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How you can keep your life insurance going…  
even if your group coverage ends.  
If any portion of your Minnesota Life group life insurance coverage terminates (because your employment or membership 
in a class eligible for insurance terminates or the master group contract terminates or is amended), you may be able to 
continue your life insurance protection. Your right to do this is called a conversion privilege, and its features are described 
here for you.  
 
In order to exercise your conversion privilege, you must—within 31 days after your group insurance ends—submit the 
conversion enrollment form attached and the first premium payment. Your conversion rights are subject to the master 
contract under which you are insured.  
 
How can I continue my life insurance protection when my group coverage terminates?  
You can continue your protection by taking out an individual life insurance policy. You do not have to prove that you are 
insurable, but you must submit your enrollment form and first premium payment within 31 days after your group 
coverage ends.  
 
What about my family’s insurance?  
If your group coverage includes life insurance on your dependents, you may be able to continue their protection under 
individual policies. Check your certificate to make sure they qualify. 
  
What about temporary layoffs? 
It’s not usually necessary to enroll for conversion if you are laid off temporarily. You can usually make arrangements 
with your employer to keep your group insurance in force.  
 
What if the master group contract terminates or is amended?  
Depending upon applicable state law and the terms of the master group contract, you may be eligible to convert all or a 
portion of your group life insurance.  
 
How much insurance can I get?  
If your coverage terminates for any reason other than cancellation or amendment of the master contract, you can convert 
all or any portion of your group insurance. If your master group contract terminates or is amended and you are eligible to 
convert, the amount you are eligible to convert will depend on applicable state law and the terms of the master group 
contract. Call our toll-free number for details.  
 
What if I die before I have a chance to convert my insurance?  
If you die during the 31-day conversion period, your beneficiary will receive the full amount of your group insurance that 
was available for conversion—whether or not you enrolled to continue your coverage. Any premium paid for a new policy 
will be refunded.  
 
What kind of policy will be issued?  
You will be issued a whole life insurance policy known as Secure Protector Whole Life.  
 

Secure Protector Whole Life features: 

 Premiums are payable until death. 
 Face amount of insurance payable at death. 
 Living benefit builds cash value. 
 Premium amount remains the same (based on your age at time of conversion). 

 

Dividends: 
Each year Minnesota Life determines whether to allocate and distribute a portion of our surplus to various classes 
of policies and, as applicable, the extent to which your policy will share in this distribution. Your policy’s share is 
referred to as a dividend and will be credited on your policy anniversary under one of the dividend options shown 
below. The distribution of a dividend is not guaranteed.  
 
Select one of the following dividend options for any such distributions: 
 Cash – Paid in cash to the policyowner. 
 Paid-Up Additions – Used to purchase paid-up additional insurance coverage. This is the default dividend option 

at issue if no selection is made. 
 Accumulation – Dividend left with Minnesota Life to accumulate at interest. 

Conversion to Secure Protector Whole Life 
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Dividend options cont’d: 

 Reduced Premiums – Used to pay all or part of the annual premium with any balance paid in cash. Policyowner 
is billed for balance of premium if dividend is insufficient to pay annual premium. Annual premium frequency is 
required. 

 Reduce Premiums with Balance to Paid-Up Additions – Used to pay all or part of annual premium with balance 
used to purchase paid-up additional insurance. Policyowner is billed for balance of premium if dividend is 
insufficient to pay annual premium. Annual premium frequency is required. 

 Loan Repayment – Used to repay a policy loan with any balance paid in cash. 
 Loan Repayment with Balance to Paid Up Additions – Used to repay a policy loan with balance used to purchase 

paid-up additional insurance.   
 

Automatic premium loan 
Should you fail to make a premium payment before the end of the grace period we will: (1) Use any dividend 
accumulations you left with us to pay the premium and (2) If necessary we will make a policy loan to pay the balance of 
the premium. Please indicate on the enrollment form if you want the premium loan to be operative.  
 
How much will it cost?  
Your premiums will be at Minnesota Life’s regular rates in use at the time your new policy is issued, depending on your 
age at the time you convert. Use the rates shown in this brochure to determine your initial premium. Rates are subject to 
change.  
 

