.

SECTION 3.1C 24-4-18-3, AS ADDED BY P.L.69-2012, SECTION 1, 1S AMENDED
TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 3. (a) As used in this séction,
"criminal history report" means criminal history information that has been compiled primarily
for the purposes of evaluating a particular person's eligibility for:

h eharacter; or

A3 (1) employment in Indiana;

B) (2) housing in Indiana; or

€€} (3) participation i any activity or transactron- a license, permit, or
occupational certification issued under state law; or

(4) insurance, credit, or another financial service, where the insurance,
credit, or financial service is to be provided to a person residing in Indiana.

(b) The term does not include information compiled primarily for the purpose of
journalistic, academic, governmental, or legal research.

(c) The term includes information described in subsection (a) and not excluded
under subsection (b), regardless of the geographical location of the person who compiled
the information.

SECTION 4. 1C 24-4-18-6, AS ADDED BY P.L.69-2012, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED
TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 6. fa) A eriminat history provider
may provide only eriminal history information that refates to a conviction:

tb) (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a criminal history provider may not
provide information relating to the following;:

H An mfraction; an arrest; or a charge that did not result i a convictron:

(OBDAR)/106 , 2 October 16, 2012 (12:31pm)
20131232[chproviders].wpd .



€ (1) A record that has been expunged by:

(A) marking the record as expunged; or

(B) removing the record from public access.
) (2) A record that is restricted by a court or the rules of a court and is marked
as restricted from public disclosure or removed from public access.
) (3) A record indicating a conviction of a Class D felony if the Class D felony
conviction:

(A) has been entered as a Class A misdemeanor conviction; or

(B) has been converted to a Class A misdemeanor conviction.
) (4) A record that the criminal history provider knows is inaccurate.

(b) A criminal history provider may provide information described in subsection

(a)(1) through (a)(3) if the person requesting the ecriminal history report is:
(1) required by state or federal law to obtain the information; or
(2) the state or a political subdivision and the information will be used solely
in connection with the issuance of a public bond.

SECTION 5. 1C 24-4-18-7, AS ADDED BY P.L.69-2012, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED
TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 7. (a) A criminal history provider
may not knowingly include criminal history data information in a criminal history report if the
criminal history data information has not been updated to fails to reflect material changes 1o
the official record occurring sixty (60) days or more before the date the criminal history report is
delivered.

(b) A criminal history provider that provides a criminal history report and fails to
reflect material criminal history.information does not violate this section if the material
criminal history information was not contained in the official record at least sixty (60) days
before the date the criminal history report is delivered. :

SECTION 6. 1C 24-4-18-8 [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]. Sec. 8. (ay The attorney generat
may bring an action to enforece a viotatton of section 6 or 7 of this chapter: in addition to any
mjunctive or other retief; the attorney generat may recover a etvil penatty of>

1) not more than one thousand doltars ($+,000) for a first viotation; and
) not more than five thousand dotars (55;600) for a second or subsequent
by Any person injured by a viotatron of seetion 6 or 7 of this chapter may bring an
actron to recover:
h) the greater of:
) actuat damages; meludmg consequenttal damages; or
(B} tqutdated damages of five hundred dottars (5566); and
2) court costs and reasonable attorney’s fees:

(a) A violation of section 6 or 7 of this chapter is a deceptive act that is actionable

mmﬁw under 1C 24-5-0.5-4( i
-5-0.5. However, it is a defense to an action under this section that the action is

(OBDAR)/106 3 October 16,2012 (12:31pm)
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1 permissible under the fair credit reporting act (15 USC Sec. 1681 ef seq.).

2 (b) This section does not prohibit an individual from bringing an action on the

3 individual's own behalf under the fair credit reporting act (15 USC Sec. 1681 ef seq.).

4 SECTION 7. IC 34-28-5-16, AS ADDED BY P.L.69-2012, SECTION 3, 1S AMENDED
5 TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 16. (a) This chapter applies only
6 to a person found to have committed an infraction.

7 (b) Five (5) years after the later of:

8 (1) July 1,2012; or

9 (2) the date a person satisfies a judgment imposed on a person for the violation
10 of an infraction;

I the clerk of the court shall prohibit the disclosure of information related to the infraction to a

12 noncriminal justice organization or an individual.

13 (c) If a person whose records are restricted under this section brings a civil action that

14 might be defended with the contents of the records, the defendant is presumed to have a complete

15 defense to the action.

16 (d) For the plaintiff to recover in an action described in subsection (c), the plaintiff must
17 show that the contents of the restricted records would not exonerate the defendant.

18 (e) In an action described in subsection (c), the plaintiff may be required to state under

19 oath whether the disclosure of records relating to an infraction has been restricted.

20 (f) In an action described in subsection (c), if the plaintiff denies the existence of the

21 records, the defendant may prove the existence of the records in any manner compatible with the

22 law of evidence.

23 (g) A person whose records have been restricted under this section may legally state on

24 an application for employment or any other document that the person has not been adjudicated to

25 have committed the infraction recorded in the restricted records.

26

(OBDAR)/106 4 October 16, 2012 (12:31pm)
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HOUSE ENROLLED ACT No. 1033

AN ACT o amend the Indiana Code concerny canenal s snd procedine
Be i enacted by the General Assembly of the Stare of Indiana:

SECTION 1.1C 24-4-1R1SADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS
ANEW CHAPTER TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY
1.2013]:

Chapter 18. Criminal History Providers

Sec. 1. (a) As wsed in this chapter. “criminal history
information” means information:

(1) concerning a criminal conviction in Indiana: and
(2) available in records kept by a clerk of a court with
jurisdiction in Indiana.

(b) The term consists of the following:

(1) ldentifiable descriptions and notations of arrests.
indictments. informations. or other formal criminal charges.
(2) Information, including a photograph, regarding a sex or
violent offender (as defined in IC 1]-8-8-5) obtained through
sex or violent offender registration under 1C 11-8-8.

{3) Any disposition, including sentencing, and correctional
system intake, transfer, and release.

(4) A photograph of the person who is the subject of the
information described in subdivisions (1) through (3).

(c) The term includes fingerprint information described in
1C 10-13-3- 24¢f).

Sec. 2. (a) As used in this section. "criminal history provider”

HEA 1033 — CC 1+



3%

means a person o1 an organization that assembles criminal history
reports and either uses the report or provides the report 1o a
person or an organization other than a criminal justice agency or
law enforcement agency.

(b) The term does not include the following:

(1) A criminal justice agency.
(2) A law enforcemnent agency.
(3) Any:
{A) person connected with or employed hy:
(i) a newspaper or other periedical issued at regular
intervals and having a gencral circulation; or
(ii} a recognized press association or wire service:
as a bona fide owner. editorial or reportorial employee.
who receives income from legitimate gathering. writing.
cditing. and interpretation of news:
(B) person connected with a licensed radio or television
station as an owner or official, or as an editorial or
reportorial employee who receives income from legitimate
gathering. writing. cditing, interpreting. announcing. or
broadcasting of news: or
(C) other person who gathers, records. compiles. or
disseminates:
(i) criminal history information: or
(ii) criminal history reports;
solcly for journalistic purposes.

Sec. 3. As used in this section, "criminal history report” means
criminal history information that has been compiled for the
purposcs of cvaluating a particular person's:

(1) character: or
(2) cligibility for:
(A) employment:
{B) housing: or
{C) participation in any activity or transaction.

Sec. 4. As used in this section, " criminal justice agency' has the
meaning set forth in 1C 10-13-3-6.

Sec.5. As used in this section, "law enforcement agency " has the
meaning set forth in 1C 10-13-3-10.

Sec. 6. (a) A criminal history provider may provide only
criminal bistory information that relates to a conviction.

(b) A criminal history provider may not provide information
relating to the following:

(1) An infraction, an arrest, or a charge that did not result in

HEA 1033 — CC 1+
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a conviction.
(2) A record that has been expunged.
(3) A record that is restricted by 2 court or the rules of a
court.
(4) A record indicating 2 conviction of a Class D felony if the
Class D felony conviction:
(A) has heen entered as 2 Class A misdemeanor conviction:
or
(B) has been converted to a Class A misdemeanor
conviction.
(5} A record that the criminal history provider knows is
inaccurate.

See. 7. A criminal history provider may not include criminal
history data in a criminal history report if the crimninal history -
data has not been updated to reflect changes to the official record
occurring sixty (60) davs or more before the date the criminal
history report is delivered.

Sec. 3. (a) The attorney general may bring an action to enforce
a violation of section 6 or 7 of this chapter. In addition to any
injunctive or other relief, the attorney general may recover a civil
penalty of:

(1) not ‘more than one thousand dollars (S51.000) for a first
violation: and

(2) not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) for a second
or subsequent violation.

(b) Any person injured by a violation of section 6 or 7 of this
chapter may bring an action 1o recover:

(1) the greater of:
(A) actual damages, including consequential damages; or
(B) liguidated damages of five hundred dollars ($500): and
(2) court costs and reasonable attorney’s fees.

SECTION 2.1C 34-28-5-151S ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
ASANEWSECTIONTOREAD ASFOLLOWS |[EFFECTIVEJULY
1. 2012]: Sec. 15. (a) If a person alleged to have violated a statute
defining an infraction:

(1) is not prosecuted or if the action against the person is
dismissed;
(2) is adjudged not to have committed the infraction; or
(3) is adjudged to have committed the infraction and the
adjudication is subsequently vacated;
the court in which the action was filed shall order the clerk not to
disclose or permit disclosure of information related to the

HEA 1033 — CC 1+
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infraction to a noncriminal justice organization or an individual.
{b) If a court fails to order the court to restrict information
related to the infraction under subsection (a). the person may
petition the court to restrict disclosure of the records related to the
infraction to a noncriminal justice organization or an individual.
(¢) A petition under subsection (b) must be verified and filed in:
(1) the court in which the action was filed. for a person
described in subsection (a)(1): or
(2) the court in which the irial was held. for a person
described in subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3).
(d) A petition under subsection (b) must be filed not carlier
than:
(1) if the person is adjudged to have not committed the
infraction. thirty (30) days after the date of judgment:
{2) if the person’s adjndication is vacated. three hundred
sixty-five (365) days after:
(A) the order vacating the adjudication is final. if thereis
no appeal or the appeal is terminated before entry of an
opinion or memorandum decision: or
(B) the opinion or memorandum decision vacating the
adjudication is certified; or
(3) if the person is not prosecuted or the action is dismissed.
thirty (30) days after the action is dismissed. if a new action is
not filed.
(¢) A petition under subsection (b) must set forth:
(1) the date of the alleged violation;
(2) the violation:
(3) the date the action was dismissed, if applicable:
(4) the date of judgment, if applicable;
(5) the date the adjudication was vacated. if applicable;
(6) the basis on which the adjudication was vacated, if
applicable;
{7) the law enforcement agency emploving the officer who
issued the complaint, if applicable;
(8) any other known identifving information, such as the name
of the officer, case number. or court cause number;
(9) the date of the petitioner's birth; and
(10) the petitioner's Social Security number.
() A copy of a petition under subsection (b) shall be served on
the prosecuting attorney.
{g) If the prosecuting attorneyv wishes to oppose a petition under
subsection {b), the prosecuting attorney shall, not later than thirty

HEA 1033 — CC 1+
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(30) days after the petition is filed. file a notice of opposition with
the court setting forth reasons for opposing the petition. The
proseculing attorney shall attach to the notice of opposition a
certified copv of anyv documentary evidence showing that the
petitioner is not entitled to relief. A copy of the notice of opposition
and copies of any docnmentary evidence shall be served on the
petitioner in accordance with the Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure.
The court may:
(1) summarily grant the petition:
(2) set the matter for hearing: or
(3) summarily deny the petition. if the conrt determines that:
(A) the petition is insufficient: or
(B) based on documentary evidence submitted by the
prosecuting attorney. the petitioner is not entitled to have
access to the petitioner’s records restricted.

th) If anotice of opposition is filed under subsection (g) and the
court does not summarily grant or summarily deny the petition.
the court shall set the matter for a hearing.

