Professional Development Office

The Professional Development Office (PDO) supports the advancement and development of library staff in all Indiana libraries for improved services to the citizens of Indiana. The PDO includes specialists in the areas of programming, children’s services, continuing education opportunities, and services available from the Indiana State Library.

PDO Staff

(317) 232-3697 or (800) 451-6028 (Indiana only),  StatewideServices@library.in.gov  

Associate Director of Statewide Services - Wendy Knapp, 317-232-3691, wknapp@library.IN.gov

PDO Supervisor - Suzanne Walker, 317-232-3718, suwalker@library.in.gov
Oversees the work of the Professional Development Office. Acts as Co-Director of the Indiana Center for the Book. Acts as the Regional Coordinator for the Indianapolis Public Library.


Children’s Services Consultant - Beth Yates, 317-234-5649, byates@library.in.gov
Provides consulting and programming support in the area of children’s and young adult services.

Regional Coordinators act as liaisons for the Indiana State Library and libraries of all types in different regions of Indiana.

Northeast Regional Coordinator - Paula Newcom, 317-447-0452, pnewcom@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include public libraries and reference services.

Northwest Regional Coordinator - Kimberly Brown-Harden, 317-650-8492, kbrown-harden@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include information literacy and collection development.

Southeast Regional Coordinator - Courtney Allison, 317-910-5777, callison@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include public libraries, Evergreen, makerspaces, and programming.

Southwest Regional Coordinator - Amber Painter, 317-605-3772, apainter1@library.in.gov
Special areas of expertise include community engagement, STEM programming, and makerspaces.

PDO SW 6-14-2017