IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Respiratory Care Committee > Reinstatement Of An Expired License Reinstatement Of An Expired License

Renewal Information
Renewal information may be obtained by
contacting the Respiratory Care Committee.  Please be sure to provide your name, current address and license number with any written correspondence.

Expired Licenses - Penalty Fees
A licensee my reinstate a respiratory care license up to three (3) years after the expiration date by paying a late fee of $50.00 in addition to the renewal fee of $50.00, for a total fee of $100.00.  You may renew online at
PLA Online Services or contact our office to request an application. 

Expired Licenses - After Three (3) Years
If your respiratory care license has been expired for three (3) years or more you must
contact the Respiratory Care Committee for an application.   You will be required to complete the following:       

1.  Completion of reinstatement application.
2.  Payment of a Reinstatement Fee (Current renewal fee plus the current application fee):  $100.00
3.  Proof of continuing education for the time period the license has been expired. (See chart below.)
4.  Submission of list of employment and what you have been doing in respiratory care since the expiration of your license. 

5.  The Committee may require you to appear ffor further review of your request for reinstatement of your license. 
6.  The Committee may require you to retake and pass the current entry level National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) examination with proof of the current examination results submitted to the Committee.  If this is required please contact the NBRC at:

National Board of Respiratory Care, Inc.
10801 Mastin Street, Suite 300

Overland Park, KS  66210-1614

Telephone:  (913) 895-4900
Fax:              (913) 712-9283
Web Site:  http://www.nbrc.org/
Email:        nbrc@nbrc.org  

Continuing Education Requirements
Information regarding
continuing education requirements is located at the Committee's website. Below is a chart of how many continuing education hours you may be required to complete in order to renew your license based upon the expiration date:

LICENSE EXPIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS REQUIRED
December 31, 1992 180*
December 31, 1994 180
December 31, 1996 165
December 31, 1998 150
December 31, 2000 135
December 31, 2002 120
December 31, 2004 105
December 31, 2006 90
December 31, 2008 75
December 31, 2010 60
December 31, 2012 45
December 31, 2014 30
December 31, 2016 15

*Respiratory care practitioners were not required to complete continuing education for the renewal of their license in 1992.