(i) After a hearing is held under subsection (h). the court shall
grant the petition filed under subsection (b) if the person is entitled
to relief under subsection (a).

(j) H the court grants a petition filed under subsection (b), the
court shall order the clerk not 1o disclose or permit disclosure of
information related to the infraction to a noncriminal justice
organization or an individual.

SECTION 2.1C 24-28-5-161S ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
ASANEWSECTIONTOREAD ASFOLLOWS[EFFECTIVEIULY
1.20]2}: Sec. 16. (a) This chapter applies only to a person found to
have committed an infraction.

(b) Five (5) vears after the date a person satisfies a judgment
imposed on a person for the violation of an infraction. the clerk of
the court shall prohibit the disclosure of information related to the
infraction to a noncriminal justice organization or an individual.

(c) i a person whose recerds are restricted wnder this section
brings a civil action that might be defended with the contents of the
records, the defendant is presumed to have a complete defense to
the action.

(d) For the plaintiff to recover in an action described in
subsection (c). the plaintiff must show that the contents of the
restricted records would not exonerate the defendant.

(e) In an action described in subsection (¢), the plaintiff mav be
required to state under oath whether the disclosure of records

HEA 1033 — CC 1~
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relating to ap infraction has been restricted.

() In an action described in subsection (¢). if the plaintiff denies
the existence of the records. the defendant may prove the existence
of the records in any manner compatible with the law of evidence.

{2) A person whose records have been restricted under this
section may legally state on an application for employment or any
other document that the person has not been adjudicated to bave
committed the infraction recorded in the restricted records.

SECTION 4 1C 35-38-8-7. AS ADDED BY P.L 1942011,
SECTION2.1S AMENDED TOREAD AS FOLLOWS [EFVECTIVE
JULY 1. 2012 Sec. 7. (a) If a court orders a person’s records 10 be
resincted under this chapter. the person may lecally s1ate on an
application for employment or any other documient that the person has
not been arresied for or convicted of the felony or nusdemeanor
recorded i the restcied records.

(b) An emplover may not ask an employvec. contract cnployvee.
or applicant whether the person's criminal records have been
sealed or restricted. An employer who vielates this subsection
commits a Class B infraction.

SECTION 5. JC 33-50-2-1 1S AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1. 2012]: Sec. 1. (a) As used in this
chapter. "Class 1D Jelony conviction” means a conviction of a Class D
felony in Indiana and a convietion. in any other jurtsdiction at any time.
withrespect to which the convicted person mighthave beenimpnisoned
for more than one (1) vear. However. 1t does not include a conviction
with respect to which the person has been pardoned. or a conviction of
a Class A misdemeanor entered under 1C 35-38-1-1.5 or secuon 7(b)
or 7(c) of this chapter.

(b} As used m this chapter, "felony conviction” means a conviction.
m any jurisdiction at anv ime. with respect 1o which the convicred
person might haxe been mmpnsoned for more than one (1) vear.
However, 1t does not include a conviction with respect to which the
person has been pardoned. or a conviction of a Class A misdemeanor
under section 7(b) of this chapter.

{c) As used m this chapter, "minimum sentence” means:

(1) for murder. forty-five (43) vears:

(2) for a Class A felony. twenty (20) vears:
(3) for a Class B fclony. six (6) years:

(4) for a Class C felony. two (2) years: and
(5) for a Class D felony. one-half (1 2) year.

SECTION 6. 1C 35-50-2-7. AS AMENDED BY P.L.71-2005.
SECTION 10.1SAMENDED TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
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JULY 1. 2012]: Scee. 7. tay A person who conmuis a Class D felony
shall be imprisoned for a fixed term of benwveen six (6) months and
three t3) vears. with the advisory sentence bemnge one and one-half (1
1 2) vears. In addition. the person may be fined noi more than ten
thousand dollars ($10.000).

{b) Notwithstanding subscction (a). i a person has commntied a
Class D felonv. the court may enter judgment of conviction of a Class
A misdemeanor and sentence accordingly. However. the court shall
enter a judgment of conviction of a Class D felonv i

{1} the court tinds that:
(A) the person has committed a prior. unrelated felony for
which judgment was entered as a conviction of a Class A
misdemeanor: and
(B) the prior felony was conymtied less than three (3) vears
betore the second felony was comnutied:
t2) the offense 1s domestuc battery as a Class D felony under
IC 354221 3 or
{3) the offense is possession  of  child  pomography
(}C 35-42-4-4(c)).
The court shall enmter in the record. in detail. the reason for 1ts action
whenever it exercises the power to enter judgment of conviction of a
Class A nmisdemeanaor granted in this subsection

(c) Notwithstanding subsection (a). the sentencing court may
convert a Class D felony conviction to a Class A misdemeanor
conviction if, after receiving a verified petition as described in
subsection (d) and after conducting a hearing of which the
prosecuting attorney has been notified. the court makes the
following findings:

(1) The person is not a sex or violent offender (as defined in
1C 11-8-8-5).
(2) The person was not convicted of a Class D felony that
resulted in bodily injury to another person.
t3) The person has not been convicted of perjury under
1C 35-44-2-1 or official misconduct under 1C 35-44-1-2.
(4) At least three (3) vears have passed since the person:
(A) completed the person’s sentence; and
(B) satisfied any other obligation imposed on the person as
part of the sentence;
for the Class D felony.
(5) The person has not been convicted of a felony since the
person:
(A) completed the person's sentence: and
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(B) satisfied any other obligation imposed on the person as
part of the sentence:

for the Class D felony.

{6) No criminal charges are pending against the person.

(d) A petition hiled nnder subsection (¢) must be verified and set

forth:
(1) the crime the person has been convicted of:
(2) the date of the conviction;
(3) the date the person completed the person’s sentence;
(4) any obligations imposed on the person as part of the
sentence:
(5) the date the obligations were satisfied: and
(6) a verified statement that there are no criminal charges
pending against the person.

(¢} If a person whose Class D felony conviction has been
converted to a Class A misdemeanor conviction under subsection
(¢)is convicted of a felony within five (5) vears after the conversion
under subsection (c). a prosecuting attoyney may petition a court
to convert the person’s Class A misdemeanor conviction back to a
Class D felony conviction.

SECTION 7. [EFFECTIVE JULY 1. 2012] (a) As used in this
SECTION, "legislative council” refers to the legislative council
established by 1C 2-3-1.1-1.

(b) As used in this SECTION, "study committee" means either
of the following:

(1) A statutory committee established under 1C 2-5.
(2) An interim study committee.

(¢) The legislative council is urged to assign the following topics

to 2 study committee during the 2012 legislative interim:
(1) The provisions of 1C 24-4-18, as added bv this act,
concerning criminal history providers.
(2) The need for any Jegislation to amend 1C 24-4-18, as added
by this act, concerning criminal history providers before
1C 24-4-18 takes effect on July 1, 2013.

(d) I the topics described in subsection (c) are assigned to a
study commitiee, the study committee shall issue a final report to
the legislative council containing the study committee’s findings
and recommendations, including any recommended legislation
concerning the topics, in an electronic format under 1C 5-14-6 not
Iater than November 1, 2012.

(e) This SECTION expires December 31. 2012.
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Speaker of the House of Representatives

President ol the Senaie

President Pro Tempore

Governor of the State of Indiana

Date: Tume:
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Makes certain changes to the sex or violent offender registration system. Prepared for the
Criminal Law and Sentencing Policy Committee. For discussion purposes only. Version 2.

SECT]ON 1.1C 11-8-8-4.5, AS AMENDED BY P.L.72-2012, SECTION 1, IS
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2013]: Sec. 4.5. (a) Except as

provided in section 22 of this chapter, as used in this chapter, "sex offender” means a person

convicted of any of the following offenses:
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(1) Rape (1C 35-42-4-1).
(2) Criminal deviate conduct (1C 35-42-4-2).
(3) Child molesting (1C 35-42-4-3).
(4) Child exploitation (1C 35-42-4-4(b)).
(5) Vicarious sexual gratification (including performing sexual conduct in the
presence of a minor) (IC 35-42-4-5).
(6) Child solicitation (IC 35-42-4-6).
(7) Child seduction (IC 35-42-4-7).
(8) Sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class A, Class B, or Class C felony (IC
35-42-4-9), unless:
(A) the person is convicted of sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class
C felony; .
(B) the person is not more than:
(1) four (4) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed after June 30, 2007; or
(i) five (5) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed before July 1, 2007; and
(C) the sentencing court finds that the person should not be required to
register as a sex offender.
(9) Incest (1C 35-46-1-3).
(10) Sexual battery (1C 35-42-4-8).
(11) Kidnapping (1C 35-42-3-2), if the victim is less than eighteen (18) years of
age, and the person who kidnapped the victim is not the victim's parent or
guardramn: unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the
offense was not committed for a sexual purpose. _
(12) Criminal confinement (IC 35-42-3-3), if the victim is less than eighteen (18)
years of age, and the person who confined or removed the victim is not the
vretim's parent or goardtan: unless the court finds by clear and convincing
evidence that the offense was not committed for a sexual purpose.
(13) Possession of child pornography (1C 35-42-4-4(c)).
(14) Promoting prostitution (1C 35-45-4-4) as a Class B felony.
(15) Promotion of human trafficking (IC 35-42-3.5-1(a)(2)) if the victim is less
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than eighteen (18) years of age.

(16) Sexual trafficking of a minor (IC 35-42-3.5-1(c)).

(17) Human trafficking € 35-42=3-5-Hd(3)) (1C 35-44.1-5-1) if the victim is
less than eighteen (18) years of age.

(18) Sexual misconduct by a service provider with a detained child &€
35=44=1=5¢c)) (1C 35-44.1-3-10(c)).

(19) An attempt or conspiracy to commit a crime listed in subdivisions (1)
through (18).

(20) A crime under the laws of another jurisdiction, including a.military court,
that 1s substantially equivalent to any of the offenses listed in subdivisions (1)
through (19).

(b) The term includes:

(1) a person who is required to register as a sex offender in any jurisdiction; and
(2) a child who has committed a delinquent act and who:
(A) 1s at least fourteen (14) years of age;
(B) is on probation, is on parole, is discharged from a facility by the
department of correction, is discharged from a secure private facility (as
defined in 1C 31-9-2-115), or is discharged from a juvenile detention
facility as a result of an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that
would be an offense described in subsection (a) if commitited by an
adult; and
(C) is found by a court by clear and convincing evidence to be likely to
repeat an act that would be an offense described in subsection (a) if

committed by an adult.

(c) In making a determination under subsection (b)(2)(C), the court shall consider expert

testimony concerning whether a child is likely to repeat an act that would be an-offense described

in subsection (a) if committed by an adult.
SECTION 2. 1C 11-8-8-5, AS AMENDED BY P.L.1-2012, SECTION 3, IS AMENDED
TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 5. (a) Except as provided in

section 22 of this chapter, as used in this chapter, "sex or violent offender” means a person

convicted of any of the following offenses:
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(1) Rape (1C 35-42-4-1).

