- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Secretary of State

Election Division > IED Staff > News > 2004 Press Releases > For Immediate Release: November 15, 2004 Secretary of State Todd Rokita is today distributing election reform money to 33 Indiana counties

Rokita Distributes Voting Equipment Funds

Indianapolis, IN - Indiana Secretary of State Todd Rokita is today distributing election reform money to 33 Indiana counties. This is the latest round of funding from the Help America Vote Act (HAVA). The counties will share more than $7.5 million in federal and state money that is being distributed by Rokita's office this month. A total of $13.7 million has been distributed to Indiana counties this year to help pay for voting equipment upgrades resulting from the required phase-out of lever and punch card voting machines.

Rokita is personally delivering three of the checks today to Vanderburgh, Perry and Dubois counties. Other counties receiving reimbursements are the following: Blackford, Brown, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Decatur, Dekalb, Grant, Hamilton, Hendricks, Henry, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Jefferson, Knox, Marshall, Miami, Monroe, Pulaski, Putnam, Rush, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Wabash, Wayne, Wells, and Whitley.

The Help America Vote Act was passed in response to the 2000 Presidential Election. HAVA mandates that punch card and lever machine voting systems be replaced throughout the country by January 1, 2006. There are a number of Indiana counties that will be eligible for additional funding in the coming months. A spreadsheet detailing how much each county is receiving this month is attached to this release.

HAVA Reimbursements on October on Budget Committees Agenda