
CHAPTER ONE
Obtaining a New

Credential
Th e Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) issues three types of credentials. 
Th e fi rst type of credentials are driver’s licenses, which include an operator’s 
license and commercial driver’s license (CDL). Th e second type of credentials 
are learner’s permits, which include an operator learner’s permit (herein referred 
to as learner’s permit), motorcycle learner’s permit, and a commercial learner’s 
permit. Th e third type of credential is an identifi cation card, which is available to 
all residents of Indiana, and is issued at no cost to voting age Indiana residents. 
More details on the BMV’s credentials follow later in this chapter.

Credentials issued to Indiana residents that are less than 21 years of age have a 
vertical format, with the dates the card holder turns 18 and 21 years of age 
designated in yellow and red (as illustrated below). A gold-star marker appears 
in the upper right-hand corner to indicate a SecureID credential and refl ect 
compliance with the Real ID Act for use as identifi cation for federal purposes. 

Driver’s licenses are identifi ed with a rose header and a gold State of Indiana seal 
in the upper left-hand corner. Learner’s permits are identifi ed with a purple State 
of Indiana seal in the upper left-hand corner, while commercial driver’s licenses 
will have a red State of Indiana seal. Identifi cation cards have a green header and a 
green State of Indiana seal in the upper left-hand corner. 

SecureID driver’s license: 
Over 21 years of age

SecureID driver’s license:
Under 21 years of age
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Indiana credentials have security features embedded that allow law enforcement 
to determine their authenticity. All applications for credentials are processed 
through intensive security checks to help prevent identity theft and fraud. If, 
during verifi cation, the BMV discovers that another credential has been issued 
to an applicant in another state, territory or possession of the United States, 
the District of Columbia or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, that applicant 
will be required to surrender their out-of-state credential before the BMV will 
process an application for an Indiana credential. However, applicants are not 
required to physically turn over their out-of-state credential as this process is 
completed electronically. 

SecureID
SecureID is a requirement for anyone 
applying for a new Indiana credential. 
Beginning in 2020, SecureID documentation 
will be required to fl y on a commercial fl ight 
and enter certain federal facilities. You can 
save yourself time and frustration in the future 
by renewing or amending your non-SecureID 
to a SecureID now. When you are renewing, amending or replacing your current 
Indiana credential and wish to upgrade to a SecureID, you must provide original 
versions or certifi ed copies of your identity, lawful status, Social Security number 
and proof of Indiana residency documents to a BMV license branch. 

For a complete list of documents required to obtain a SecureID, see 
Appendix A of this manual or visit myBMV.com. If you have questions 
about collecting your documents, you can call the Indiana BMV toll-free at 
888-692-6841 and speak with a customer service representative, or visit any 
license branch for assistance. 

Receiving Your Credential by Mail
Your permanent credential will be mailed to you from a government-run, secure 
location after you apply for a new, renewed, amended or replacement credential. 
Your credential will be mailed to the mailing address on fi le with the Indiana 
BMV and will arrive at your mailing address within 14 calendar days. If you 
have temporarily or permanently changed your mailing address with the United 
States Postal Service, you will not receive your credential unless you update your 
mailing address with the Indiana BMV online at myBMV.com or during your 
branch visit. 



Indiana Residency Requirements
You must be a legal resident of Indiana to obtain an Indiana credential. 
Evidence of residency in Indiana includes:

•  Maintaining a residential address in the state of Indiana and not claiming 
residency in another state

•  Being a registered voter in the state of Indiana

•  Holding lawful stewardship of a juvenile that is enrolled in an elementary or 
secondary school located in Indiana

•  Having more than one-half of your gross income derived from sources in Indiana

For the purposes of obtaining a credential, the following persons living in 
Indiana solely for any of the following reasons and without the intent to make 
Indiana their permanent home, are not considered to be an Indiana resident:

•  Students enrolled at a post-secondary educational institution

•  Active duty military personnel in the Armed Forces

•  Temporary employees

New Indiana Residents
When you become a resident of Indiana, you have 60 days to obtain a new 
Indiana driver’s license. 

If you have never held a valid driver’s license from another state, you must hold 
an Indiana learner’s permit before you can apply for an Indiana driver’s license. 

If your out-of-state driver’s license has been expired for not more than three 
years, and you have held an unrevoked out-of-state driver’s license for at least 
one year, you must pass a standard vision screening and a knowledge exam to 
obtain an Indiana driver’s license. 

If your out-of-state driver’s license has been expired for three or more years, 
or you have held an unrevoked out-of-state driver’s license less than one year, 
you must pass a standard vision screening, knowledge exam and a driving skills 
exam to obtain an Indiana driver’s license. 

Th is chapter will provide you with more detailed requirements for making 
a credential application. Regardless of which credential you choose, you will 
need to provide proof of your identity, lawful status in the United States, Social 
Security number (unless you are claiming an exemption or you are a foreign 
national, both of which require alternative documentation) and residency in 
Indiana. A full list of acceptable documentation can be found in Appendix A 
of this manual or at myBMV.com. 
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Identifi cation Cards
Identifi cation cards may be issued to an Indiana resident of any age who does not 
have a driver’s license. Indiana residents cannot hold more than one credential at the 
same time, even if one of the credentials was issued by another state. Th erefore, 
you must surrender any other credential to the Indiana BMV in order to complete 
an application for an identifi cation card. 

Identifi cation cards may also provide privileges to operate a Motor Driven 
Cycle – Class B (MDC – Class B) as long as you are at least 15 years of age 
and pass an MDC – Class B knowledge exam. If both requirements are met, 
an MDC – Class B endorsement will be placed on your identifi cation card to 
signify your operating authority.