(2) Criminal deviate conduct (1C 35-42-4-2).

(3) Child molesting (IC 35-42-4-3).

(4) Child exploitation (IC 35-42-4-4(b)).

(5) Vicarious sexual gratification (including performing sexual conduct in the
presence of a minor) (1C 35-42-4-5).

(6) Child solicitation (1C 35-42-4-6).

(7) Child seduction (1C 35-42-4-7).

(8) Sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class A, Class B, or Class C felony (1C
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35-42-4-9), unless:
(A) the person is convicted of sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class
C felony;
(B) the person is not more than:
(i) four (4) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed after June 30, 2007; or
(i1) five (5) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed before July 1, 2007; and
(C) the sentencing court finds that the person should not be required to
register as a sex offender.
(9) Incest (1C 35-46-1-3).
(10) Sexual battery (1C 35-42-4-8).
(11) Kidnapping (1C 35-42-3-2), if the victim is less than eighteen (18) years of
age, and the person who kidmapped the victim 1s not the victim's parent or
guardran: unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the
offense was not committed for a sexual purpose.
(12) Criminal confinement (IC 35-42-3-3), if the victim is less than eighteen (18)
years of age, and the persorr who confined or removed the victmn 15 not the
victim's parent or guardian- unless the court finds by clear and convincing
evidence that the offense was not committed for a sexual purpose.
(13) Possession of child pornography (IC 35-42-4-4(c)).
(14) Promoting prostitution (IC 35-45-4-4) as a Class B felony.
(15) Promotion of human trafficking (IC 35-42-3.5-1(a)(2)) if the victim is less
than eighteen (18) years of age.
(16) Sexual trafficking of a minor (IC 35-42-3.5-1(c)).
(17) Human trafficking (1C 35-42-3.5-1(d)(3)) if the victim is less than eighteen
(18) years of age. -
(18) Murder (1C 35-42-1-1).
(19) Voluntary manslaughter (1C 35-42-1-3).
(20) An attempt or conspiracy to commit a crime listed in subdivisions (1)
through (19).
(21) A crime under the laws of another jurisdiction, including a military court,
that 1s substantially equivalent to any of the offenses listed in subdivisions (1)
through (20).
(b) The term includes:
(1) a person who is required to register as a sex or violent offender in any
jurisdiction; and
(2) a child who has committed a delinquent act and who:
(A) is at Jeast fourteen (14) years of age;
(B) is on probation, is on parole, is discharged from a facility by the
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department of correction, is discharged from a secure private facility (as
defined in IC 31-9-2-115), or is discharged from a juvenile detention
facility as a result of an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that
would be an offense described in subsection (a) if committed by an
adult; and ' '

(C) is found by a court by clear and convincing evidence to be likely to
repeat an act that would be an offense described in subsection (a) if

committed by an adult.

(c) In making a determination under subsection (b)(2)(C), the court shall consider expert

testimony concerning whether a child is likely to repeat an act that would be an offense described

in subsection (a) if committed by an adult.
SECTION 3.1C 11-8-8-8, AS AMENDED BY P.L.119-2008, SECTION 6, IS
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 8. (a) The

registration required under this chapter must include the following information:
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(1) The sex or violent offender’s full name, alias, any name by which the sex or
violent offender was previously known, date of birth, sex, race, height, weight,

hair color, eye color, any scars, marks, or tattoos, Social Security number,

driver's license number or state identification card number, vehicle description,

and.vehicle plate number, and vehicle identification number for any vehicle
the sex or violent offénder owns or operates on a regular basis, principal
residence address, other address where the sex or violent offender spends more
than seven (7) nights in a fourteen (14) day period, and mailing address, if
different from the sex or violent offender's principal residence address.

(2) A description of the offense for which the sex or violent offender was
convicted, the date of conviction, the county of the conviction, the cause number
of the conviction, and the sentence imposed, if applicable.

(3) If the person is required to register under section 7(a)(2) or 7(2)(3) of this
chapter, the name and address of each of the sex or violent offender's employers
in Indiana, the name and address of each campus or location where the sex or
violent offender is enrolled in school in Indiana, and the address where the sex or
violent offender stays or intends to stay while in Indiana.

(4) A recent photograph of the sex or violent offender.

(5) If the sex or violent offender is a sexually violent predator, that the sex or
violent offender is a sexually violent predator.

(6) If the sex or violent offender is required to register for life, that the sex or
violent offender is required to register for life.

(7) Any electronic mail address, instant messaging username, electronic chat
room username, or social networking web site username that the sex or violent
offender uses or intends to use.

(8) Any other information required by the department.
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(b) If the sex or violent offender registers any information under subsection (a)(7), the an
offender on probation or parole shall sign a consent form authorizing the:

(1) search of the sex or violent offender's personal computer or device with
Internet capability, at any time; and

(2) installation on the sex or violent offender’s personal computer or device with
Internet capability, at the sex or violent offender's expense, of hardware or
software to monitor the sex or violent offender's Internet usage.

(c) If:

(1) the appearance of the sex or violent offender changes from the

photograph described in subsection (a)(4); or

(2) any other information described in subsection (a) changes;
the sex or violent offender shall report in person to the local law enforcement authority
having jurisdiction over the sex or violent offender's principal address not more than
seventy-two (72) hours after the change and permit a new photograph to be made (for a
change in appearance) or submit the new information to the local law enforcement
authority. ,

SECTION 4. IC 11-8-8-11, AS AMENDED BY P.L.119-2008, SECTION 7, IS
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 11. (a) If a sex or
violent offender who is required to register under this chapter changes:

(1) principal residence address; or

(2) if section 7(a)(2) or 7(a)(3) of this chapter applies, the place where the sex or

violent offender stays in Indiana;
the sex or violent offender shall report in person to the local law enforcement authority having
jurisdiction over the sex or violent offender’s current principal address or location and, if the
offender moves to a new county in Indiana, to the local law enforcement authority having
jurisdiction over the sex or violent offender’s new principal address or location not more than
seventy-two (72) hours after the address change.

(b) If a sex or violent offender moves to a new county in Indiana, the local law
enforcement authority where the sex or violent offender's current principal residence address is
located shall inform the local law enforcement authority in the new county in Indiana of the sex
or violent offender's residence and forward all relevant registration information concerning the
sex or violent offender to the local law enforcement authority in the new county. The local law
enforcement authority receiving notice under this subsection shall verify the address of the sex or
violent offender under section 13 of this chapter not more than seven (7) days after receiving the
notice.

(c) If a sex or violent offender who is required to register under section 7(a)(2) or 7(2)(3)

-of this chapter changes the sex or violent offender’s principal place of employment, principal

place of vocation, or campus or location where the sex or violent offender is enrolled in school,
the sex or violent offender shall report in person:

(1) to the local law enforcement authority having jurisdiction over the sex or
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violent offender's current principal place of employment, principal place of
vocation, or campus or location where the sex or violent offender is enrolled in
school; and
(2) if the sex or violent offender changes the sex or violent offender's place of
employment, vocation, or enrollment to a new county in Indiana, to the local law
enforcement authority having jurisdiction over the sex or violent offender’s new
principal place of employment, principal place of vocation, or campus or
location where the sex or violent offender is enrolled in school;

not more than seventy-two (72) hours after the change.

(d) If a sex or violent offender moves the sex or violent offender's place of employment,
vocation, or enroliment to a new county in Indiana, the local law enforcement authority having
jurisdiction over the sex or violent offender's current principal place of employment, principal
place of vocation, or campus or location where the sex or violent offender is enrolled in school
shall inform the local law enforcement authority in the new county of the sex or violent
offender's new principal place of employment, vocation, or enrollment by forwarding relevant
registration information to the Jocal law enforcement authority in the new county.

(e) If a sex or violent offender moves the sex or violent offender’s residence, place of
employment, vocation, or enrollment to a new state, the local law enforcement authority shall
inform the state police in the new state of the sex or violent offender's new place of residence,
employment, vocation, or enrollment.

(f) Ifasex or violent offender who is required to register under this chapter changes or
obtains a new:

(1) electronic mail address;

(2) instant messaging username;

(3) electronic chat room username; or

(4) social networking web site username;
the sex or violent offender shall report in person to the local law enforcement authority having
jurisdiction over the sex or violent offender's current principal address or location and shall
provide the local law enforcement authority with the new address or username not more than
seventy-two (72) hours after the change or creation of the address or username. -

» (g) A local law enforcement authority shall make registration information, including
information concerning the duty to register and the penalty for failing to register, available to a
sex or violent offender. .

(h) A local law enforcement authority who is notified of a change under subsection (a),
(c), or (f) shall:

(1) immediately update the Indiana sex and violent offender registry web site
established under 1C 36-2-13-5.5;

(2) update the National Crime Information Center National Sex Offender
Registry data base via the Indiana data and communications system (IDACS);
and
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(3) notify the department.

(i) If a sex or violent offender who is registered with a local law enforcement authority
becomes incarcerated, the Jocal law enforcement authority shall transmit a copy of the
information provided by the sex or violent offender during registration to the department.

A (j) If a sex or violent offender is no longer required to register due to the expiration of
the registration period, the local law enforcement authority shall transmit a copy of the
information provided by the sex or violent offender during registration to the department.

(k) This subsection only applies to a sex or violent offender who has:

(1) informed the local Jaw enforcement authority of the offender's intention

to move the offender's residence to a new location; and

(2) not moved the offender’s residence to the new Jocation.
Not later than seventy-two hours after the date on which a sex or violent offender to whom
this subsection applies was scheduled to move (according to information the offender
provided to the local law enforcement authority before the move), the sex or violent
offender shall report in person to the local law enforcement authority having jurisdiction
over the offenders's new current address or location, even if the offender's address has not
changed.

SECTION 5.1C 1]1-8-8-13, AS AMENDED BY P.L.114-2012, SECTION 25, IS
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2013]: Sec. 13. (a) To verify a
sex or violent offender's current residence, the local law enforcement authority having
jurisdiction over the area of the sex or violent offender's current principal address or location
shall do the following:

(1) Mait a form that ts Contact each offender in a manner approved or
prescribed by the department to each sex or viotent offender in the county at the
sex or viotent offender’s histed address at least one (1) time per year. beginning
seven (7) days after the tocal faw enforcement authority recerves a notice under
section H or 20 of this chapter or the date the sex or viotent offender st

() released from a penatl facthity (as defined n 1€ 55-3+5-2=2532); a

secure private factitty (as defmed m 1€ 31=9-2H5); or a juventte

] rom facitity:

(B) ptaced in a community transttion program;

€€) placed m a community corrections program;

(D) ptaced on parote; or

(E) ptaced on probation;
whichever oceurs first:
(2) tvhait a form that 1s Contact each offender who is designated a sex or
violent offender in a manner approved or prescribed by the department to each
sex or violent offender who 15 designated a sexuwally viotent predator under
1€ 35=38=1=75 at least once every ninety (90) days. begmmmg seven (F) days
after the tocat taw enforcement authority recerves a notiee under section H or 26
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of this chapter or the date the sex or viotent offender s:

A0 refeased from a pemat facility (as defined m 1€ 35-5+5-2=232); a
secure private factlity (as defied m 1€ 31+=9-2=15); or a juventte
B) ptaced i a commmunity transition program;

(€ ptaced in a community eorrections prograny;

{B) ptaced on parote; or

tE) ptaced on probation;

whichever oceurs first

(3) Personally visit each sex or violent offender in the county at the sex or
violent offender's listed address at Ieast one (1) time per year, beginning seven
(7) days after the local law enforcement authority receives a notice under section

7 of this chapter or the date the sex or violent offender is:

(A) released from a penal facility (as defined in 1C 35-31.5-2-232),a
secure private facility (as defined in 1C 31-9-2-115), or a juvenile
detention facility;

EB) placed in a community transition program;

(C) placed in a community corrections program;

(D) placed on parole; or

(E) placed on probation;

whichever occurs first.

