General RequirementsApplicants for licensure as a manufactured home installer must meet the following general requirements:
- Be at least eighteen (18) years of age
- Provide documentation of successful completion of the board approved installation training courses
- Have verified documentation of at least one (1) year of experience installing manufactured homes
- Have not been convicted of an act that would constitute a ground for disciplinary action in this or another state in connection with the installation of manufactured homes
Training Course Requirements
Applicants for licensure as a manufactured home installer must meet the following training course requirements:
- Successfully complete eight (8) hours of total classroom instruction by an approved provider. These hours should consist of:
- A minimum of two (2) hours of classroom instruction in the following:
- IC 25-23.7, Indiana manufactured home installer's act
- IC 25-1-11, professional licensing standards of practice
- 675 IAC 14, Indiana residential code, as adopted by the fire prevention and building safety commission
- 410 IAC 6-6. mobile home park sanitation and safety, as adopted by the Indiana State Department of Health
- Applicable federal and Indiana statutes, rules, and regulations governing manufactured home installation.
- A minimum of one-half (1/2) hour in professional ethics
- A minimum of two (2) hours in installation manual in the following subject areas:
- Manufacturer's installation manuals and requirements
- Preparation of manufactured housing sites
- Installation of foundation systems
- A minimum of two (2) hours in safety in the following subject areas:
- Blocking, perimeter support, and leveling of manufactured homes
- Structural connections of sections and major components
- Installation of anchoring systems and components
- Installation of vapor barriers, curtain walls, access, and ventilation for crawlspace areas
- A minimum of one-half (1/2) hour in utility connections between sections in the following subject areas:
- Electrical connections between sections
- Plumbing connections between sections
- Mechanical equipment connections between sections
- Gas equipment and appliance connections within the home
- Connections of vents, ducts, carpet, and other nonstructural components
The educational topics listed are minimums for each topic. Additional classroom time, over and above those listed above, shall be detailed within the educational outline information and is to be in areas relating to the installation of manufactured homes.
|Indiana Manufactured Housing Association||CE10600353|
|James K. Keller||CE21000939|
Contact information can be found by utilizing the search and verify option on our website--enter the license number in the appropriate box. The Board does not maintain a course schedule for any provider. Please contact the provider for course offerings and other information.
Proof of completion of the pre-licensing course must accompany the application.
- Submit proof of insurance issued by an insurance company authorized to transact business in Indiana showing that the applicant, either directly or through the applicants employer, is covered by a policy of general liability insurance with products/completed operations coverage in the minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per occurrence, one million dollars ($1,000,000) aggregate.
- Post with the board a surety bond that:
- Names the applicant as the principal
- Obligates the surety in the amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) to the board in favor of the state
- Requires the principal , if granted a license, to install manufactured homes in conformance with the manufacturer's installation manual and to observe all applicable federal, state, and local statutes and regulations
- Authorizes the board to declare the bond in default and to levy against the surety and the principal under the bond for the payment of actual damages to any person who is harmed as a result of the principal's violation of the requirements