To apply for an identifi cation card, you must visit a license branch and present 
documents described in Appendix A proving your identity, lawful status, Social 
Security number (unless you are claiming an exemption or you are a foreign 
national, which requires alternative documentation) and Indiana residency. 

Identifi cation Card Validity
•  An identifi cation card, and an MDC – Class B endorsement are valid for 

six years

•  Identifi cation cards issued to lawful temporary residents may not refl ect 
standard periods of validity

Beyond identifi cation cards, in which an MDC – Class B endorsement can be 
added to authorize some driving privileges, most people will need to apply for 
a learner’s permit and ultimately graduate to an operator driver’s license. To 
make this transition, you will fi rst need to pass a vision screening and knowledge 
exam and apply for a learner’s permit. If you are younger than 18 years of age, 
you may also need to provide the BMV with proof of fi nancial liability. While 
applying for a BMV-issued credential, you can also register to vote, add indica-
tors signifying your preference for organ donation or add indictors to identify 
yourself as an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces or your 
veteran military status.

Vision Screening
All Indiana learner’s permit or driver’s license applicants are required to pass a 
vision screening, even if the applicant is renewing an existing learner’s permit 
or driver’s license, unless the applicant is eligible for online renewal. 
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If you normally wear glasses or contacts while driving, you should inform the 
license branch personnel and wear them during the vision screening. If your 
visual ability does not meet state standards, you will be referred to an eye d
octor of your choice for an examination. If you return to the license branch with 
a statement from an eye doctor affi  rming that your vision has been corrected to 
meet the state standard, you may continue the driver license application process, 
which will include a vision screening at the license branch. 

Knowledge Exam
Th e operator’s knowledge exam is a multiple choice exam based on information 
contained in this driver’s manual, Indiana law, and defensive driving practices. 
Passing the operator’s knowledge exam is one step in the process of obtaining 
driving privileges in Indiana. To pass the knowledge exam, you must demonstrate 
a basic understanding of Indiana traffi  c laws and safe driving techniques. You 
must also be able to read and understand regulatory, warning and traffi  c signs 
and signals. 

Th e operator’s knowledge exam is required for the following individuals: 

•  Learner’s permit applicants

•  New Indiana residents who hold an out-of-state driver’s license of any type 
and are applying for an Indiana learner’s permit or driver’s license

•  New Indiana residents who hold an out-of-country driver’s license

•  Drivers whose Indiana driver’s license has been expired for more than 180 days

•  Drivers who have six or more active points on their Indiana driving record 
and are renewing their driver’s license

•  Active duty military personnel and his or her spouse and/or dependent(s), if 
applicable, whose Indiana driver’s license has been expired for more than 180 
days and who have returned from deployment more than 90 days prior to 
the date of renewal

•  Out-of-state active duty military personnel applying for a new Indiana 
driver’s license

Th e Indiana BMV also off ers additional knowledge exams for CDL applicants 
that choose to add operational specifi c endorsements; and, applicants that wish 
to operate in a for hire capacity, motorcycles, and MDC – Class B vehicles.

If you fail to pass a knowledge exam, you must wait until the next business day 
to retake the exam. 
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Organ Donation
If you choose to be an organ donor, a small red heart will be printed on the 
front of your credential. 

Under Indiana’s Donor Choice Law, individuals 18 years of age and older may 
declare their intention to be organ donors and their family members cannot 
override their intention at the time of death. Individuals younger than 18 years of 
age may declare their intention with the permission of a parent or legal guardian, 
who must provide consent for donation at the time of a minor’s death. 

Active Duty and Veteran Military 
Indicator
An individual on active duty in the United States Armed Forces may choose to 
have an active duty military indicator placed on his or her credential. To obtain 
the indicator, you must provide your current Common Access Card (CAC) 
during your new issuance or renewal application. 

A veteran of the United States Armed Forces may also choose to have a 
veteran indicator placed on his or her credential provided he or she was not 
dishonorably discharged. To obtain the indicator, you must provide a DD214 
or other documentation issued by the United States Department of Defense 
verifying your discharge. 

Financial Liability for Injury or Damage
Applicants for a learner’s permit or probationary operator’s license that are 
less than 18 years of age must have one of the following adults sign a sworn 
or affi  rmed statement of fi nancial liability in person at a license branch. Th e 
lawful (IC 9-24-9-3) order of preference is:

1  Th e parent having custody of the minor applicant or a designee of the custodial 
parent specifi ed by the custodial parent

2  Th e noncustodial parent (as defi ned in IC 31-9-2-83) of the minor applicant 
or a designee of the noncustodial parent specifi ed by the noncustodial parent 

3  Th e guardian having custody of the minor applicant

4  In the absence of a person described in one (1) through three (3), any other 
adult who is willing to assume the obligations imposed by the provisions of 
this chapter (IC 9-24-9) 
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An adult who co-signs for fi nancial liability swears or affi  rms fi nancial liability 
for a minor applicant and agrees to be responsible jointly and severally with 
the minor applicant for all damage that results from operating a motor vehicle. 
Th e adult who co-signs for fi nancial liability must present a valid form of 
identifi cation to the BMV while the minor is making application for a learner’s 
permit or driver’s license. If at any time, and for any reason, the adult who 
co-signs for fi nancial liability wishes to withdraw fi nancial liability for the 
minor, the adult can fi le State Form 55834, Written Request to Cancel 
Financial Liability, which is available on myBMV.com. A written request to 
withdraw fi nancial liability will cancel the minor’s learner’s permit or driver’s 
license [IC 9-24-9-4(b)].

Learner’s Permits
A learner’s permit allows an Indiana resident to practice driving before applying 
for their driver’s license. You may apply for a learner’s permit at any license branch. 