(4) Personally visit each sex or violent offender who is designated a sexually
violent predator under 1C 35-38-1-7.5 at least once every ninety (90) days,
beginning seven (7) days after the local law enforcement authority receives a

notice under section 7 of this chapter or the date the sex or violent offender is:

(A) released from a penal facility (as defined in 1C 35-31.5-2-232), a
secure private facility (as defined in 1C 31-9-2-115), or a juvenile
detention facility;

(B) placed in a community transition program;

(C) placed in a community corrections program;

(D) placed on parole; or

(E) placed on probation;

whichever occurs first.

(b) If a sex or violent offender faits to return a signed form either by matt or in person;
not tater than fourteen () days after mathing; or appears not to reside at the listed address, the

local law enforcement authority shall immediately notify the department and the prosecuting

attorney.

SECTION 6.1C 11-8-8-14, AS AMENDED BY P.L.216-2007, SECTION 22, 1S
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 14. (a) This
subsection does not apply to a sex or violent offender who is a sexually violent predator. In
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addition to the other requirements of this chapter, a sex or violent offender who is required to
register under this chapter shall, at least one (1) time every three hundred sixty-five (365) days
per eatendar year:

(1) report in person to the local law enforcement authority;

(2) register; and

(3) be photographed by the local law enforcement authority;
in each location where the offender is required to register.

(b) This subsection applies to a sex or violent offender who is a sexually violent
predator. In addition to the other requirements of this chapter, a sex or violent offender who is a
sexually violent predator under IC 35-38-1-7.5 shalt:

(1) report in person to the local law enforcement authority;
2) registér; and
(3) be photographed by the local law enforcement authority in each location
where the sex or violent offender is required to register;
every ninety (90) days.

(c) Each time a sex or violent offender who claims to be working or attending school
registers in person, the sex or violent offender shall provide documentation to the local law
enforcement authority providing evidence that the sex or violent offender is still working or
attending school at the registered location. »

SECTION 7.1C 11-8-8-15, AS AMENDED BY P.L.216-2007, SECTION 23, IS
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 15. (a) A sex or
violent offender who is a resident of Indiana shall obtain and keep in the sex or violent offender’s
possession:

(1) a valid Indiana driver's license; or
(2) a valid Indiana identification card (as described in 1C 9-24-16);
which contains the offender’s current address and current physical description.
(b) A sex or violent offender required to register in Indiana who is not a resident of
Indiana shall obtain and keep in the sex or violent offender's possession:
(1) a valid driver's license issued by the state in which the sex or violent offender
resides; or
(2) a valid state issued identification card issued by the state in which the sex or
violent offender resides;

which contains the offender's current address and current physical description.

(c) A person who knowingly or intentionally violates this section commits failure of a
sex or violent offender to possess identification, a Class A misdemeanor. However, the offense is
a Class D felony if the person:

(1) 1s a sexually violent predator; or
(2) has a prior unrelated conviction:
(A) under this section; or

(B) based on the person’s failure to comply with any requirement
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imposed on an offender under this chapter.

(d) It is a defense to a prosecution under this section that:

(1) the person has been unable to obtain a valid driver's license or state issued
identification card because less than thirty (30) days have passed since the
person's release from incarceration; or

(2) the person possesses a driver's license or state issued identification card that
expired not more than thirty (30} days before the date the person violated
subsection (a) or (b); or

(3) the person possesses a valid driver's license or state issued identification
card, but the card does not reflect the person's current address or current
physical description because less than thirty (30) days have passed since the

person changed the person's current address or physical characteristics.

SECTION 8. IC 35-38-1-7.5, AS AMENDED BY P.L.216-2007, SECTION 37, 1S
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 7.5. (a) As used in

this section, "sexually violent predator" means a person who suffers from a mental abnormality

or personality disorder that makes the individual likely to repeatedly commit a sex offense (as

defined in 1C 11-8-8-5.2). The term includes a person convicted in another jurisdiction who is

identified as a sexually violent predator under 1C 11-8-8-20. The term does not include a person

no longer considered a sexually violent predator under subsection (g).

(b) A person who:
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(1) being at least eighteen (18) years of age, commits an offense described in:
(A)1C 35-42-4-1;
(B) IC 35-42-4-2;
(C) IC 35-42-4-3 as a Class A or Class B felony;
(D) IC 35-42-4-5(a)(1);
(E) IC 35-42-4-5(a)(2);
(F) IC 35-42-4-5(a)(3);
(G) IC 35-42-4-5(b)(1) as a Class A or Class B felony;
(H) IC 35-42-4-5(b)(2),
(1) 1C 35-42-4-5(b)(3) as a Class A or Class B felony;
(J) an attempt or conspiracy to commit a crime listed in clauses (A)
through (1}; or
(K) a crime under the laws of another jurisdiction, including a military
court, that is substantially equivalent to any of the offenses listed in
clauses (A) through (J);
(2) commits a sex offense (as defined in 1C 11-8-8-5.2) while having a previous
unrelated conviction for a sex offense for which the person is required to register
as a sex or violent offender under JC 11-8-8;
(3) commits a sex offense (as defined in 1C 11-8-8-5.2) while having had a
previous unrelated adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a
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sex offense if committed by an adult, if, after considering expert testimony, a
court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the person is likely to commit
an additional sex offense; or
(4) commits a sex offense (as defined in IC 11-8-8-5.2) while having had a
previous unrelated adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a
sex offense if committed by an adult, if the person was required to register as a
sex or violent offender under 1C 11-8-8-5(b)(2);
is a sexually violent predator. Except as provided in subsection (g) or (h), a person is a sexually
violent predator by operation of law if an offense committed by the person satisfies the
conditions set forth in subdivision (1) or (2) and the person was released from incarceration,
secure detention, or probation, or parole for the offense after June 30, 1994.

(c) This section applies whenever a court sentences a person or a juvenile court issues a
dispositional decree for a sex offense (as defined in 1C 11-8-8-5.2) for which the person is
required to register with the local law enforcement authority under I1C 11-8-8.

(d) At the sentencing hearing, the court shall indicate on the record whether the person
has been convicted of an offense that makes the person a sexually violent predator under
subsection (b).

(e) If a person is not a sexually violent predator under subsection (b), the prosecuting
attorney may request the court to conduct a hearing to determine whether the person (including a
child adjudicated to be a delinquent child) is a sexually violent predator under subsection (a). If
the court grants the motion, the court shall appoint two (2) psychologists or psychiatrists who

have expertise in criminal behavioral disorders to evaluate the person and testify at the hearing.

‘After conducting the hearing and considering the testimony of the two (2) psychologists or

psychiatrists, the court shall determine whether the person is a sexually violent predator under
subsection (a). A hearing conducted under this subsection may be combined with the person's
sentencing hearing.

(f) If a person is a sexually violent predator:

(1) the person is required to register with the local law enforcement authority as
provided in 1C 11-8-8; and
(2) the court shall send notice to the department of correction.
(g) This subsection does not apply to a person who has two (2) or more unrelated
convictions for an offense described in IC 11-8-8-4.5 for which the person is required to register
under IC 11-8-8. A person who is a sexually violent predator may petition the court to consider
whether the person should no longer be considered a sexuvally violent predator. The person may
file a petition under this subsection not earlier than ten (10) years after:
(1) the sentencing court or juvenile court makes its determination under
subsection {e); or
(2) the person is released from incarceration or secure detention.

A person may file a petition under this subsection not more than one (1) time per year. A court

may dismiss a petition filed under this subsection or conduct a hearing to determine if the person
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should no longer be considered a sexually violent predator. If the court conducts a hearing, the
court shall appoint two (2) psychologists or psychiatrists who have expertise in criminal
behavioral disorders to evaluate the person and testify at the hearing. After conducting the
hearing and considering the testimony of the two (2) psychologists or psychiatrists, the court
shall determine whether the person should no longer be considered a sexually violent predator
under subsection (a). If a court finds that the person should no longer be considered a sexually
violent predator, the court shall send notice to the department of correction that the person is no
longer considered a sexually violent predator. Notwithstanding any other law, a condition
imposed on a person due to the person's status as a sexually violent predator, including lifetime
parole or GPS monitoring, does not apply to a person no longer considered a sexually violent
predator or offender against children.
(h) A person is not a sexually violent predator by operation of law under subsection
(b)(1) if al} of the following conditions are met:
(1) The victim was not Jess than twelve (12) years of age at the time the offense
was committed.
(2) The person is not more than four (4) years older than the victim.
(3) The relationship between the person and the victim was a déting relationship
or an ongoing personal relationship. The term "ongoing personal relationship”
does not include a family relationship.
(4) The offense committed by the person was not any of the following:
(A) Rape (1C 35-42-4-1).
(B) Criminal deviate conduct (IC 35-42-4-2).
(C) An offense committed by using or threatening the use of deadly
force or while armed with a deadly weapon.
(D) An offense that results in serious bodily injury.
(E) An offense that is facilitated by furnishing the victim, without the
victim's knowledge, with a drug (as defined in 1C 16-42-19-2(1)) ora
controlled substance (as defined in IC 35-48-1-9) or knowing that the
victim was furnished with the drug or controlled substance without the
victim's knowledge.
(5) The person has not committed another sex offense (as defined in
IC 11-8-8-5.2) (including a delinquent act that would be a sex offense if
committed by an adult) against any other person. ‘
(6) The person did not have a position of authority or substantial influence over
the victim,
(7) The court finds that the person should not be considered a sexually violent
predator. '
SECTION 9. 1C 35-42-4-11, AS AMENDED BY P.L.216-2007, SECTION 47, IS
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013]: Sec. 11. (a) As used in

this section, and except as provided in subsection (d), "offender against children” means a person
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required to register as a sex or violent offender under 1C 11-8-8 who has been:

(1) found to be a sexually violent predator under IC 35-38-1-7.5; or
(2) convicted of one (1) or more of the following offenses:
(A) Child molesting (1C 35-42-4-3).
(B) Child exploitation (IC 35-42-4-4(b)).
(C) Child solicitation (1C 35-42-4-6).
(D) Child seduction (IC 35-42-4-7).
(E) Kidnapping (1C 35-42-3-2), if the victim is less than eighteen (18)
years of age and the person is not the child's parent or guardian.
(F) Attempt to commit or conspiracy to commit an offense listed in
clauses (A) through (E).
(G) An offense in another jurisdiction that is substantially similar to an
offense described in clauses (A) through (F).
A person is an offender against children by operation of law if the person meets the conditions
described in subdivision (1) or (2) at any time.
(b) As used in this section, "reside” means to spend more than three (3) nights in:
(1) a residence; or
(2) if the person does not reside in a residence, a particular location;
in any thirty (30) day period.
(c) An offender against children who knowingly or fntentionally:
(1) resides within one thousand (1,000) feet of:
(A) school property, not including property of an institution providing
post-secondary education;
(B) a youth program center; or
(C) a public park; or
(2) establishes a residence within one (1) mile of the residence of the victim of
the offender's sex offense;
commits a sex offender residency offense, a Class D felony.