How do I determine my new premium?  
1. Determine your issue age. The effective date of your new policy will usually be 31 days from the date your group 

coverage terminates. Your issue age is your current age if, on the effective date of your new policy, more than six 
months remain until your next birthday. Otherwise, it is the age you will be on your next birthday.  

2. Find the annual premium rate per $1,000 for your issue age in the rate table.  
3. Multiply the rate by the amount of insurance you are requesting.  
4. Add the annual policy charge of $3.00 per $1,000 of coverage, not to exceed $75.00. 

 
Can I pay more often than once a year?  
You may make premium payments quarterly or semiannually if each payment is at least $10. To determine a semiannual 
premium, multiply your annual premium by 0.52. To determine a quarterly premium, multiply the annual premium by 0.27. 
You must initially pay a quarterly premium payment to establish your individual life contract. After that, you may choose to 
pay your premiums monthly using an automatic EFT option AFTER your individual life policy has been established. See 
the examples provided.  
 
Here are examples to help you determine your new premium. Please complete the column below. 

Line                          Example 1          Example 2      You 
1. Birth date Sept. 6, 1958 Sept. 6, 1958  
2. Last day of coverage April 30, 2013 April 30, 2013  
3. Effective date of new policy (the first of the month 

following 31 days after line 2) 
June 1, 2013 June 1, 2013  

4. Actual age on effective date of new policy 54 54  
5. Are there more than six months from the effective date 

(line 3) of your new policy until your next birthday? (Yes 
or No) 

No No  

6. Issue age on effective date of new policy. If ‘Yes’ on line 

5, your issue age equals your actual age on line 4; if ‘No,’ 

your issue age is the age you will be on your next 
birthday. 

55 55  

7. Amount of new insurance $22,167 $75,000  
8. Premium rate per $1,000 for age on line 6 $33.913811 $33.913811  
9. Amount times rate divided by 1,000 = 

(line 7 times line 8 divided by 1,000) 
$751.77 $2,543.54  

10. Annual policy charge = $3.00 per $1,000 coverage, 
to a maximum of $75.00 

$66.50 $75.00  

11. Annual premium = (line 9 plus line 10) $818.27 $2,618.54  
How to determine premium payment amount for semiannual or quarterly payments:  
Semiannual premium = Annual premium (line 11) x 0.52 $425.50 $1,361.64  

Quarterly premium = Annual premium (line 11) x 0.27 $220.93 $707.01  
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How do I convert?  
Complete the enrollment form attached. Use your beneficiary’s full name (no initials) and show the relationship of each 
beneficiary to you (for example, wife). Sign and date the enrollment form using your full name (no initials) and mail it to 
Minnesota Life along with your first premium payment.  
 
If you want to convert your dependents’ insurance, complete a separate enrollment form for each individual. Sign the 
enrollment form as “Employee,” and have your dependent (if legally old enough to sign) sign as “Person Converting.”  
 

Annual premium rate per $1,000* 

Age Premium Rate Age Premium Rate Age Premium Rate Age Premium Rate 

0 $3.405214 28 $10.380366 56 $36.118649 84 $207.325837 
1 $3.487338 29 $10.807101 57 $38.477053 85 $219.984356 
2 $3.590822 30 $11.258580 58 $41.000748 86 $233.150628 
3 $3.707466 31 $11.737624 59 $43.731366 87 $246.849016 
4 $3.834492 32 $12.245215 60 $46.675282 88 $260.653737 
5 $3.969973 33 $12.783494 61 $49.638134 89 $274.384295 
6 $4.111884 34 $13.353201 62 $52.811194 90 $287.840850 
7 $4.260060 35 $13.955154 63 $56.194285 91 $301.099741 
8 $4.414807 36 $14.501190 64 $59.795413 92 $315.681050 
9 $4.576456 37 $15.076348 65 $63.638884 93 $331.529904 