If you are 16 years of age or older, you must meet the following requirements 
to obtain a learner’s permit: 

•  Present documents described in Appendix A proving your identity, lawful 
status, Social Security number (unless you are a foreign national, which 
requires alternative documentation) and Indiana residency 

•  Pass a standard vision screening

•  Pass a knowledge exam

If you are younger than 16 years of age, you must meet the following requirements 
to obtain a learner’s permit: 

•  You must be at least 15 years of age and show proof of your enrollment in 
a BMV-approved driver education program by presenting a Certifi cate of 
Driver Education Enrollment from the driver training school dated no earlier 
than three weeks prior to the start of class. Th e online course certifi cate of 
completion is not an acceptable document

•  Present documents described in Appendix A proving your identity, lawful 
status, Social Security number (unless you are a foreign national, which 
requires alternative. documentation) and Indiana residency 

•  Pass a standard vision screening

•  Pass a knowledge exam
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Practice Driving with Your Learner’s Permit
If you obtain a learner’s permit when you are younger than 16 years of age, you may 
practice driving only after you begin a BMV-approved driver education program. 

If you are less than 16 years of age and are enrolled in a driver education program: 

•  You may drive only when you are accompanied by a licensed driving instructor 
or a certifi ed driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV and 
who is employed through a driver rehabilitation program. Th e instructor or 
rehabilitation specialist must be seated in the vehicle’s front passenger seat. 

•  You may also practice driving with a licensed driver that has valid (not 
expired, suspended or revoked) driving privileges and is 25 years of age or 
older. Th e licensed driver must be related to you by blood, marriage or legal 
status. You may also choose to practice driving with your spouse; he or she 
must be licensed and at least 21 years of age. Th e licensed driver must be 
seated in your vehicle’s front passenger seat. 

If you are between the ages of 16 and 18 years of age and you are not enrolled 
in a driver education program: 

•  You may practice driving with a licensed driver that has valid (not expired, 
suspended or revoked) driving privileges and is 25 years of age or older. 
Th e licensed driver must be related to you by blood, marriage or legal 
status. You may also choose to practice driving with your spouse, he or 
she must be licensed and at least 21 years of age. Th e licensed driver must 
be seated in your vehicle’s front passenger seat. 

•  You may also practice driving with a learner’s permit if accompanied by an 
individual licensed as a driver education instructor that is working under 
the direction of a driver training school, or a certifi ed driver rehabilitation 
specialist recognized by the Indiana BMV who is employed through a driver 
rehabilitation program. Th e instructor or rehabilitation specialist must be 
seated in your vehicle’s front passenger seat. 

If you are 18 years of age or older:

•  You may practice driving with a learner’s permit only when accompanied 
by a licensed driver with valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) driving 
privileges who is at least 25 years of age, or with your spouse provided he 
or she is licensed and at least 21 years of age or older. 
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Learner’s Permit Validity
•  Learner’s permits are valid for two years from the date of issuance.

•  Learner’s permits issued to lawful temporary residents may not refl ect 
standard periods of validity.

•  If you are visiting a license branch to renew your learner’s permit and it has 
been more than 180 days since your last passed knowledge exam, you will 
need to retest.

Driver Education Waiver for Skills Exam
If you have a learner’s permit and attend a BMV-approved driver education 
school that participates in the BMV’s waiver program, you may take the 
driving skills exam with the school after successful completion of the course, 
which includes 30 hours of classroom training and six hours of behind the 
wheel training. If you successfully complete a driving skills exam administered 
by the driver education school, the results of your exam will remain valid until 
your learner’s permit expires. You will fi nd a list of approved driver education 
schools at myBMV.com. 

You must take the driving skills exam at a license branch if any of the following 
situations occur: 

•  Your learner’s permit expires

•  You receive a failing grade of 79 percent or below in either classroom or 
behind-the-wheel training at your driver education school

•  Your driver education school does not participate in the BMV’s waiver program 
for the driving skills exam

If your learner’s permit expires, and it has been more than 180 days since your 
last knowledge exam, you will need to retake the knowledge exam to be issued 
a renewed learner’s permit. Th e period of time you hold a valid (not expired, 
suspended or revoked) learner’s permit will count toward the required 180-day 
holding period. 

Driving Skills Exam
To schedule an appointment for a driving skills exam visit myBMV.com or 
call the BMV Contact Center at 888-692-6841. A driving skills exam may be 
scheduled no more than 14 days, and no less than 48 business hours, ahead of 
time; however, you may be able to schedule an appointment sooner by visiting a 
license branch. You must provide your own vehicle for the driving skills exam. 
Th ere is no charge for the driving skills exam administered by the BMV. 
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A driving skills exam given by a BMV examiner is required for the following: 

•  Drivers with an Indiana learner’s permit, unless that driver has successfully 
completed a BMV-approved driver education program and has a skills 
exam waiver

•  New Indiana residents who hold an unrevoked out-of-state driver’s license 
for less than one year or whose out-of-state driver’s license has been expired 
for more than three years

•  New Indiana residents who hold an out-of-country driver’s license

•  Indiana residents whose Indiana driver’s license has been expired for more 
than three years

•  Drivers who have a BMV restriction that requires testing

•  Drivers who have a medical complaint on fi le with the BMV and the BMV 
has determined that a driving skills evaluation is needed

 •  When the BMV’s medical board has recommended a skills evaluation, the 
BMV may require the driver to complete a driving skills exam

•  Active duty military personnel and his or her spouse and/or dependent, if 
applicable, whose Indiana driver’s license has been expired for more than 
three years and who have been returned from deployment for more than 90 
days prior to the renewal

•  Discharged military personnel who hold an out-of-state driver’s license, and 
the expiration of the driver’s license is beyond the 90-day extension, and the 
out-of-state driver’s license has been expired for more than three years

No one besides the BMV examiner(s) conducting the skills exam or other 
authorized BMV personnel is allowed in your vehicle when you take the 
driving skills exam. 