(d) This subsection does not apply to an offender against children who has two (2) or
more unrelated convictions for an offense described in subsection (a). A person who is an
offender against children may petition the court to consider whether the person should no longer
be considered an offender against children. The person may file a petition under this subsection
not earlier than ten (10) years after the person is released from incarceration (or, if the person is
not incarcerated, not earlier than ten (10) years after the person is released from probation.)
or parote; whichever oceurs fast: A person may file a petition under this subsection not more than
one (1) time per year. A court may dismiss a petition filed under this subsection or conduct a
hearing to determine if the person should no longer be considered an offender against children. }f
the court conducts a hearing, the court shall appoint two (2) psychologists or psychiatrists who
have expertise in criminal behavioral disorders to evaluate the person and testify at the hearing.
After conducting the hearing and considering the testimony of the two (2) psychologists or
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psychiatrists, the court shall determine whether the person should no longer be considered an
offender against children. If a court finds that the person should no longer be considered an
offender against children, the court shall send notice to the department of correction that the

person is no longer considered an offender against children.
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No. 11-3834

DAVID SCHEPERS, et al.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,

COMMISSIONER, INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Indiana, Indianapolis Division.
No. 1:09-cv-1324 TWP-TAB-—Tanya Walton Pratt, Judge.

ARGUED MAY 25, 2012—DECIDED AUGUST 28, 2012

Before POSNER, FLAUM, and WOOD, Circuit Judges.

WOoOD, Circuit Judge. Indiana, like many states, main-
tains a public database of persons convicted of sex of-
fenses. Its database is called the ”Sex and Violent Offender
Registry” and is accessible via the Internet. See Indiana
Sex and Violent Offender Registry, http://www.
icrimewatch.net/indiana.php (last visited August 23,2012).
People visiting the registry’s website find, on each regis-
trant’s page, a recent photograph, home address, informa-
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tion about the registrant’s height, weight, age, race, and
sex, and information about the particular offenses that
required placement on the registry. Some registrants’
pages may additionally carry the label of “sexually
violent predator,” if they have committed certain serious
offenses or have had multiple previous convictions for
specified sex and violent offenses. See IND. CODE
§ 35-38-1-7.5 (defining “sexually violent predator”). The
public can search the database by a variety of fields
(such as offender name or county of residence), and can
generate a map showing the location of all registered
offenders living near any address (such as one’s home
or school).

A class of persons required to register brought this
suit against the Indiana Department of Correction
(DOC), alleging that the DOC’s failure to provide any
procedure to correct errors in the registry violates due
process. In response, the DOC created a new policy to
give notice to current prisoners about their pending
registry listings and an opportunity to challenge the
information. The district court granted summary judg-
ment on the ground that the new policy was sufficient
to comply with due process. But the DOC’s new proce-
dures still fail to provide any process at all for an
entire class of registrants—those who are not incarcer-
ated. We thus reverse the district court’s grant of sum-
mary judgment and remand for further proceedings.

1

Indiana’s registry was enacted in 1994; it was modeled
on New Jersey’s “Megan’s Law,” the country’s first sex
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offender registration statute. Many states have created
similar registries since then, spurred no doubt by Con-
gress’s threat of withholding grant money from states
that did not. See generally Wallace v. State, 905 N.E.2d
371, 374 (Ind. 2009) (discussing the history of Indiana’s
registry and the impact of the 1994 Jacob Wetterling
Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offenders
Registration Act). Over time, Indiana’s registry has
greatly expanded in scope, in terms of both who is re-
quired to register and what registration entails.

Today, a conviction for any of 21 different offenses,
including some non-sex offenses such as murder, voluntary
manslaughter, and kidnapping, requires an offender to
be listed on the registry. See IND. CODE § 11-8-8-5. Place-
ment on the registry comes with a variety of obligations
and restrictions; failure to comply can have criminal
consequences. Among other obligations, a registrant
must periodically report in person to the local law en-
forcement authority—for most, annually, and for
sexually violent predators, every 90 days—to update
contact information and take a new photograph. Id.
§ 11-8-8-14. Failure to do so is a felony. 1. § 11-8-8-17.
Registrants must also allow law enforcement to visit
and verify their addresses (again annually for most
and every 90 days for sexually violent predators). Id.
§ 11-8-8-13. Registrants must carry a valid driver's
license or state identification card at all times, or risk
prosecution, id. § 11-8-8-15; they are forbidden from
changing their names, id. § 11-8-8-16.

The status of being a “sexually violent predator” carries
with it extra burdens. In addition to their obligation to
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register more frequently, sexually violent predators
are regulated in other ways: they cannot live, work, or
volunteer within 1,000 feet of a school, public park,
or youth program center. To do so is a felony. Id.
§ 35-42-4-10; 35-42-4-11(c); see also Alex Campbell, Motel
Home to City’s Largest Sex Offender Cluster, INDIANAPOLIS
STAR, Feb. 18, 2012, available at http://blogs.indystar.com/
starwatch/2012/02/18/motel-home-to-citys-largest-sex-
offender-cluster/; Jeff Wiehe, Sex-felon Residency Law
Vexes Everyone, FORT WAYNE ]J. GAZETTE, Jan. 8, 2012,
available at http://www.journalgazette.net/article/
20120108/LOCAL/301089926/-1/LOCAL11. In addition, if
a sexually violent predator plans to be absent from her
home for more than 72 hours, she must inform local law
enforcement in both the county where she lives and the
county she plans to visit of her travel plans. IND. CODE
§ 11-8-8-18.

II

David Schepers is one of an estimated 24,000
registrants on Indiana’s Sex and Violent Offender Regis-
try. (This number comes from data collected in Feb-
ruary 2010, at which time the registry contained 24,000
registrants, some of whose obligations to keep their data
current had expired, and 11,000 of whom were under a
current obligation to comply with these rules.) Schepers
must register because he was convicted of two
counts of child exploitation in 2006. If one were to visit
Schepers’s registry profile today, she would see those
two counts along with the designation “Offender
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Against Children.” But for some time in the past,
Schepers was erroneously designated as a “Sexually
Violent Predator” and thus was subject to the more bur-
densome requirements and restrictions that apply to
that group. (There is no dispute that Schepers is not
a Sexually Violent Predator under Indiana law.) He
tried to correct this error, but he found that the
DOC provided no official channel or administrative
mechanism allowing him to do so. He turned to
informal channels, telephoning officials in the DOC in
an attempt to get the label removed. When that proved
unsuccessful, he brought suit against. the DOC under
42 U.S.C. § 1983 on behalf of a class of registrants,
arguing that the DOC’s failure to provide any mechanism
to correct registry errors violated due process and
seeking injunctive relief to establish such a procedure.

In response to the suit, the DOC instituted a new policy
designed to provide some process to correct registry
errors. It calls that policy the “Sex and Violent Offender
Registry Appeal Process.” Under the new Appeal
Process, the DOC must send prisoners notice (consisting
of two forms—a “notice” and a “specimen”) before they
are released from their institution that explains what
information will be published on the registry. The notice
informs the prisoner that if there are any errors
with his information, he has 20 days to seek review by
submitting an appeal to the director of the Division
of Registration and Victim Services. The person
deciding the appeal (the "Appeal Authority”) can then
request additional information or consult with the pris-
oner. The policy does not require the Appeal Authority
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to hold a hearing, formal or otherwise. After 30 days
have passed, all appeals are “deemed denied.” If an
appeal is not deemed denied, the prisoner will be
notified of a decision to grant an appeal in full or in
part. The prisoner has no right to further review after
an appeals decision. As we indicated earlier, this
Appeal Process applies only to those who are incar-
cerated in DOC facilities; it does not apply to persons
listed on the registry who already have been released
or were never incarcerated in a DOC facility (perhaps
because they received a probationary sentence or they
were convicted in another state). -

After enacting this new policy, the DOC moved for
summary judgment on the basis that the policy was
sufficient to meet the requirements of ‘due process. In
addition, it argued that the Due Process Clause did not
apply at all because mistakes in the registry do not
infringe any constitutionally protected liberty interest.
The district court rejected the DOC’s argument that
the Due DProcess Clause did not apply, holding
that misclassification of registrants does implicate an
offender’s liberty interest and is thus protected by the
Due Process Clause. But the court agreed with the DOC
that its new appeals policy was sufficient to meet the
Clause’s requirements, and granted summary judgment.
Plaintiffs now appeal.

I11

We review the grant of a motion for summary judg-
ment de novo, construing all facts and drawing all infer-
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ences in the light most favorable to the non-moving
party (here, Schepers and the plaintiff class). Lagestee-
Mulder, Inc. v. Consolidated Ins. Co., 682 F.3d 1054, 1056
(7th Cir. 2012). Summary judgment is appropriate if
there are no genuine issues of material fact and the
moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Id.

We begin by addressing a preliminary argument
raised by the DOC unrelated to the merits of the due
process question. The DOC contends that it cannot be
the entity required to provide process, even if process is
due, because (it says) it is not the entity responsible
for mistakes in the sex offender registry. Put briefly,
the DOC argues that Schepers has sued .the wrong de-
fendant. The DOC stresses that it “does not pﬁblish
any information on the Internet” and “does not control
the sex offender registry web site.” Instead, those
tasks are currently performed by the Indiana Sheriff’s
Association. But the DOC.does not and cannot contest
that, under state law, it is the entity ultimately re-
sponsible for the creation, publication, and maintenance
of the registry. See IND. CODE § 11-8-2-12.4 (“The depart-
ment shall . . . Maintain the Indiana sex and violent
offender registry.”); id. § 11-8-2-13(b) (listing the DOC’s
registry responsibilities, including requirements that it
“[elnsure that the Indiana sex and violent offender
registry is updated at least once per day with informa-
tion provided by a local law enforcement authority”
and “[p]ublish the Indiana sex and violent offender
registry on the Internet”). DOC’s argument begins to
unravel when one discovers that the reason why the
Indiana Sheriff’s Association is the entity that publishes
information on the Internet is because the DOC has
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contracted with it to do so. We will accept for
present purposes that state law also gives the sheriffs
some shared responsibility over the registry, see id.
§ 36-2-13-5.5, but this does not diminish the DOC’s own
state-law obligations. (Perhaps the DOC could have
argued that the sheriffs were necessary parties to this
suit. We doubt that this defense would have been suc-
cessful, but no matter: The DOC never raised it and it
has thus been waived. See FED. R. C1v. P. 12(h)(2); Mucha
v. King, 792 F.2d 602, 613 (7th Cir. 1986).)

Moreover, the facts in the record do not support the
DOC’s attempt to put so much distance between itself
and the day-to-day operation of the registry. It appears
that the DOC does have a direct role to play in some. of
the errors that creep into registry listings. The DOC is
the entity that first decides how offenders should be
classified and what information will appear in the regis-
try. It then passes that information on to the
Sheriff’s Association for.publication. Clearly, errors can
crop up at any of these stages, but surely one of the
most important points is the stage at which the
DOC makes an initial registry determination. Thus,
under state law and in practice, the DOC has sufficient
respbnsibility over the registry to be compelled to
provide any additional process that may be required.

