2009 Statehood Day Essay Contest

A record-setting crop of nearly 2,500 essays were submitted for the 2009 contest. The following students will receive awards at the 2009 Statehood Day Ceremony:

1st place                       Megan Moran – Killbuck (Anderson) Elementary (Mrs. Dawn Sachse)

2nd place                     Nixon Williams - Adams (Sheridan) Elementary (Mrs. Lechner)

3rd place                      Peyton Newman – Pulaski (Winamac) Elementary (Mr. Gary Nellens)

Hon. Mention              Grace Long – Home Schooled, Greenwood (Mrs. Rachel Long)

Hon. Mention               Renee Zachery - Adams (Sheridan) Elementary (Mrs. Lechner)

View Megan Moran’s first-place essay!