Your vehicle must be legally equipped and be in a safe and clean condition. You 
must provide the vehicle’s current registration before taking the driving skills exam.

It shall be within the discretion of the BMV examiner to reject a vehicle for 
the driving skills exam.

Th e BMV examiner will ask a few required questions before you begin your 
driving skills exam. His or her job is to administer a fair and objective examination 
based on what he or she observes, not to provide instruction. Th e BMV 
examiner will use a standardized form to evaluate your ability to operate 
a motor vehicle safely.
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When taking the driving skills exam, you will be evaluated based on the 
following criteria: 

•  Driving in the proper lane by obeying the lane markings, looking carefully 
and signaling properly before changing lanes

•  Allowing enough distance between your vehicle and the vehicle ahead

•  Reacting appropriately to being overtaken and passed by another vehicle 
by maintaining your speed and providing enough room to pass

•  Controlling your speed according to posted speed limits and varying t
raffi  c conditions

•  Observing good defensive driving habits

•  Listening to instructions and observing general traffi  c fl ow

•  Approaching an intersection at the proper speed, looking for other vehicles 
and coming to a complete stop when required

•  Reversing skills and backing correctly out of a parking space

•  Parallel parking ability

When taking the driving skills exam, the following actions could aff ect your 
fi nal score or cause you to fail the driving skills exam: 

•  Failing to use the defroster or wipers when needed

•  Failing to have both hands on the wheel

•  Selecting the wrong gear

•  Failing to signal

•  Driving too slowly or stopping unnecessarily

•  Overrunning a crosswalk, stop line or stop sign

•  Failing to turn into or from the correct lane

•  Failing to check your blind spot

•  Slowing speed when changing lanes

•  Reversing too fast 

•  Leaving your turn signal on after a completed lane change

•  Driving too closely to the vehicle ahead or to a parked vehicle
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Any of the following actions shall result in the automatic failure of the driving 
skills exam:

•  Disobeying a yield, stop, school zone or no turn on red sign

•  Disobeying a traffi  c signal

•  Backing over a curb while parallel parking

•  Driving into a parked vehicle while parallel parking

•  Failure to follow instructions

•  Failure to use a seat belt

•  Failure to react to hazardous driving conditions

•  Speeding

•  Driving too fast for the conditions

•  Turning into or using the wrong lane

•  Passing in a no passing zone or otherwise crossing a solid yellow line

•  Driving left of the center of the street 

•  Straddling marked lanes

•  Driving too close to pedestrians or bicycles

•  Failure to pull over and stop for emergency vehicles or school buses

•  Causing an accident during the driving skills exam

•  Failure to yield the right of way

•  Failure to obey required laws concerning RR crossings

It shall be within the discretion of the BMV examiner to continue after a 
driver has failed the driving skills exam. 

If you fail a driving skills exam, you must wait 14 days before you can retake 
the exam. Upon failure of a third driving skills exam while holding a learner’s 
permit, you must wait for two months from the date of the last failed driving 
skills exam before taking the exam again. 
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Applying for a Driver’s License
Th ere are two types of driver’s license you may apply for, an operator’s or 
commercial driver’s license. 

•  If you are under the age of 21 years old, then your operator’s license is 
considered a “probationary” driver’s license. 

•  You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a CDL and 21 years old to 
apply for a CDL with passenger and/or hazardous material endorsements.

A brief description of each type of driver’s license and various requirements, 
endorsements, and restrictions follows.  Each type is also covered in more 
detail later in this chapter. 

Applying for an Operator’s License 

In general, you may apply for a driver’s license at any license branch. To obtain 
a driver’s license, you must meet the following requirements: 

•  Meet driver’s license age requirements described later in this chapter

•  Hold a valid Indiana learner’s permit for a period of time described later in 
this chapter, unless you are currently licensed by another jurisdiction

•  Present documents described in Appendix A proving your identity, lawful 
status, Social Security number (unless you are a foreign national, which 
requires alternative documentation) and Indiana residency 

•  Pass a standard vision screening 

•  Pass a knowledge exam for the driver’s license you want to obtain

•  Pass a driving skills exam with a BMV examiner, unless you qualify for a 
Driver Education waiver

Operator’s License Age and Experience Requirements
In order to apply for an operator’s license: 

•  You must be at least 16 years and 90 days of age with completion of a 
BMV-approved driver education program

•  You must be at least 16 years and 270 days of age without completion of a 
BMV-approved driver education program

•  You must hold a valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) Indiana learner’s 
permit for at least 180 days, or 
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•  You must be at least 18 years of age with a documented disability and have 
completed driver rehabilitation training provided by a certifi ed driver 
rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV

If you are applying for a probationary driver’s license and are under 18 years of 
age, you must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with:

•  A licensed driver, with valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) driving 
privileges, who is at least 25 years of age and related to you by blood, 
marriage or legal status,

•  Your spouse, with valid driving privileges, who is at least 21 years of age,

•  An individual with valid driving privileges who is licensed as a driver education 
instructor and working under the direction of a driver training school, or

•  An individual certifi ed as a driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the 
BMV and employed through a driver rehabilitation program

If you are applying for a driver’s license and you are at least 18 years of age, you 
must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice with: 

•  A licensed driver, with valid (not expired, suspended, or revoked) driving 
privileges who is at least 25 years of age, or

•  Your spouse, with valid driving privileges, who is at least 21 years of age

In both cases, at least 10 hours of supervised driving practice must be completed 
at night, unless you have a daytime-only restriction G on your learner’s permit. 
If you do have a daytime-only restriction on your learner’s permit, you must 
still complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice. At the time of application 
for a driver’s license, you must submit a completed State Form 54706, Log of 
Supervised Driving Practice showing proof of the 50 hours of driving practice. 
Multiple logs may be used, if necessary, to log the required hours. Th e log must 
be signed by a parent or legal guardian if the applicant is under 18 years of age. 

