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MISSION, VISION & GOALS




 General purposes of Title 7.1 of the Indiana Code:

1. To protect the economic welfare, health, peace,
and morals of the people of this state.

2. Toregulate and limit the manufacture, sale,
possession, and use of alcohol and alcoholic
beverages.

3. Toregulate the sale, possession, and
distribution of tobacco products.

4. To provide for the raising of revenue.

The Alcohol and Tobacco Commission (ATC /
Commission) is primarily responsible for issuing
alcohol permits, while the Indiana State Excise Police
(ISEP) acts as the law enforcement arm of the ATC.
The ATC Prosecutor prosecutes all violations of the
alcoholic beverage laws, rules, and regulations.



Mission &

Vision

ATC MISSION

To regulate the manufacture, distribution, and
sale of alcohol and tobacco in Indiana through
permitting, education, and enforcement.

ATC VISION

To foster a safe and healthy marketplace for
alcohol and tobacco that meets the needs of
permittees and the communities they serve.

&



* As aregulatory agency, the ATC expects:

e Compliance with Title 7.1 of the Indiana
Code and Title 905 of the Indiana
Administrative Code

* Responsible business and trade practices
Goals & pertaining to alcoholic beverage sales
Expectations
REQUIREMENTS
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https://iga.in.gov/laws/2023/ic/titles/7.1
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/iac_title?iact=905

* Prior to issuing or making a permit active, a
final inspection is required to be conducted at
by an officer with the Indiana State Excise
Police to approve the floor plan of the permit

premises.
Floor Pla N * Once approved, any change(s) to the floor
plan must also be filed with the Commission
Approva lS and approved by an ISEP officer.

 Contactyour local board officer or Excise district
office to schedule a floor plan inspection

* https://www.in.gov/atc/isep/contact-us/



https://www.in.gov/atc/isep/contact-us/

PURCHASING PRODUCTS




* All alcoholic beverages must be
purchased from a licensed wholesaler
licensed by the ATC.

o Retail-to-retail sales are prohibited.

Purchasing

- * To find a wholesaler, search here.

Requirements

o Profession:  Alcoholic Beverage

o License Type: Wholesaler - Beer
Wholesaler - Wine
Wholesaler - Liquor
Wholesaler — Microwine



https://mylicense.in.gov/EVerification/Search.aspx?facility=Y

Beer

e Cash-on-delivery (COD) only

Wine

Purchasing

. * Credit may be extended
ReqUIrements * Invoice must be paid w/in 15 days

Liquor

* Credit may be extended
* I[nvoice must be paid w/in 15 days




e Common violations

* Retail-to-retail sales (i.e., purchasing
alcohol from a local store instead of a

wholesaler)
* Refilling bottles and containers

Purchasing

* Record keeping
AlCOhOl * Invoices from wholesalers must be
PrOdUCtS available for inspection

* |tis abest practice to keep separate
accounts for personal purchases




EMPLOYEE PERMITS &
TRAINING RECORDS




* Employee permits are required for:

* Employees working at retailer permit premises (on-
premises consumption), including all servers and
bartenders engaged in making or mixing drinks,
checking IDs, and delivering or serving alcoholic
beverages to customers

* Employees working at package liquor stores engaged
in selling alcoholic beverages and checking IDs

* While an employee permit application is being

Em lo ee processed, the applicant may work without a
p ,y permit for up to ninety (90) days from the date
Permits shown on the receipt for payment of the permit

application fee.

* Copies of all employee permits must be
maintained by the permit holder and must be
produced by the permit holder for inspection
upon request.

* Employees must carry their employee permit
while working on a licensed premises.




Employee

Training
Requirements

Employees of retailer permit holders and
package liguor store permit holders must:
« Complete a certified server training course

* Keep a copy of their training certificate in their
possession while working

For 18-, 19-, and 20-year-old employees, the
employee training must be completed prior to
obtaining an employee permit

For employees 21+, the employee training
must be completed within 120 days of the
employee permit being issued

Copies of employee/server training certificates
must be maintained by the facility permit
holder and available for inspection upon
request



* For retailers and other permits for on-premises
consumption:

* Servers must be at least 18 years old and
supervised by someone at least 21 years old who
has completed the required server training course

 Bartenders must be a least 21 years old

Em ployee * For package liquor stores, employees and
A e clerks must be at least 21 years old
g i * For pharmacy and grocery store permittees, an
Restrictions employee ringing up the sale of alcoholic
beverages must be at least 18 years old and

supervised by someone at least 21 years old




MINIMUM FOOD &
FOOD SALES REQUIREMENTS




* Retailer restaurant permittees must
have:

e Seating capacity for at least 25 people at
any one time; and

* Minimum food service for at least 25

.- eople consisting of at least the following:
Minimum P
* Hot sandwiches and hot soup; and
FOOd  Coffee, milk, and soft drinks

Requirements




* Retailer restaurant permit holders in
unincorporated areas (Type 209 permits):

* Must sell at least $200,000 in gross food
sales in the first two years of operation; and

Food Sa les * Must sell at least $100,000 in gross food
sales each year thereafter.

