IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana Auctioneer Commission > License Application & Instruction License Application & Instruction

The applications listed below are available online, in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat, you can download it http://www.adobe.com/.

Please submit completed applications and payment to:

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
Attn: Indiana Auctioneer Commission
402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Email pla9@pla.in.gov with any questions.

AUCTIONEER APPLICATIONS AND FORMS 

Applicants will be contacted by staff to schedule the exam.  The exam is given six (6) times a year at the Indiana Government Center South, 402 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204.
Please include the following items when applying as a temporary permit applicant:
  • Completed and signed application (please include an email address for correspondence)
  • $35.00 fee
  • A letter from the owner of the property which includes the following:
    • An affidavit attesting to the fact the applicant is qualified to conduct said auction
    • Date and location of the auction
    • Property to be sold at the auction
  • In order to be eligible for a one time temporary permit, an applicant must sit for the examination. 
All applications for temporary permits must be approved by the Commission.  Applications are reviewed only during regular meetings, so please plan accordingly.
Please include the following items when applying as a reciprocal applicant:
  • Completed and signed application (please include an email address for correspondence)
  • Original verification of license (from the State of issuance)
  • $70.00 issuance fee

In order to be eligible for a reciprocal license an applicant must hold an active license issued by a state Indiana has a reciprocal agreement with and reside in that state.  Indiana has reciprocal agreements with:  Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Please include the following items when applying as an Expired/Non-Renewable (expired over 4 years) license holder:

  • Completed and signed application for the examination indicating your previous Indiana Auctioneer License number in response to "previous licenses held" at the bottom of page one
  • Submit certificates documenting sixteen (16) hours of required continuing education courses obtained no more than three (3) years prior to the application date.
  • $35.00 examination fee

All licensees previously issued an Indiana Auctioneer license are no longer eligible for a reciprocal license once their Indiana license is expired. All expired/non-renewable licensees are required to pass the examination and submit 16 hours of continuing education before they are issued a new license.

This form serves as the written notice required by statute of an exempt individual notifying the Commission of operating an auction company.  Per IC 25-6.1-3-4(2)(i):  Any individual who wishes to operate an auction company, and who is exempt under subsection (a) from obtaining an auction company license, shall, not more than thirty (30) days before the date on which the individual begins to operate an auction company, notify the Commission, in a writing signed by the individual, that the individual is operating as an auction company or as more than one (1) auction company.  The individual shall specify in such written notification the trade or business name, and the address of the principle place of business, of each auction company which the individual operates. 

AUCTION COMPANY APPLICATIONS AND FORMS

  • Application for Auction Company License

    Please include the following items when applying for an auction company license:
    • Completed and signed application
    • $70.00 fee
    • Proof of organizational structure (Can be in the form of:  documentation from the Indiana Secretary of State, a legal document prepared by an attorney, and/or a written, notarized agreement signed by all parties involved.)

PRE-LICENSING AND CE COURSE SPONSOR APPLICATIONS AND FORMS

All applications for provider must be approved by the Commission.  Applications are reviewed only during regular meetings, so please plan accordingly.