Probationary Driver’s License Validity
If you are younger than 21 years of age when you obtain a driver’s license, your 
driver’s license is considered probationary until you turn 21 years of age. 

Your probationary driver’s license is valid until you are 21 years and 30 days of age. 

You may not renew your probationary driver’s license until you are 21 years and 
one day of age.
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Probationary Driver’s License Passenger Restrictions
You may not drive with any passengers for the fi rst 180 days after obtaining 
your probationary driver’s license unless one of the following individuals is 
seated in your vehicle’s front passenger seat:

•  A licensed individual with valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) driving 
privileges who is 25 years of age or older,

•  Your spouse with valid driving privileges who is 21 years of age or older, or

•  A certifi ed driver education instructor

However, you may drive with your child, stepchild, sibling, step or half sibling 
or spouse without another accompanying individual during the fi rst 180 days 
after obtaining your probationary driver’s license.

Probationary Driver’s License Time Restrictions 
For the fi rst 180 days after obtaining your probationary driver’s license, you 
may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. 

After you have held a probationary driver’s license for 180 days, you may not 
drive during the following hours: 

•  Sunday through Th ursday after 11 p.m.

•  Monday through Friday before 5 a.m.

•  Saturday and Sunday between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.

You may drive during the periods described above if you are participating in, 
going to, or returning from: 

•  Lawful employment,

•  A school sanctioned activity,

•  A religious event, or

•  If you are accompanied by an individual with valid (not expired, suspended, 
or revoked) driving privileges who is at least 25 years of age, or your spouse 
with valid driving privileges who is at least 21 years of age

Probationary Driver’s License Telecommunications 
Device Prohibition
Indiana law prohibits probationary driver’s license holders from operating a 
motor vehicle, while using any form of telecommunications device, such as a 
wireless phone, personal digital assistant, pager or text messaging device unless 
the device is being used to make a 911 emergency call. 
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Dropping Out, Being Suspended or Being Expelled 
from School
Indiana law requires the BMV to suspend the driving privileges of a juvenile, 
upon notifi cation from the juvenile’s principal or truancy administrator, for any 
of the following reasons: 

•  Th e juvenile is under an expulsion, exclusion, or second or subsequent 
suspension from school during one school year

•  Th e juvenile has been determined to be a habitual truant, or

•  Th e juvenile has withdrawn from school

Renewing a Probationary Driver’s License to an 
Unrestricted Operator’s License
When you renew your probationary driver’s license after turning 21 years 
of age, you will receive an unrestricted operator’s license. An unrestricted 
operator’s license removes the restrictions stated previously in this section 
that are imposed on probationary driver’s license holders. Holders of 
unrestricted operator’s licenses should always be aware of the following 
public safety restrictions and prohibitions that apply to all motor vehicle 
operators regardless of their license type.

Seat Belts
Indiana law requires all occupants of a motor vehicle equipped with a seat belt 
that is standard equipment installed by the manufacturer to wear the seat belt 
any time the motor vehicle is in motion. 

Telecommunications Device Prohibition
Indiana law prohibits probationary driver’s license holders from using 
telecommunication devices in any way, except to make 911 emergency calls. 
For all other license type holders, a person may not use a telecommunications 
device to type, transmit or read a text message or an electronic mail message 
while operating a moving motor vehicle unless the device is used in conjunction 
with hands-free or voice-operated technology, or unless the device is used to 
make a 911 emergency call. 
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Operator’s License Validity
An operator’s license is valid for:

•  Six years if you are younger than 75 years of age

•  Th ree years if you are at least 75 to younger than 85 years of age

•  Two years if you are at least 85 years of age

An operator’s license may not refl ect the standard periods of validity for 
the following: 

•  Lawful temporary residents

•  Renewals for operator’s licenses that expired in 2012

Special Needs Restrictions on a 
Credential
BMV examiners are able to determine whether to issue a driver’s license 
with restrictions to an individual with disabilities aff ecting his or her normal 
operation of a standard-equipped vehicle. A restricted driver’s license may 
specify particular equipment that the driver needs while operating a vehicle, 
or other restrictions to accommodate the individual’s specifi c needs. 

Photo Exempt Credentials
Photo exempt learner’s permits and driver’s licenses are available for medical 
and religious reasons. Photo exempt identifi cation cards are available for 
religious reasons only. You may refer to myBMV.com for specifi c documentation 
needed to obtain a photo exempt credential that fi ts your needs. To remove the 
photo exemption, you must visit a license branch and have your photo taken 
for a renewed or amended credential. 

Restrictions and Endorsements 
Restrictions and endorsements may be placed on a credential for a variety of 
reasons. Th ey appear in the lower left-hand corner of your credential and are 
described on the back of the credential. 

Th e most common restrictions are the result of a vision screening.