Requirements




* Retailer restaurant permittees with limited
separation (i.e., barroom is separated from family
dining area by a partial wall, fence, etc.) must
meet ONE of the following requirements:

* Must sell at least $200,000 in gross food sales
Food Sales per year; OR

Requ Irements * At least 60% of gross food and alcoholic

beverage sales (excluding carry-out and
catering sales) must be from the sale of food.




MANAGERS &
MANAGER QUESTIONNAIRES

T O
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* Managers may be individuals and business
entities.

* |f a manager (excluding a disclosed owner) is
conducting business operations at a permit
premises, the manager must:

Managel" * Be listed on a manager’s questionnaire form
filed with the ATC by the permit holder;

Requirements

* Meet all the same qualifications and
requirement as the permit holder; and

* Hold an employee permit issued by the ATC
(if required)




S

PUBLIC SMOKING BAN
REQUIREMENTS

S

NO
SMOKING
WITHIN 8 FEET
OF BUILDING

 ENTRANCE




 Smoke Free Air Law (Indiana Code 7.1-5-12)

* Prohibits smoking in a public places, places of
employment, and vehicles owned, leased, or
operated by the state.

* Prohibits smoking within eight (8) feet of a public
entrance to a public place or a place of
employment.

Indlana * May be enforced by:
Smoke Free 1. Indiana Department of Health
) 2. a local health department
Al I LaW 3. a health and hospital corporation

4. Indiana Department of Homeland Security
5. a law enforcement officer.

* Exceptions to public smoking ban are set forth
inlC 7.1-5-12-5.




LIERE

Smoke Free
Air Law

* Permittees that qualify for smoking on the
licensed premises must obtain a smoking ban
exemption from the Commission and satisfy
all local smoking ban requirements

* Permittees subject to the public smoking ban
that do not qualify for an exception must:

Post a conspicuous sign that says “Smoking is
Prohibited by State Law” including signs at each
entrance of the premises

Ask individuals who are smoking to refrain from
smoking

Remove individuals from the premises that fail to
comply with request to refrain from smoking

Post signs at each entrance of the premises that
read “State Law Prohibits Smoking Within 8 Feet of
this Entrance”

Remove all ashtrays and smoking paraphernalia



MINORS & ID CHECKS

e



* Generally, minors are prohibited in a tavern,
bar, or other public place where alcohol is sold
or furnished

* Exceptions to the general rule are contained in
IC 7.1-5-7-11

* Most common exceptions:
* Family dining areas that are separated from a

M i NOYIS & I DS barroom by either limited separation or full

separation

 Minorsinthe company of a parent, legal guardian,
or family member who is twenty-one (21) years of
age or older for the purpose of consuming food
prepared on the licensed premises

* Note: Minors must be seated at a table or booth
in the bar area and are prohibited from sitting at
a bar over which alcoholic beverages are sold or
dispensed




* Minors are permitted in drug stores and
grocery stores.

* Minors are prohibited from package liquor
stores.

* Drug stores, and grocery stores and package
liquor stores are required to check the
identification of anyone who appears under

MinOrS & IDS the age of forty (40).

* Alcohol sales to persons under the age of
twenty-one (21) are strictly prohibited.




3 INDIAN A TEMPDHAH?O

DPERATUH LICENSE

F‘ET‘EI'L tmm

dd DN
INDDIANA  OPERATOR LICENSE 1234-56-7890
S () ene10/31/2023

- won 1234-56-7890 wor 111712023 10/31/2022

=d 0 Undar 18 Until

L N o 10/31/2019

g g CLass NOME

v 8123 MAIN STREET GaEND L

INDIANAPOLIS, IN 46204-0000 iz REz 289B

P CLASS NONE fa END L

Smily Sanplh 325 . 45588
12 RES 2898 1 f

imsEx M 1o Her 5117 1 wor 180 b 17 WeT 150
#E/Es BRO 15 HaR BRO ﬁ ' SAMPLE

S 1-”1 7“ g?n 4a JS?_T'IHNZE.'” = ?EMILY ALYCE 2 -y

H[m& iﬂlmpﬂl 5 o0 12345678901234 = -f" 1 t 2123 MAIN STREET - _“"-“
DONORW  MEDICAL CONDITION / ALERT.L 1117170 i ol “m ’f iﬂ
2 oce 10/31/2001

433 1003112017
5 0D 12345678901234
10/31/01 a

DONOR'W
MEDICAL CONDITION / ALERT



FINAL TIPS & TAKEAWAYS




* Holding an alcoholic beverage permitis a
privilege.

* Permittees are required to comply with Title
7.1 of the Indiana Code and Title 905 of the
Indiana Administrative Code, as well as any
other laws, rules, or regulations enforced by
the ATC or ISEP.

Reminders * Failure to comply may result in warnings,
violations, fines or civil penalties, and

suspension or revocation of a permit.




302 W. Washington Street
Room E-114
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Questions? 5]

WWW.in.gov/atc/contact

\\
317-232-2430
\



http://www.in.gov/atc/contact
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