10 $4.745363 38 $15.683005 66 $67.529924 94 $348.520788 
11 $4.871414 39 $16.320469 67 $71.789489 95 $366.490037 
12 $5.001302 40 $16.992538 68 $76.306547 96 $383.439525 
13 $5.134276 41 $17.700573 69 $81.292046 97 $399.578868 
14 $5.271017 42 $18.445530 70 $86.629652 98 $413.676558 
15 $5.410310 43 $19.227957 71 $92.431114 99 $430.876861 
16 $7.236744 44 $20.049090 72 $98.862675 100 $450.316465 
17 $7.437974 45 $20.907995 73 $105.659971 101 $470.543432 
18 $7.641633 46 $21.894751 74 $113.149431 102 $493.125679 
19 $7.849515 47 $22.935237 75 $121.159768 103 $518.313623 
20 $8.063960 48 $24.032376 76 $128.412362 104 $546.763426 
21 $8.286409 49 $25.201517 77 $136.236811 105 $579.562620 
22 $8.517876 50 $26.449097 78 $144.649950 106 $614.031195 
23 $8.758427 51 $27.775247 79 $153.646608 107 $650.029113 
24 $9.009635 52 $29.185444 80 $163.214278 108 $687.349881 
25 $9.222898 53 $30.676362 81 $173.402144 109 $726.252697 
26 $9.590986 54 $32.253171 82 $184.088620 110 $766.079012 
27 $9.976747 55 $33.913811 83 $195.361695   

 
*Rates are subject to change if it’s determined they must change for all insureds. 
  Annual policy charge is $3.00 per $1,000 of coverage to a maximum of $75.00 per year. 
 

 

 

 

 

For more information about your 
conversion privilege, call Minnesota Life’s 
toll-free number, 1-866-293-6047. 

 
 
 



Conversion of Group Life Insurance Enrollment

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company

400 Robert Street North           St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098 
abcdA

Name of person converting (please print first name, initial, last name) Relationship to employee

Employee Spouse Child

 GenderSocial  Security number Date of birth Telephone number

Male Female

 Street address City State Zip code

Name of employee (if other than person converting) Date of birth Telephone number

Reason for termination of group insurance Name of previous employer

Termination of employment on (date)
Group policy numberRetirement on (date)

No longer eligible as a dependent on  (date)
Amount of group insurance terminating

Other

New (Converted) Insurance
Amount of premium
attached

 Premiums payableAmount of insurance
being converted

 Type of insurance policy

x   Annually   Semiannually   QuarterlySecure Protector Whole Life$ $
Dividend options (see page 1 for choices; defaults to paid-up additions if no selection made)

Automatic premium loan (defaults to having this provision if no selection is made)

Do you want the Automatic Premium Loan to be operative? NoYes

Beneficiary
Subject to the policy beneficiary provisions. Right is reserved to revoke and change any beneficiary not designated irrevocable.  

PRIMARY BENEFICIARY(IES) - The person or persons named will receive the proceeds 

Beneficiary first name, middle initial, last name and address Relationship to person 
converting

Share % (must total 100%)

CONTINGENT BENEFICIARY(IES) - If the primary beneficiary(ies) is no longer living, the benefit is paid to this person(s)

Contingent beneficiary first name, middle initial, last name and address Share % (must total 100%)Relationship to person
converting

AGREEMENT:  Information in this enrollment form is given to obtain this insurance and is true and complete to the best of 
my knowledge and belief.  The policy issued hereupon shall not take effect unless the first premium shall be actually 
paid to the Company during my lifetime upon or before delivery of the policy. 

Signature of employee (if other than person converting) Date

X
Signature of owner (if other than person converting) Date

X
Signature of person converting (if over 18) Date

X
TO BE COMPLETED BY EMPLOYER (Optional): 

Date on which this individual first became insured under this  group policy Date to which group premiums were paid for this individual

I certify that the information given by this employee concerning employment and group insurance with us is correct 
according to our records.

Group policyholder Plan or division

TitleSignature Date

X

Send the completed enrollment form(s) and the first premium payment(s) to:  
Group  Conversions, Minnesota Life, 400 Robert Street North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098.
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