Some of the common restrictions placed on learner’s permits and driver’s 
license due to vision include: 
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•  Restriction B: Glasses or contact lenses required when driving

•  Restriction F: Outside rearview mirrors required when driving

•  Restriction G: Daylight driving only

Restrictions for Drivers Who Read Without Glasses
•  Both eyes are 20/20 to 20/40: No restrictions

•  One eye is 20/20 to 20/40 and other eye is 20/50 to blind: Restriction F

Restrictions for Drivers Who Read With Glasses
•  One eye is 20/20 to 20/40 and the other eye is 20/50 to blind: Restrictions 

B and F

•  Both eyes are 20/50: Restriction B

•  One eye is 20/50 and the other eye is 20/70 to blind: Restrictions B, F and 
G

•  Both eyes are 20/70: Restrictions B, F and G

Credential Restrictions and Endorsements
Base Driver’s License Restrictions

Base Driver’s License Endorsement
L–Motorcycle 2–For Hire – Non-CMV
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A– Motor Driven Cycle – Class A Only

B–Glasses or Contact Lenses

C– Mechanical Aid or Adaptive 
Device

D–Prosthetic Aid 

F–Outside Rearview Mirror

G–Daylight Driving Only

H–M/C Th ree Wheel Bike Only

J–Specifi c Limitations

S- M/C with Side Car Only

2–HTV Conditional

3–Photo Exempt

5– Conditional–Operate 
Under Specifi c Conditions

6–Interlock Device

7–Seat Belt Exempt

8–Medical Condition

9– Lawful Temporary 
Resident 



ID Endorsements
B–Motor Driven Cycle - Class B

ID Restrictions 
3–Photo Exempt

7–Seat Belt Exempt

CDL Only Endorsements and Restrictions
Please refer to the CDL Manual on myBMV.com for CDL endorsements 
and restrictions. 

Motorcycle Learner’s Permit
A motorcycle learner’s permit allows Indiana residents to practice riding a 
motorcycle or Motor Driven Cycle – Class A (MDC – Class A) before 
applying for a motorcycle endorsement. You may apply for a motorcycle 
learner’s permit at any license branch. To obtain a motorcycle learner’s 
permit you must: 

•  Hold a valid Indiana driver’s license  

•  Pass a knowledge exam based on the Motorcycle Operator’s Manual

Motorcycle Learner’s Permit Driving Privileges
If you hold a motorcycle learner’s permit and choose to operate a motorcycle 
or MDC– Class A, you must wear a helmet when you operate the vehicle and 
only ride without any passengers during the period of one-half hour before 
sunrise and one-half hour after sunset.

Motorcycle Learner’s Permit Validity
A motorcycle learner’s permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance. 
A motorcycle learner’s permit may be renewed one time for a period of one 
year. If you do not obtain a motorcycle endorsement before the expiration of 
the renewed permit, you must wait one year to reapply for a new motorcycle 
learner’s permit, or you must successfully complete a Ride Safe Indiana-ap-
proved Motorcycle Operator Safety Education Course. 
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Motorcycle Endorsement
A motorcycle endorsement may be issued to Indiana residents who hold a 
valid Indiana driver’s license.

To obtain a motorcycle endorsement you must successfully complete a Ride Safe 
Indiana-approved Motorcycle Operator Safety Education Course or pass both 
the motorcycle knowledge and riding skills exams. Th e BMV may waive the 
examination requirements for an individual who has successfully completed a 
Ride Safe Indiana-approved Motorcycle Operator Safety Education Course. 

New Indiana residents who hold a valid motorcycle endorsement or motorcycle 
operator’s license from another state may add a motorcycle endorsement to their 
valid Indiana driver’s license after passing the motorcycle knowledge exam.

Your Indiana motorcycle endorsement is valid for the same period of time 
as your Indiana driver’s license. You may renew your driver’s license with a 
motorcycle endorsement at any Indiana BMV license branch or online up to 
one year before the license expires. If you currently hold an unexpired driver’s 
license with a motorcycle endorsement, you will not be required to pay the 
endorsement “L” fee when you renew your license.

Th e Indiana BMV strongly encourages you to participate in a Motorcycle 
Operator’s Safety Education course. For more information on how to obtain 
your motorcycle endorsement and/or information regarding a Motorcycle 
Operator Safety Education Course or riding skills exams, please visit 
RideSafeIndiana.com. 

Motor Driven Cycle (MDC)
Th ere are two classes of Motor Driven Cycles (MDC): Class A and Class B

MDC – Class A Vehicle and Operation Description 
Indiana law defi nes a vehicle as an MDC – Class A if: 

•  It has a seat or saddle for the use of the rider

•  It is designed to travel on no more than three wheels on the ground

•  It complies with applicable motor vehicle equipment requirements

•  It is registered as an MDC – Class A
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To operate an MDC – Class A on Indiana roads, you must carry a valid driver’s 
license with a motorcycle learner’s permit, or a valid driver’s license with a 
motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle endorsement with an MDC – Class A 
restriction. Th e following operating restrictions also apply: 

•  Must wear a helmet if under 18 years of age

•  Must wear protective glasses, goggles or transparent face shields if under 18 
years of age

•  Must operate in a position astride (leg on each side of ) the seat

•  Passengers may ride with proper passenger seat

•  Must have headlamps illuminated while operating

•  Cannot carry package in hand

•  Must operate near right-hand edge of roadway unless passing another vehicle 
or preparing for a left turn

•  Must not operate on an interstate highway or sidewalk

MDC – Class B Vehicle and Operation Description 
Indiana law defi nes a vehicle as an MDC – Class B if: 

•  It has a seat or saddle for the use of the rider

•  It is designed to travel on no more than three wheels on the ground

•  It complies with applicable motor vehicle equipment requirements

•  It has cylinder capacity not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters

•  It is registered as an MDC – Class B

You may apply for an MDC – Class B endorsement on your identifi cation 
card if you successfully complete the MDC – Class B knowledge exam. Th e 
MDC – Class B endorsement will be added to your identifi cation card. You 
do not need an MDC – Class B endorsement if you hold a valid (not expired, 
suspended or revoked) Indiana driver’s license. 