1V
A

That brings us to the heart of the due process claim
in this case..Plaintiffs allege that errors in the regis-
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try—such as being mislabeled a sexually violent preda-
tor—infringe on a liberty interest protected by the Due
Process Clause, and thus that the DOC is required to
provide some process to correct those errors. In order
for state action that injures one’s reputation to
implicate the Due Process Clause, the action must also
alter one’s legal status or rights. The Supreme Court
applied this principle to allegations of defamation by
government agents in Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976),
where it rejected the argument that the injury to
reputation from being included on a list of “active shop-
lifters” implicated a liberty interest for due process pur-
poses. Rather, the Court held, it is the alteration
of legal status, in the sense of a deprivation of a right
previously held under state law, that when “combined
with the injury resulting from the defamation, justif[ies]
the invocation of procedural safeguards.” Id. at 708-09;
see also Kahn v. Bland, 630 F.3d 519, 534 (7th Cir. 2010)
(applying this test). The need to show alteration of
legal status along with some stigmatic or reputation
injury is commonly referred to as the “’
Kahn, 630 F.3d at 534.

stigma plus’ test.”

The district court held that the class members meet
both parts of the “stigma plus” test. The DOC does not
challenge that holding on appeal, and so any argument
on this issue is therefore forfeited. It did argue before
the district court, however, that the plaintiffs had failed
to assert a liberty interest; since this case is being re-
manded, we think it prudent to discuss the matter
briefly. The plaintiff class here is complaining about
much more than the kind of simple reputational
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interest asserted by respondent Davis in the Supreme
Court’s case. The Indiana statute deprives members of
the class of a variety of rights and privileges held by
ordinary Indiana citizens, in a manner closely analogous
to the deprivations imposed on parolees or persons on
supervisory release. Citizens do not need to report to
the police periodically, nor is their right to travel condi-
tioned on notifications to the police in both the home
and the destination jurisdiction. Unlike Schepers, who
was forbidden from living within 1,000 feet of a school
or park while he was categorized as a sexually violent
predator, members of the public are free to decide
where they wish to live. These restrictions, in our view,
fit the requirement in Paul v. Davis of an alteration in -
legal status that takes the form of a deprivation of
rights under state law. '

Although any kind of placement on the sex offender
registry is stigmatizing, we agree with the district court
that erroneous labeling as a sexually violent predator
is “further stigmatizing to [one’s] reputation.” Society’s
abhorrence of sexually violent predators goes above
and beyond that reserved for other sex offenders.
Indiana has taken that position formally through the
additional restrictions in the law on the sexually violent
predator’s actions. Other courts have reached similar
conclusions when considering sex offender registration
systems with “tiered” registration levels. See, e.g., Pasqua
v. Council, 892 A.2d 663, 675 (N.]. 2006), abrogated on
other grounds by Turner v. Rogers, 131 S. Ct. 2507
(2011); New York v. David W., 733 N.E.2d 206, 210-11 (N.Y.
2000). We are satisfied that plaintiffs have shown that
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the kind of registry mistakes they have alleged here
implicate a liberty interest protected by the Due
Process Clause.

B

This leaves the question whether Indiana is providing
whatever process is “due.” To answer that question,
we must balance three factors: “[flirst, the private
interest that will be affected by the official action; second,
the risk of an erroneous deprivation of such interest
through the procedures used, and the probable value,
if any, of additional or substitute procedural safeguards;
and finally, the Government’s interest, including the
function involved and the fiscal and administrative
burdens that the additional or substitute procedural
requirement would entail.” Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S.
319, 335 (1976).

The DOC argues that the process it currently pro-
vides adequately balances these three factors and
thus passes muster under the Due Process Clause. But
there is a glaring problem with this position: it ignores
the fact that the policy provides no process whatsoever to
an entire class of registrants—those who are not incar-
cerated. If it were impossible to land on the regisiry
without a prior term of incarceration, then this might be
a different case, at least moving forward; those persons
who had been released before this system was enacted
would still be out of luck. But that is not the way it
works. The record leaves no doubt that not all
registrants are first incarcerated, even though many of
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the crimes triggering registration are quite serious. More-
over, even for people who move from an Indiana
prison onto the registry and thus obtain whatever
benefits DOC’s procedures offer, there is no guarantee
that later mistakes will not be made (perhaps, for
instance, when someone moves from one town to
another, or a sheriff's department changes computer
systems). A cursory review of some of the pages on
the registry itself reveals that registrants are sometimes
given sentences that are suspended, sentences of proba-
tion, or sentences with terms so low (several months)
that they receive credit for time served and never move
to a DOC facility.

The DOC complains again that it makes no sense for it
to be the entity responsible for furnishing notice and
review to people who are not located in its institu-
tions. That, however, is what the Indiana legislature
decided to do, when it gave DOC control over the
entire registry, including both those who entered it
from prison and those who did not. See IND. CODE
§ 11-8-2-12.4(5) (requiring the DOC to maintain records
for sex and violent offenders who are not necessarily
incarcerated). It is not our role to question the wisdom
of the state’s choice in this respect. Taking the system as
it is, we conclude that the DOC’s current procedures
are inadequate because they fail to provide any way
for persons not currently incarcerated, including the
lead plaintiff in this case, to correct errors in the registry.

This deficiency alone requires us to reverse the
district court’s grant of summary judgment. We are
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also concerned, however, with the fact that the DOC’s
appeals process never actually requires the DOC to
review a registrant’s complaint. Under the 30-day
“deemed denied” policy, an appeal never has to be con-
sidered before it is rejected. An offender could mail
his appeal to the DOC appeal authority, only to have it
sit on a desk unread. Such an appeal would be
deemed denied after 30 days of inaction. This is not
sufficient to meet the “fundamental requirement of due
process”—"the opportunity to be heard “at a meaningful
time and in a meaningful manner.” Mathews, 424 U.S.
at 333 (quoting Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552
(1965)). An appeal process must at the very least
provide for a real opportunity for registrants to bring
errors to the DOC’s attention and, if the arguments
have merit, to have the errors fixed.

The DOC finally argues that it is not under any legal
compulsion to provide process to registrants (even
though it is currently doing so voluntarily for some)
because adequate state judicial remedies exist to
correct any errors. It is true that in some circumstances, a
deprivation of liberty or property might be the result of
a “random and unauthorized” -act by a state official,
and theaggrieved personisthusrelegated to post-depriva-
tion remedies such as state tort actions. See, e.g., Parratt
v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527, 543 (1981). But as we have ex-
plained, the Parratt doctrine “rest[s] on the principle
that when a state officer acts in a ‘random and unautho-
rized” way-—by unpredictably departing from state law,
for example-—the state has no opportunity to provide a
pre-deprivation hearing and may instead satisfy due
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process by providing an adequate post-deprivation rem-
edy.” Pro’s Sports Bar & Grill, Inc. v. City of Country Club
Hills, 589 F.3d 865, 872 (7th Cir. 2009) (emphasis added).
Where, however, the state has an opportunity to pro-
vide pre-deprivation process because the deprivation is
the “result of some established state procedure,” the
Parratt doctrine does not apply. Logan v. Zimmerman
Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 436 (1982). Like the Indiana
Court of Appeals, we see the determination of registry
status as “analogous to an established state procedure,
rather than a random and unauthorized act of a state
official.” Myers v. Coats, 966 N.E.2d 652, 659 (Ind. App. Ct.
2012). The DOC wuses established procedures to deter-
mine a person’s registry status, in light of his criminal
history and the registry definitions under state law, and
then it publishes that information on the registry website.
Before publication, an additional procedural step that
provides an opportunity to check the accuracy of that
information can easily be incorporated into the estab-
lished processes, in order to reduce the frequency of
any mistakes that happen to arise.

We agree with the plaintiffs that the state judicial post-
deprivation remedies cited by the DOC are insufficient
to meet the requirements of due process. First, many of
the remedies to which the DOC points are not available
to registrants challenging errors like those at issue here.
See IND. CODE § 11-8-8-22 (available only to persons
seeking a change in registration status based on changes
in registration laws after June 30, 2007); IND. CODE § 35-38-
1-7.5(g) (giving state courts discretionary power to
change sexually violent predator status after 10 years).
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And although a writ of mandate under IND. CODE § 34-27-
3-1 appears to be theoretically available, its usage is
disfavored in Indiana law. See Zimmerman v. Indiana, 750
N.E.2d 337, 340 (Ind. 2001) (Rucker, ]., concurring) (“Man-
date is an extraordinary remedy viewed with extreme
disfavor.”). The DOC gives no example of a registrant
‘using a writ of mandate to challenge a registry listing
in Indiana. Finally, although registrants can, and have,
challenged registry errors in the course of criminal prose-
cutions for failure to comply with registration require-
ments, due process does not require a person to risk
additional criminal conviction as the price of correcting
an erroneous listing, especially where a simple pro-
cedural fix is available much earlier.

At this stage, we decline to outline in any more
detail what sort of process the DOC must enact. Instead
we leave it open for the parties to determine in further
proceedings (or, of course, the court, should the parties
fail to agree on a constitutionally adequate result). We
note in this connection that due process is “flexible and
calls for such procedural protections as the particular
situation demands.” Dupuy v. Samuels, 397 F.3d 493, 504
(7th Cir. 2005) (quoting Mathews, 424 U.S. at 334). It is
possible that a paper review system would suffice,
given the fact that registration requirements are not
discretionary. We also do not prejudge whether or to
what extent additional process would be required at
each re-registration event, assuming that the person’s
registration status has not changed. If there are reasons
to provide additional process at re-registration stages,
or there is no available judicial review of the DOC’s
denial of an appeal, the parties or the court will need
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to consider whether DOC must provide somewhat
more extensive process. See Dupuy, 397 F3d at 504
(“As long as substantial post-deprivation process is
available, the pre-deprivation process . . need not be
elaborate or extensive. Rather, in many situations, it
should be an initial check against mistaken decisions.”).

We conclude with the observation that providing addi-
tional procedures to correct registry errors may wind up
benefitting the state as well as registrants. Erroneously
labeling an offender a sexuél]y ~violent predator
imposes unnecessary monitoring costs on state law en-
forcement and reduces the efficacy of the registry in
providing accurate information to the public. See Indiana
Sex Offender Registry Full of Inaccuracies, EVANSVILLE
COURIER & PRESS, Apr. 21, 2012, available at http://lwww.
courierpress.com/news/2012/apr/21/indiana-sex-offender-
registry-full-inaccuracies/ (quoting the “director of legisla-
tive affairs at the National Center for Missing & Exploited
Children” calling the errors “troubling” because “[t]he
value of the public registry as a child protection tool is that
the information is accurate”). Reducing these errors is in
the interest of the state as well as the plaintiffs.

* % %

On remand, we encourage the parties to work together
to come to an agreement that fits within the boundaries
outlined above. As it stands, the DOC’s process is con-
stitutionally insufficient. We thus REVERSE the district
court’s grant of summary judgment and REMAND for
further proceedings consistent with this opinion.
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Case Summary

The Boone Circuit Court determined that Jerenuah Cline (“Cline”) is not required to
register as a sex offender, but also determined that it lacked authority to order the removal of
Cline’s name and information from the Indiana Sex Offender Registry (“the Registry”).
Cline appéals and presents the sole issue of whether the trial court has authornty to expunge
Cline’s information from the Registry. We affirm.

Facts and Procedural History

Then twentj~yea1‘-old Cline engaged in sexual intercourse with a fifteen-year-old in
February of 2001 and with a fourteen-year-old on June 4, 2001. On May 31, 2002, Cline
pled guilty to two counts of Sexual Misconduct with a Minor, as Class C felonies.! He was
sentenced to six years unprisonment, with two years suspended.

