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Indiana law contains three statutes that address when a defendant may be ordered to 
reimburse the county for public defense counsel: Indiana Code Sections 35-33-7-6, 
33-40-3-6, and 33-37-2-3. A fourth statute provides that the bail a defendant posts can 
also be used to pay fines, costs, fees and publicly paid costs of representation. 
 
Before public defense counsel is assigned, each of the statutes require that a defendant 
be found indigent. The judicial officer may then assign counsel. Section 35-33-7-6 
limits a public defender fee to $200 for a felony and $100 for a misdemeanor, while 
the other two statutes allow trial courts to impose representation fees higher than 
$200 against a defendant. All costs imposed must be reasonable and must not be 
more than the cost of defense representation. See Section 33-40-3-6. Furthermore, a 
trial court does not have the authority to order an indigent defendant to pay public 
defense fees based on possible future earnings or other prospective wealth. See Davis v. 
State, 843 N.E. 2d 65, 68-69 (Ind. Ct. App. 2006). 
 
Under Section 35-33-7-6(c), an indigent defendant may be ordered to pay designated 
portions of the cost of representation. The statute provides that where “the court 
finds that the person is able to pay part of the cost of representation by the assigned 
counsel, the court shall order the person to pay” a fee of $200 for a felony action or a 
fee of $100 for a misdemeanor action. This Section contemplates that trial courts will 
order the fee at the initial hearing and after a determination of indigency, but it does 
not prohibit imposing the fee at other stages of the proceeding. See Davis, 843 N.E.2d 
at 68. 
 
Reimbursement for public defense fees may also be assessed and ordered, after a 
determination of ability to pay, under Section 33-40-3-6. This Section allows recovery 
“at any stage” of the prosecution. Jackson v. State, 968 N.E.2d 328, 333 (Ind. Ct. App. 
2012). The statute allows recovery of reasonable attorney’s fees and costs incurred by 
the county due to appointed counsel. If a child is alleged to be a delinquent child and 
an attorney is appointed by the court for the child, the court must make a finding of 
the parent’s ability to pay the costs of representation. 
 



Indiana Code Section 33-37-2-3 provides that when a court imposes costs, the court 
must conduct a hearing to determine whether the person is indigent (except when 
costs are suspended, after which a hearing must be held). This is the only statute 
requiring an indigency hearing before imposing costs; the two sections above merely 
require the trial court to “make a finding on whether the defendant can pay for part or 
all of his representation from a public defender.” Cleveland v. State, 129 N.E.3d 227, 
237 (Ind. Ct. App. 2019)). If the trial court conducts the hearing and determines that 
an individual is not indigent, it may order the person to pay the entire amount of the 
costs at sentencing or a later date, or specified parts at designated intervals. A hearing 
need not be conducted if the court imposes costs but suspends payment or suspends 
payment of all or part of the costs until the defendant has completed all or part of the 
sentence. If the court so chooses to suspend payment of costs, the court shall conduct 
a hearing at the time costs are due to determine whether the defendant is indigent. If a 
defendant defaults on repayment of public defense fees, the court may commence 
proceedings against the defendant for unpaid debt, or may remand the defendant to 
be committed to county jail and credited toward payment at the rate of twenty dollars 
for each twenty-four hour period. 
 
Finally, Indiana Code Section 35-33-8-3.2(a)(1) provides in relevant part that where 
the trial court “requires the defendant to deposit cash or cash and another form of 
security as bail, the court may require the defendant and each person who makes the 
deposit on behalf of the defendant to execute an agreement that allows the court to 
retain all or a part of the cash to pay publicly paid costs of representation and fines, 
costs, fees, and restitution that the court may order the defendant to pay if the 
defendant is convicted.” Subsection (a)(2) provides that “[t]he clerk shall also retain 
from the deposit under this subdivision fines, costs, fees, and restitution as ordered by 
the court [and] publicly paid costs of representation.” Unlike Section 33-37-2-3, no 
hearing is required: “While a determination of indigency is necessary when a court 
imposes costs, an indigency hearing is not required in order to apply cash bond 
money to these costs.”  Holder v. State, 119 N.E.3d 621, 624 n.1 (Ind. Ct. App. 2019). 
 