Th e following restrictions apply to the operation of an MDC – Class B:

•  Must be at least 15 years of age

•  Must wear a helmet if under 18 years of age

•  Must wear protective glasses, goggles or transparent face shields if under 18 
years of age

•  Must operate in a position astride (legs on each side of ) the seat

•  Must have headlamps illuminated while operating
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•  Cannot carry package in hand

•  Must operate near right-hand edge of roadway unless passing another 
vehicle or preparing for a left turn

•  Must operate at no more than 35 miles per hour

•  Must not carry passengers

•  Must not operate on an interstate highway or sidewalk

Autocycles
Operating an Autocycle
Indiana law defi nes a vehicle as an autocycle if it is a three-wheeled motor 
vehicle in which the operator and passenger ride in a completely or partially 
enclosed seating area that is equipped with a roll cage or roll hoops, safety 
belts for each occupant, antilock brakes and is designed to be controlled with a 
steering wheel and pedals.

You may operate an autocycle on Indiana roadways if you possess a valid (not 
expired, suspended or revoked) Indiana driver’s license. A motorcycle learner’s 
permit or motorcycle endorsement is not required. 

Th e following restrictions apply to the operation of an autocycle: 

•  Must operate in a position on a seat

•  Cannot carry package in hand

•  May not operate more than one autocycle in a single traffi  c lane

•  Operator and each occupant must wear seat belt

•  May not be used for the purpose of a driving skills exam for an operator’s 
license

For-Hire Endorsement
A for-hire endorsement provides the credential holder privileges to operate a 
motor vehicle that is: 

•  Registered as having a gross weight of at least 16,000 pounds, but not more 
than 26,000 pounds and operated for the purpose of transporting property 
for hire; or 

•  Designed to transport fewer than 16 passengers, including the driver and 
operated for the purpose of transporting passengers for hire.
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A for-hire endorsement does not allow the credential holder to operate a 
commercial motor vehicle. Indiana residents that hold a commercial driver’s 
license (CDL) and wish to operate in a “for-hire” capacity (such as operating 
as a limo or cab driver) must pass a for-hire knowledge exam and apply for the 
for-hire endorsement.

A for-hire endorsement may be issued to Indiana residents who are at least 18 
years of age and have held a valid Indiana driver’s license for at least one year. 
To obtain an operator’s license with a for-hire endorsement, you must pass 
both an operator knowledge exam and the for-hire knowledge exam. If you 
currently hold an unexpired operator’s license, you will only need to pass the 
for-hire exam.

New Indiana residents who are at least 18 years of age and hold a valid 
operator’s, chauff eur’s, public passenger chauff eur’s license or CDL with a 
for-hire endorsement from another state may add a for-hire endorsement to their 
Indiana driver’s license after passing the operator’s and for-hire knowledge exams. 

Eff ective January 1, 2017, all applicants that currently hold an unexpired 
Indiana public passenger chauff eur’s or chauff eur’s license will have their 
license type transferred to an operator’s license with a for-hire endorsement 
during their next credential transaction. Th ere are not any examination 
requirements and the for-hire endorsement fee  waived during your transaction. 
If you do not currently hold an Indiana chauff eur’s or public passenger chauff eur’s 
license, all applicable exams and fees will apply. 

Your Indiana for-hire endorsement is valid for the same period of time as your 
Indiana driver’s license. You may renew your operator’s license with a for-hire 
endorsement at any Indiana BMV license branch or online up to one year 
before the license expires.

Chauffeur’s Licenses
Eff ective January 1, 2017, the BMV no longer issue chauff eur’s licenses. How-
ever, a chauff eur’s license issued prior to January 1, 2017 remains valid until the 
expiration date printed on the license. If you need to renew, replace or amend 
information on your chauff eur’s license, the BMV will change your license type to 
an operator’s with a for-hire endorsement. See information about the for-hire 
endorsement earlier in this section. 
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Public Passenger Chauffeur’s Licenses
Eff ective January 1, 2017, the BMV will no longer issue a public passenger 
chauff eur’s license. However, a public passenger chauff eur’s license issued prior 
to January 1, 2017 will remain valid until the expiration date printed on the 
license. If you need to renew, replace or amend information on your public 
passenger chauff eur’s license, the BMV will change your license type to an 
operator’s with a for-hire endorsement. See information about the for-hire 
endorsement earlier in this section. 

Chauffeur’s/Public Passenger Chauffeur’s License Validity
Chauff eur’s and public passenger chauff eur’s license issued prior to January 
1, 2017 will expire according to the following expiration schedule from the 
original issue date:

•  A chauff eur’s license is valid for six years if you were younger than 75 years 
of age when you obtained the license; three years if you were at least 75 to 
younger than 85 years of age when you obtained the license; or two years if 
you were at least 85 years of age when you obtained the license.

•  A public passenger chauff eur’s license is valid for four years if you were 
younger than 75 years of age when you obtained the license or for two years 
if you were at least 75 years of age when you obtained the license. 

•  Chauff eur’s and public passenger chauff eur’s license may not refl ect the 
standard periods of validity for lawful temporary residents.

If you wish to maintain your Indiana chauff eur’s or public passenger chauff eur’s 
license, once it expires or approaches expiration, you will be required to apply for an 
operator’s license with for-hire endorsement. Th e chauff eur’s or public passenger 
chauff eur’s license may not be replaced, amended or renewed online. You must 
visit a BMV license branch to transfer to an operator’s license with for-hire 
endorsement. Th e BMV encourages you to present the required documentation 
to obtain a SecureID at that time, as there will be no cost diff erence.

Commercial Learner’s Permit
You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a commercial learner’s permit 
(CLP) or a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Drivers under 21 years of age 
may operate a commercial motor vehicle for purposes of intrastate commerce 
only and are not eligible to apply for the passenger, school bus or hazardous 
materials endorsements. 
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According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) if 
you perform trade, traffi  c or transport exclusively within your business’ home 
state, this is considered intrastate commerce. If your trade, traffi  c, or transport 
is between a place in a state and a place outside of such state (including a place 
outside of the United States); between two places in a state through another 
state or a place outside of the United States; or between two places in a state 
as part of trade, traffi  c or transportation originating or terminating outside the 
state or the United States, this is considered interstate commerce.

