Rokita to be Sworn in During Public Ceremony

Contact: Heather Sewell

Rokita to be Sworn in During Public Ceremony
Statewide Officials to be Recognized in Inaugural Ceremony

Indianapolis, IN - Indiana's 59th Secretary of State will participate in a Statewide Inaugural Ceremony tomorrow. Todd Rokita, the nation's 2nd youngest Secretary of State, along with State Auditor, Connie Nass, State Treasurer, Tim Berry, and State Clerk of Courts, Brian Bishop, will receive special honors from the public in an inauguration ceremony on Wednesday, January 8, 2003 beginning at 1:00pm in the Rotunda of the Statehouse.

Rokita succeeds Sue Anne Gilroy, who will be on hand to give a special introduction of Rokita as Indiana's Secretary of State. "I look forward to working with other Hoosier leaders and citizens to safeguard voting rights, protect investors and continue to make the office of the Indiana Secretary of State a place where other states come to learn how to serve their citizens better," stated Rokita.

For upcoming information on election reform, visit the Secretary of State's website,