## SPENCER COUNTY ELECTION BOARD MEETING

## Friday, January 5, 2024, 10:00 a.m., Voter Registration Office at Courthouse

Meeting called to order by President Gina Pennington. Present were board member Jerriann Burroughs proxy Jon Hargis, Clerk Darrell Stephens and voter registration officer Sandy Wilkinson. In the audience were Don Steen of the Spencer County Leader, Eric Whitaker of the Spencer County Journal and Santa Claus Town Board member Brian Warren, Santa Claus Town Board member-elect Mike Johannes and Santa Claus Town attorney Kevin Patmore. Also present were Kelly Greulich, Jennifer Mayhall, Mary Hess, Jane Schipp and

## **Old Business**

<u>Provisional Ballots-</u>Stephens discussed the Provisional Ballot hearing process and explained that the Board needed to be appointing a bipartisan team to count Provisional ballots. He also covered Indiana Code 3-11.7-3-3 and advised that the Board would need to install some adjustments to the Provisional Ballot counting process.

<u>Voter Fraud Complaint</u>-Stephens advised the Board that the co-chairs of the Indiana Election Division (IED) agreed with Santa Claus attorney Kevin Patmore's argument that a voter's intent could not be determined and that the two voters in question in the voter fraud complaint "intended to return to Santa Claus" therefore they were eligible to vote there. Based on the IED information Stephens recommended that the investigation end. Stephens made the motion to conclude the investigation, Burroughs seconded and the motion passed 3-0.

## **New Business**

Election Board Proxies-Stephens advised that Proxie paperwork for the Board members had been filed.

<u>IEC-22 and VVPAT Forms-</u>Stephens advised these forms were due by January 31<sup>st</sup> and February 11<sup>th</sup> and needed to be signed. The Board signed in preparation for Stephens to submit the forms by deadline.

<u>Set EB Meeting Dates for the Year-</u>The Board discussed setting meeting dates for the year. Stephens and Wilkinson were advised to put together a proposed meeting schedule and submit it at the next meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Darrell L Stephens, Secretary

Gina Pennington, President

Jerriann Burroughs