You must hold a valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) Indiana operator’s 
license, chauff eur’s license or public passenger chauff eur’s license, and have at 
least one year of driving experience as a licensed driver. 

To obtain a CLP, you must pass the appropriate knowledge exam(s) for the 
type of commercial motor vehicle that you plan to operate. 

Types of vehicles include: 

•  All commercial drivers: General knowledge exam

•  All school bus drivers: School bus exam and passenger transport exam, 
if applicable

•  All bus drivers: Passenger transport exam

•  Vehicle with air brakes: Air brakes exam

•  Combination of vehicles: Combination vehicle exam

•  Drivers transporting hazardous materials: Hazardous material exam

•  Drivers required to transport liquids in bulk: Tanker exam

•  Drivers required to pull double or triple trailers: Doubles/triples exam

When you pass the knowledge exam(s) for a CLP, the knowledge exam results 
are valid for 180 days.

Commercial Driver’s License
An Indiana commercial driver’s license (CDL) permits the holder to operate 
commercial motor vehicles or combination of vehicles, such as semi-tractor 
trailers, with declared gross vehicle weight ratings in excess of 26,000 pounds; 
vehicles designed or used to transport 16 or more people, including the driver; 
and vehicles used to transport hazardous materials provided they have the 
appropriate endorsement on their license. 

Th e requirements for a CDL are stricter than those for any other Indiana 
driver’s license, and are based upon stringent FMCSA Regulations.
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To obtain a CDL you must meet the following requirements: 

•  Be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident with a valid I-551 
card required. A commercial learner’s permit (CLP) or CDL is not available 
to lawful temporary residents 

•  Hold a valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) Indiana driver’s license

•  Hold a valid (not expired, suspended or revoked) CLP

•  Have at least one year of driving experience as a licensed driver

•  Present documents described in Appendix A proving your identity, lawful 
status, Social Security number and Indiana residency 

•  Pass a knowledge exam(s) representative of the type of CDL endorsement(s) 
that you will receive

•  Pass a driving skills exam in a vehicle representative of the class of CDL that 
you will receive

•  Have a valid Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness 
Determination form and Medical Examiner’s Certifi cate completed by a 
medical examiner listed on the FMCSA National Registry of Certifi ed 
Medical Examiners on fi le with the BMV

Th e skills exam consists of a pre-trip inspection, a basic control exam and the road 
trip. A CDL skills exam must be taken at an approved CDL skills examination 
site. CDL skills exams are valid for 180 days. 

To keep your CLP or CDL valid, you must submit a Medical Examination 
Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination and Medical Examiner’s 
Certifi cate completed by a medical examiner listed on the FMCSA National 
Registry of Certifi ed Medical Examiners prior to the expiration date of the current 
medical examiner’s report and certifi cate after receiving your CLP or CDL. 

To obtain the hazardous materials endorsement for a CDL, you must have 
a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) security threat assessment 
approval for the term of the CDL. A hazardous materials endorsement will 
not be added to a CLP. 

CDL Manuals are available at myBMV.com or at any license branch. 

Commercial Learner’s Permit and Commercial Driver’s 
License Validity
•  Once you have been issued a CLP, it is only valid for 180 days. You may only 

receive three CLP’s in any 24-month period. 

•  Once you have been issued a CDL, it is valid for four years. 
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Watercraft
Operating a Watercraft
Indiana law requires the operator of a watercraft with an engine that produces 
more than 10 horsepower to carry a valid driver’s license. 

If you are 15 years of age or older and do not have a driver’s license, you may 
operate a watercraft only after successfully completing a boater education 
course approved by the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. You must 
have a valid Indiana identifi cation card in your possession at all times while 
operating a watercraft. Contact the Indiana Department of Natural Resources 
for more information about approved boater education courses. 

If you are younger than 15 years of age, you may not operate a watercraft with 
an engine output of more than 10 horsepower. 

If your driver’s license is suspended, you may not operate a watercraft. If you 
operate your watercraft recklessly, while intoxicated or break private watercraft 
laws, you may have points assessed against your driver record.

On Indiana boundary waters, Indiana residents operating a watercraft are 
required to carry an Indiana driver’s license. Residents of other states are not 
required to carry a driver’s license unless they are operating a watercraft in an 
embayment, river or stream in Indiana. 

Parking Placards
A parking placard allows the holder to use parking spaces designated for 
individuals with disabilities. Th e placard is available for individuals with a 
permanent or temporary disability. Also, any company empowered by the 
state or a political subdivision to operate programs, including the provision 
of transportation or facilities, for persons with physical disabilities may apply 
for a placard. 

To apply for a parking placard, you must have a health care provider (i.e., a 
physician, chiropractor, advanced practice nurse, optometrist or ophthalmologist, 
or podiatrist) complete the Application for Disability Parking Placard or 
Disability Plate – State Form 42070 affi  rming that you qualify for a parking 
placard. If you have a visual disability, a health care provider that is licensed to 
practice in Indiana may complete the form. After you have completed State 
Form 42070, you may get a parking placard at any license branch or by mailing 
it to the address on the form. 

If you have a permanent disability, your parking placard does not expire unless 
your health care provider certifi es that the disability is no longer considered 
permanent. Th ere is no fee for a permanent parking placard. 
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If you have a temporary disability, your parking placard is valid for six months or 
less as prescribed by your health care provider on State Form 42070. Th ere is a fee 
for a temporary parking placard.  Refer to myBMV.com for more information.

A placard issued to a company expires on January 1 of the fourth year that 
follows the date the placard was issued, or the date the company ceases to 
operate programs or facilities for persons with disabilities, whichever is sooner. 
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