Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
Dental and Dental Hygiene Licenses expire on March 1, 2012. Not only do you renew your license you will also renew your Controlled Substance Registration (CSR), General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation Permit, Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permit, and Dental Hygiene Anesthetic Permit. Please make sure that your email address and address of record is current with the Board.
**NEW CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR 2014**
For the next renewal period, March 2, 2012 to March 1, 2014, dentist and dental hygienist will be required to complete one-half of their continuing education in live presentations or live workshops. This was a 2011 legislative change.
- Dentist will be required to complete ten (10) hours of the required twenty (20) hours of continuing education in live presentations or live workshops. (IC 25-14-1-16(b))
- Dental Hygienist will be required to complete seven (7) hours of the required fourteen (14) hours of continuing education in live presentation or live workshops. (IC 25-13-3-8(a))
RENEWAL INFORMATION SENT BY EMAIL
Renewal Information will be emailed to all Licensee's with a valid email address on December 16, 2011. Licensee's who do not have a valid email address on file will be mailed license renewal information on December 30, 2011 to the licensee's address of record with the Board.
LICENSE EXPRESS - ONLINE RENEWAL AVAILABLE DECEMBER 16, 2011
You will be able renew your license, registration or permits online at License Express on or after December 16, 2011.
RENEW BY MAIL
If you prefer to renew by mail, license renewal forms will be available after December 19, 2011, please contact the Dental group at (317) 234-2054 or by email at email@example.com to receive a printed renewal form. Please be sure to give us your name, address, telephone number and license number or social security number.
Dental License $100.00
Controlled Substance Registration $60.00
Dental General Anesthesia, Deep Sedation Permit $50.00
Dental Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permit $50.00
Dental Hygiene License $50.00
Dental Hygiene Anesthetic Permit $25.00
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR 2012 RENEWAL
Dentists are required to have completed twenty (20) hours of continuing education acquired between March 2, 2010 and March 1, 2012. All dentists are required to complete a two (2) hour course which covers Ethics, Professional Responsibility and Indiana Statutes and Administrative Rules.
Dental Hygienists are required to have completed fourteen (14) hours of continuing education acquired between March 2, 2010 and March 1, 2012. All Dental Hygienists are required to complete a Basic Life Support course and a two (2) hour course which covers Ethics, Professional Responsibility and Indiana Statutes and Administrative Rules.
A Dentist or Dental Hygienist may request to be placed on "Inactive Status" at renewal by submitting the following:
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency no longer automatically mails updated license cards when your license is renewed. You can determine if your renewal has been received and processed by accessing our free Online Verification Search. Please allow 24 hours (1 business day) for your license to be updated. Once you verify that your license has been renewed, you may print or order a new license card online at Services.IN.gov/License Express. You will be given the option to download a free license card for immediate printing or to purchase a blue license card to be mailed to you. Step by Step directions to obtain a license card.
DISPLAY OF LICENSE
Indiana law requires those engaged in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene to display their license where they are practicing. Therefore you must either download the free license card or purchase an updated blue card to post.
Dentist: The license shall be properly displayed at all times in the office of the person named as the holder of the license, and a person may not be considered to be in legal practice if the person does not possess the license and renewal card.
Dental Hygienist: The license to practice must be displayed at all times in plain view of the patients in the office where the holder is engaged in practice. No person may lawfully practice dental hygiene who does not possess a license and its current renewal.
You may have the name changed on your licensure records by submitting a legal name change document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, social security card or other legal name change documents). Please FAX (317/233-4236), Email (PLA8@pla.in.gov) or mail your name change information to:
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
ATTN: Indiana State Board of Dentistry
402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Please include your name as it is listed now, your new name, and your license number or social security number.