Renewing, Amending or
Replacing a Credential

As noted in Chapter 1, the BMYV issues three types of credentials — driver’s
licenses, learner’s permits and identification cards. Once your credential has
been issued, it is valid for a defined period of time and may be renewed,
amended or replaced. Please read the section titled For-Hire Endorsement
in Chapter One for information on renewing, amending, or replacing a
chaufteur’s or public passenger chauffeur’s license.

If you lose your credential while temporarily residing outside of Indiana, you may
obtain an interim credential subject to certain qualifications. If your residential
address, name or gender has not changed, you may renew your credential online
at myBMV.com, if eligible. You may renew your credential online every other
renewal. For a full listing of the online renewal, replacement and amended
credentials requirements, continue reading or visit myBMV.com.

Renewing a Credential

A probationary driver’s license expires when the card holder is 21 years

and 30 days of age. All other credentials expire at midnight on your birthday.
Credential expiration dates will vary for residents with temporary lawful status.
If your birthday falls on a day when license branches are closed, your credential
will expire at midnight on the next business day. You will be subject to an
administrative penalty if your credential is renewed after the expiration date.

If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for at least 180 days
but not more than three years, you must pay an administrative penalty, pass a
knowledge exam and pass a standard vision screening.

If you are renewing a driver’s license that has been expired for three or more
years, you must pay an administrative penalty. Additionally, for a driver’s license
renewal, you must pass a knowledge exam, a driving skills exam and a standard
vision screening.
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A driver’s license or identification card may be renewed by U.S. citizens or
individuals with permanent lawful status up to one year before the credential
expiration. Individuals with lawful temporary status can only renew up to 30
days prior to the expiration of their current credential. A learner’s permit may
be renewed up to 31 days before it expires.

If you are at least 21 years of age and have six or more active points on your
driving record, you must take the knowledge exam to renew your driver’s
license.

Driver’s License Renewal for United States Armed
Forces Personnel

If you are temporarily living outside of Indiana because you are serving with
the United States Armed Forces, your driver’s license remains valid for 90 days
tollowing your discharge from service or post deployment. If you meet certain
requirements, you may renew your driver’s license online at myBMV.com.
Visit myBMV.com for a listing of those requirements.

If your Indiana driver’s license is expired and you wish to obtain a renewed
license after you have been discharged, you must visit a license branch and
provide Department of Defense documentation that shows proof of your
discharge or status as post deployment. You may also choose to add a Veteran
indicator to your credential at that time, provided you bring your DD-214 into
the license branch with you.

Amending a Credential

After you have legally changed any personal information, you will need to
amend the information that appears on your credential. You may amend your
credential at any license branch. Below are a few common reasons why you
would need to amend your credential.

Address Change

If you have an Indiana credential, you must notify the BMV of a change of
your principal (legal) address and apply for an amended credential within 30
days of the address change.

To change your principal (legal) address on your credential, you must visit a
license branch and present documents as described in Appendix A.

You may change your mailing address online at myBMV.com.

30



Name Change

You must visit a Social Security Administration office to officially change
your name on Social Security documentation and allow at least one business
day after your name change transaction is completed before visiting a license
branch to amend your credential. You will need to visit a license branch and
apply for an amended credential within 30 days of the legal name change.
You must present documents as described in Appendix A.

Gender Change

If you have a gender change procedure and hold an Indiana credential, you
must visit a license branch and apply for an amended credential that indicates
the change. You must present a certified amended birth certificate, a physician’s
signed and dated statement, on letterhead, that includes the language from

140 IAC 7-1.1-3 “<insert customer’s name> successfully underwent all treatment
necessary to permanently change <insert customer’s name> gender from
<insert old gender> to <insert new gender>”, or a Physician’s Statement of
Gender Change — State Form 55617, completed in its entirety by both the
applicant and the physician.

Replacing a Credential

If you lose your credential or it is stolen, you may replace it by logging into
your myBMV.com account and ordering a replacement, provided your name,
gender or residential address information has not changed. You may replace
your credential online twice before you are required to visit a license branch
for a replacement. You may change your mailing address online; however, if
any other information has changed, you cannot order a replacement online and
you must visit a license branch to amend your credential within 30 days of the
change and present documents as described in Appendix A.
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