The Indiana Sex Offender Act (originally enacted n 1994) (“the Act”), was amended,
effective July 1, 2_()'01 such that one convicted of the crime of Sexual Misconduct with a
Minor, as a Class C felony, was required to register as a sex offender. Although Cline’s
crimes predated the statutory change, he was required upon release from incarceration to
register accordingly.

On July 26, 2011, Cline filed his “Amended Petition to Remove Petitioner From Sex
Offender Registration Requirement.” (App. 20.) A hearing was conducted on July 27. 2011.

On October 24, 2011, the trial court 1ssued an order with specific findings. The trial court

found that Cline had no obligation to continue to register as a sex offender, because

" UInd. Code § 35-42-4-9(a).



application of the statutory change would constitute ex post facto punishment as to him.
However, the trial court also found that it Jacked authority to expunge Cline’s existing
mformation from the Registry. This appeal ensued. |

Discussion and Decision

I. Standard of Review

Cline petitioned for relief pursuant to the provision of the Act allowing a sex offender
to petition to remove the designation or register under less restrictive conditions. Ind. Code §
11-8-8-22. Generally, a trial court’s ruling on a petition for relief filed under subsection 22 1s

reviewed for an abuse of discretion. Lucas v. McDonald. 954 N.E.2d 996, 998 (Ind. Ct. App.

2011). Here, however, the issue presented is one of law.
The mterpretation of a statute 1s a legal question that 1s reviewable de novo. Avemco

Ins. Co. v. State ex rel. McCarty, 812 N.E.2d 108, 115 (Ind. Ct. App. 2004). We owe no

deference to a trial comt’s determination. Bowling v. State, 960 N.E.2d 837, 841 (Ind. Ct.

App. 2012). The goal of statutory construction is to determine and implement legislative

intent. Fort Wayne Patrolmen’s Benev. Ass’n v. Fort Wavne, 903 N.E.2d 493, 497 (Ind. Ct.

App. 2009), rans. denied. We read all sections of an act and stirve to give effect to all
provisions. 1d. “We will not read into a statute that which is not the manitest intent of the

legislature. For this reason, 1t is as important to recognize not only what a statute says, but

also what a statute does not say.” Cox v. Cantrell, 866 N.E.2d 798, 809 (Ind. Ct. App.2007)
(citation and quotation marks omitted), trans. denied.

II. Analysis

(93]



Indiana law requires persons convicted of sex or violent crimes to report to and
register with local law enforcement. Ind. Code-§ 11-8-8-14. Sex offenders must fulfill
obligations including providing personal information, registering annually,’ being
photographed, and keeping law enforcement authority apprised of any changes in work or
residence. Seeid. Sex offender registry information appears on an Internet website jointly
eétablished and maintained by Indiana shenffs. Ind. Code § 36-2-13-5.5.

However, effects of the Act have been declared in violation of the ex post facto clause
contained in the Indiana Constitution,’ as applied to pelisons who had committed their crimes

prior to the mmposition of any registration requirement. See Wallace v. State, 905 N.E.2d

371, 384 (Ind. 2009) (defendant’s conviction for failing to register as a sex offender was
reversed becanse the registration statute, as applied to him, added punishment beyond that

which could have been imposed when he commutted his crime), reh’g denied; see also State

v. Pollard, 908 N.E.2d 1145, 1154 (Ind. 2009) (trial court properly dismissed charge that

Pollard violated the residency restriction provision of the Sex Offender Registration Act
when he had served his sentence before the Act was enacted and application to him would

add punishment bevond that possible when his crime was committed).*

? Sexually violent predators must register every 90 days. Ind. Code § 11-8-8-14(b).
> Article I, section 24 of the Indiana Constitution provides that “[n]o ex post facto law ... shall ever be passed.”

? However, on the same day that it handed down Wallace, our supreme cowt handed down Jensen v. State, 905
N.E.2d 384,394 (Ind. 2009). a plurality decision supporting the proposition that portions of the Act requuring
lifetime registration may be applied retroactively if the offender was already required to register at the time of
his offense. Jensen, who had pled guilty to child molesting wlile the registration statute included a ten-year
reporting requirement, and was subsequently adjudicated a sexually violent predator and ordered to register for
life, did not demonstrate a violation of the ex post facto clause. Id. See also Lemmon v. Harris, 949 N.E.2d
805 (Ind. 2011) (applymg Jensen and concluding that a sexual violent predator designation with lifetime
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Subsequent to the Wallace decision, our Legislature amended the Act such that 1t
includes a provision allowing a-sex offender to petition for removal of the designation,
providing 1n relevant part:

(c) A person to whom this section applies may petition a court to:

(1)  remove the person’s desighation as an offender; or

(2)  require the person to register under less restrictive conditions.

(d) A petition under this section shall be filed 1n the circuit or superior court of
the county in which the offender resides

() A cowrt may grant a petition under this section if, following a hearing, the
court makes the following findings:
(1) The law requiring the petitioner to register as an offender has changed
since the date on which the petitioner was 1nitially required to register.
(2) If the petitioner who was required to register as an offender before the
change in law engaged in the same conduct after the change i law occurred,
the petitioner would:
. (A) not be required to register as an offender; or

(B) be required to register as an offender, but under less restrictive
conditions.
(3) If the petiioner seeks relief under this section because a change in law
makes a previously unavailable defense available to the petitioner, that the
petitioner has proved the defense.

Ind. Code § 11-8-8-22(c)~(d).(g). Cline cbntends that the foregoing 1s a statutory codification
of Wallace, and must be mterpreted so as to not only relieve him of future obligations but
also to provide for removal of his name and existing information from the Registry.
According to Cline, complete expungement 1s required to avoid ex post facto punishment
because retention of identifying information (even without a duty to provide updates) has a
punitive effect upon him akin to the ex post facto punishment discussed i Wallace. He thus

argues that, not only should he not have to register m the future, he should be placed in a

registration requirements did not violate the ex post facto clause).

>



position as 1f lie had never reported lus personal information.

In Wallace, our supreme court recocnized that the Act unposes “sigmificant
P S &

affirmative obligations and a severe stigima on every person to whom it applies” and “exposes
registrants to profound humiliation and community-wide ostracism.” 905 N.E.2d at 379-80.
Mindful of such onerous effects, the Court highlighted a deficiency of the Act as 1t then
existed, observing:
In this jurisdiction the Act makes information on all sex offenders available to
the general public without restricion and without regard to whether the
individual poses any particular future risk. Indeed we think it significant for
this excessiveness mquiry that the Act provides no mechanism by which a
registered sex offender can petition the court for relief from the obligation of
continued registration and disclosure. Otfenders cannot shorten their
registration or notification period, even on the clearest proof of rehabilitation.
Wallace, 905 N.E.2d at 384. Effectively, our supreme court invited the Legislature to

provide a “mechanism by which a registered sex offender can petition the court for relief

from the oblieation of continued registration and disclosure™ or for shortening the time of

obligation. Id. (emphasis added.) The Legislature responded by enacting a mechanism for
relief from registration obligations and for sh01“[¢11i11g of the pertod of obligation. Notably,
the Wallace Court did not address expungement; nor did the legisiatiV'e response specifically
do so.

Although Cline claims he will have to endure the stigima associated with registration
even 1f he does not register in the futuwe, the fact that Cline communitted sex crimes is a matter
of public record. We do notread the Wallace decision as broadly as does Cline; 1t does not

msulate an offender from all punitive consequences associated with having committed his




crimes.’ Furthermore, the statutory provision under which Cline sought relief does not

include an expungement provision.®* We will not add such a provision. See Cox, 866 N.E.2d

at 809 (observing that we will not read into a statute that which is not the manifest intent of
the legislature).

Nonetheless, a pane] of this Court has very recently observed: “The undisputed facts

here establish that the DOC [the Indiana Department of Correction] determines whether an

mcarcerated mndividual belongs on the Registry and also handles complaints about mistaken

sex offender registrations.” Mvers v. Coats. 966 N.E.2d 652, 658 (Ind. Ct. App. 2012)

(emphasis added). We further observed that the DOC had added an administrative appeal to
allow for challenges to errors on the Registry. Id. at4, n.4. Cline 1s not precluded froin this
avenue, althoug_h we express no opinion on the breadth of relief to be afforded, if any.

Cline has not demonstrated his entitlement to expungerment as a judicial remedy; the
trial court did not nusapply the law. Accordingly, we affirm the trial court.

Affirmed.

> We acknowledge that, in Brogan v. State, 925 N.E.2d 1285, 1289 (Ind. Ct. App. 2010), a panel of this Cout

- stated that Indiana Code Section 11-8-8-22, as revised in 2010, “provides for a petition by a sex offender to
have his nanie removed from the designation as a sex offender so as to relieve him fromn the duty to register as
a sex offender.” In determining whether Brogan's motion for removal from the Registry was a cognizable
vehicle for his ex post facto argument, the Court appeared to equate “removal of the person’s name from any
sexual offender regiswy” with “relie[f] from the obligation to register.” Id. at 1289-90. In holdng that Noble
County was not the appropriate forum in which to obtain judicial relief directing removal of Brogan’s naine,
the Court observed: “One thing is patently clear from the Wallace decision. Brogan is entitled to have his
name remmoved from any sex offender registry which has resulted from his 1994 convictions in Noble County.”
Id. at 1291. See also Clampitt v. State, 932 N.E.2d 1256, 1238 (Ind. Ct. App. 2010) (directing the trial court
to consider an amended petition “to remove [Clampitt]’s name from Indiana’s sex offender registry™).

Az~

% The general expungement statute. Indiana Code § 35-38-5-1, affords relief only when there has been no
charge following an arrest or where a charge is disnussed because of mistaken identity, no offense was in fact
committed, or there is an absence of probable cause.



MATHIAS, J., concurs. -

ROBB, C.},, dissents with opinion. -
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ROBB, Chief Tudge, dissenting

I respectfully dissent. I begin to explain why by briefly describing the factual and
legal context. Upon Cline’s release from incarceration, a state office required Cline to add
his name and mformation to the sex offender registry. He later took the mitative to request
the court remove’ his name and information, alleging it was unlawful to require him to have

registered at all. Following a hearing, the trial court agreed with Cline that authorities

” The majority and the toial court refer to Cline’s request as one of expungement. While his
request for removal of bis pame and information from the registry does constitute “expungement” in some
form, expungement is a term of art which refess to complete removal of an arrest from one’s criminal
history retained by a local, regional, or state entity. see Ind. Code § 35-38-5-3, and Jimited access 10 one’s
criminal history upon the passage of fifteen years since the date of discharge from probation,
imprisonment, or parole, see Ind. Code 35-38-3-5. Expungement is sunilar to what Cline 1equests
regarding the sex offender registry. but the distinction is sigmificant enough and the similarity is potenually
confusing enough that I believe it important to use different nomenclamre in discussing Cline’s case. 1
refer to Cline’s request as one to remove his name and information from the sex offender registry. and
conclude his petition does not seek expungement of his arrest or conviction from his eriminal record.




violated the Indiana Constitution by requiring he add his name and imformation to the registiy
1n the first place. T agree, and the majority appears to as well.

The majority further concludes, though, that trial courts have no authority to correct
this admitted constitutional violation by ordering the removal of an erroneous-registrant’s
name and information from the registry. It is this latter conclusion from which I respectfully
dissent.

* Before going further, it is important to note what this case is not about. Itis not about
determining whether the registry requirement 1s an ex post facto law as applied to Cline. It1s
not about removing one’s name and information from the registry due to a change in the law
that eliminates an offense for which one must register. For instance, 1t 1s not about one who
initially registered pursuant to a statute requining registry for a conviction of sexual
misconduct with a minor and later seeks removal upon a statatory change so that one later
convicted of that offense is not required to register. This case is also not about removal of
one’s name and information from the registry or termination of the duty to register upon the
passage of a period of time since he or she began registering. See Ind. Code § 11-8-8-19(a).
Finally, this case 1s not about expungement of a conviction from one’s cruninal lustory or
record.

This 1s a case about whether a person who should not have had to but was erroneously
required to add his naine and information to the registry in the first place is entitled to relief

in the form of having his name and information removed. The backdrop is Wallace, in which

our supreme court lield that the sex offender registration act was unconstitutional as applied
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to one who committed Ins offense before the act was enacted. See 905 N.E.2d at 384.
Speciﬁcally, the court held that it “violates the prohibition on ex post facto laws contained in
the Indiana Constiution because 1t imposes burdens that have the effect of adding
punishment beyond that which could have been imposed when his crime was commutted.”
Id. The General Aésembly responded by amending Indiana Code sectipn 11-8-8-22 1o
address the supreme court’s ex post facto concem. -

Thus, this case 1s also about interpreting and applying section 11-8-8-22. This section
is poorly written and confusing. Nevertheless, a logical reading of the following subsections
- of section 11-8-8-22 determines the fate of Cline’s petition.®

(b) Subsection (g) applies to an offender required to register under this chapter
if, due to a change in federal or state law after June 30, 2007, an individual
who engaged in the same conduct as the offender: '
(1) would not be required to register under this chapter; or
(2) would be required to register under this chapter but under less
resfrictive conditions than the offender 1s required to meet.
(c) A person to whom this section applies may petition a court to:
(1) remove the person’s designation as an offender; . . .
(g) A court may grant a petition under this section if, following a hearing, the
cowt makes the following findings:
(1) The law requiring the petitioner to register as an offender has changed
since the date on which the petitioner was initially required to register.
(2) If the petitioner who was required to register as an offender before the
change m law engaged in the same conduct after the change mn law
occurred, the petitioner would:
(A) not be required to register as an offender; or
(B) be required to register as an offender, but under less restnctive
conditions.

® As to the principles governing our court’s interpretation of a statute, T agree with the majority’s
references to and reading of Avemco, Bowling, Fort Wayne Patrolmen’s Benev. Ass’n. and Cox. See Slip
Op. at 3.
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(3) If the petitioner seeks relief under this section because a change in law
makes a previously unavailable defense available to the petitioner, that the
petitioner has proved the defense.

The court has the discretion to deny a petition under this section, even if the

court makes the findings under this subsection.

Ind. Code § 11-8-8-22.

Subsection {c) states that the relief Chine seeks 1s available so long as the section
applies to Cline. Subsection (b) states that a cowt may grant a petition to remove one’s
designation as an offender, referring to subsection (g), 1f “a change in federal or state law”
after a certain date resulted in particular consequences for others. Subsection (g) also
describes a court’s authority regarding the registry when particular changes in the law occur.

The only way the repeated references to a “change in law” m section 11-8-8-22 make
sense is if the section addresses the supreme court’s concern that some applications of the
registry laws lead to violations of the Indiana Constitition’s ex post facto clanse. If the
statute — particularly subsection (c) — does not mean that a court may remove an otfender’s

name and information from the registry, then 1t has no meaning at all. “The goal of statutory

construction 1s to determine, give effect to, and implement the intent of the General

Assembly.” Sanders v. Bd. of Comm’ss of Brown Cntv., 892 N.E.2d 1249, 1252 (Ind. Ct.
App. 2008), trans. denied. “[I]n seeking to give effect to the legislature’s intent, we . . .
strive to give effect to all of the provisions so that no part is held meaningless 1f it can be
reconciled with the rest of the statute. We presume that our legislature intended for its

language to be applied in a logical manner consistent with the statute’s underlying policy and

goals.” Fort Wayne Patrolimen’s Benev. Ass’n, 903 N.E.2d at 497-98 (citations omitted).



Further, to the extent 1t 1s clear that section 11-8-8-22 is intended to address the
Indiana Constin.ltion’s prohibition of ex post facto laws, the authority 1o remove an
offender’s name and information from the registry must rest with someone. Subsection (c)
states that the authority rests with the trial court. The majority suggests Chne take up his
cause with the Department of Correctio_n. Ibelieve the trial couut is the appropriate authority,
first because it 1s explicitly designated as such in subsection (¢), and second because Cline’s
allegation that his listing violates the Indiana Constitution 1s one which trial courts have the
authority and legal training to address.

The majonty also supports its decision, mn part, by contending that removal of Cline’s
name and information from the registry would be poimntless because Cline’s convictions
would remain part of the public record even if he receives the relief he seeks. This implies
that the registry is not hazmful or punitive, and perhaps 1s merely a replica of the already-
public criminal history of offenders. Our supreme cowrt concluded that the regisiry is
punitive for its relative excessiveness, especially, as the majority points out, because as
fonnulated at the time of Wallace, there was “no mechanism by which a registered sex

~offender can petition the court for relief from the obligation of contmued registration and
disclosure.” Shp Op. at 6 (quoting Wallace, 905 N.E.2d at 334). As the majorify notes,
section 11-8-8-22 might have partially or fully addressed this concern.

Regardless, the supreme court concluded the registry is punitive for other reasons too:
because it “impose[s] substantial disabilities on registrants,” Wallace, 905 N E.2d at 380,

“resembles the punishment of shaming,” is “comparable to conditions of supervised



probation or parole,” id. at 381, and 1t “promote(s] community condemmation of the
offender,” id. at 382 (quotation omitted). Therefore, it is incorrect to suggest thatremoval of
Cline’s name from the registry would be pointless. To the extent the majority constiues
Clipe’s reduest as one to eliminate all pumitive consequences associated with having
committed his offenses, I believe that to be a different issue.

For these reasons, I respectfully dissent.
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Exhibit F: Potential amendment to
sex and violent system draft offered
by Larry Landis



POTENTIAL AMENDMENT TO SEX AND VIOLENT OFFENDER RESISTRATION SYSTEM DRAFT
10/17/12 Criminal Law & Sentencing Policy Study Committee

1. Removes the requirement that the department maintain the names of persons no longer required
to register on the Sex and Violent Offender Registry

2. Allows a person who is no longer required to register due to a change in state or federal law to
petition the court to remove the person from the registry.

iC11-8-2-13
Operation of the Indiana sex and violent offender registry
Sec. 13. (a) The indiana sex and violent offender registry established under IC 36-2-13-5.5 and
maintained by the department under section 12.4 of this chapter must include the names of each
offender who is erhas-been-required to register under IC 11-8-8.
{b) The department shall do the following: _
{1) Ensure that the Indiana sex and violent offender registry is updated at least once per day with
information provided by a local law enforcement authority (as defined in 1C 11-8-8-2).
{2V puhlish the Indiana sex and violent offender registry on the Internet through the computer
caievuay administered by the
oliice of technology established by IC 4-13.1-2-1, and ensure that the Indiana sex and violent offender
registry displays the following or similar words:

"Based on information submitted to law enforcement, a person whose name appears in this
ragistry has been convicted of a sex or violent offense or has been adjudicated a delinguent child for an
acl that would be a sex or violent offense if committed by an adult.”.

As added by P.L.140-2006, SEC.11 and P.L.173-2006, SEC.11. Amended by P.L.216-2007, SEC.9.

1€ 11-8-8-22
Procedure for retroactive application of ameliorative statutes

Sec. 22. (a) As used in this section, "offender” means a sex offender {as defined in section 4.5 of this
chapter) and a sex or violent offender (as defined in section 5 of this chapter).

(b) Subsection (g} applies to an offender required to register under this chapter if, due to a change in
federal or state law after June 30, 2007, an individual who engaged in the same conduct as the offender:

(1) would not be required to register under this chapter; or
{2) would be required to register under this chapter but under less restrictive conditions than the
offender is required to meet. '

(c) A person to whom this section applies may petition a court to:

(1) remove the person’s designation as an offender and remove all information regarding the
person from the registry; or
(2) require the person to register under less restrictive conditions; or.

(d) A petition under this section shall be filed in the circuit or superior court of the county in which the
offender resides. If the offender resides in more than one {1) county, the petition shall be filed in the
circuit or superior court of the county in which the offender resides the greatest time. If the offender
does not reside in Indiana, the petition shall be filed in the circuit or superior court of the county where
the offender is employed the greatest time. If the offender does not reside or work in Indiana, but is a
student in Indiana, the petition shall be filed in the circuit or superior court of the county where the
offender is a student. If the offender is not a student in Indiana and does not reside or work in indiana,
the petition shall be filed in the county where the offender was most recently convicted of a crime listed
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in section 5 of this chapter.
(e) After receiving a petition under this section, the court may:
(1) summarily dismiss the petition; or
(2) give notice to:
(A) the department;
(B) the attorney general;
{C) the prosecuting attorney of:
(i} the county where the petition was filed;
(i1) the county where offender was most recently convicted of an offense listed in section 5 of
this chapter; and
(iii) the county where the offender resides; and
(D) the sheriff of the county where the offender resides;
and set the matter for hearing. The date set for a hearing must not be less than sixty (60) days after the
court gives notice under this subsection.

{f} If a court sets a matter for a hearing under this section, the prosecuting attorney of the county in
which the action is pending shall appear and respond, unless the prosecuting attorney requests the
attorney general to appear and respond and the attorney general agrees to represent the interests of
the <tate 'n the matter. If the attorney general agrees to appear, the attorney general shall give notice
to:

{A) the prosecuting attorney; and
{B) the court.

{g) A court may grant a petition under this section if, following a hearing, the court makes the

following findings:
{1) The law requiring the petitioner to register as an offender has changed since the date on which
the petitioner was initially required to register.
{2) If the petitioner who was required to register as an offender before the change in law engaged
in the same conduct after the change in law occurred, the petitioner would:
(A} not be required to register as an offender; or
{B) be required to register as an offender, but under less restrictive conditions.
(3) If the petitioner seeks relief under this section because a change in law makes a previously
unavailable defense available to the petitioner, that the petitioner has proved the defense.
The court has the discretion to deny a petition under this section, even if the court makes the findings
under this subsection.

{h) The petitioner has the burden of proof in a hearing under this section.

(1) If the court grants a petition under this section, the court shall notify:

(1) the victim of the offense, if applicable;

(2) the department of correction; and

(3) the local law enforcement authority of every county in which the petitioner is currently required
to register.

{}) An offender may base a petition filed under this section on a claim that the application or
registration requirements constitute ex post facto punishment.

(k) A petition filed under this section must:

(1) be submitted under the penalties of perjury;
{2) list each of the offender’s criminal convictions and state for each conviction:
{A) the date of the judgment of conviction;
(B) the court that entered the judgment of conviction;
{C) the crime that the offender pled guilty to or was convicted of; and
(D) whether the offender was convicted of the crime in a trial or pled guilty to the criminal
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charges; and
(3) list each jurisdiction in which the offender is required to register as a sex offender or a violent

offender.
{I) The attorney general may initiate an appeal from any order granting an offender relief under this

section.
As added by P.L.216-2007, SEC.30. Amended by P.L.103-2010, SEC.2.
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